Students That Dont Want To Learn
Jacob Sinclair
Aug 7 2008, 08:03 PM
GMC:er
hello there,
ive been teaching guitar for about 6 months now, and everything has been going very well. Except for a new student a started teaching a month ago. He is very young on 8 years old and he just dont want to learn. He doesnt seem interested at all in the guitar. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could get him more involved in the instrument?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
JeroenKole
Aug 7 2008, 08:12 PM
8 years? that is very young.

I think he is being pushed by his parents to learn to play guitar (I think) and in that case it might be better to talk to the parents.

if that is not the case tell him what inspired you to pick up the guitar and show him some very inspirational players.

Also make sure the lessons are fun. I used to help classmates out with their history and they told me that because I used a touch of humor here and there they understood things easier.

At 8 years it is best you learn something like an instrument in a playful interactive manner. teach him one or two chords each lesson and make a game out of it.

If that doesn't help be sure to post again as I might get some more inspiration ^^

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

+Quote Post
Trond Vold
Aug 7 2008, 08:27 PM
Instructor
QUOTE (JeroenKole @ Aug 7 2008, 09:12 PM) *
8 years? that is very young.

I think he is being pushed by his parents to learn to play guitar (I think) and in that case it might be better to talk to the parents.