Best Way To Record My New Amp
liveOASISforever
Jun 23 2013, 07:46 AM
GMC:er
I just bought a H&K Tubemeister 18 and looking to start recording lessons in the next couple of months.I am able to record the amp two ways and am not sure which way will be the best.

option 1) Mic the amp then into a audio interface

option 2) Buy a Red Box (speaker simulator) and go into a mixer then into my iMac.

I have no experience in recording either way.The advantage of option 2 is I can turn my amp down to 0w so that I can record silently but I am not sure what the quality will be like.

What do you guys think

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Darius Wave
Jun 24 2013, 12:33 AM
Instructor
I think You just answered yourself smile.gif You can use both...it's a matter of circumstances. Also...very often a blend of both could sound descent. Recording the mic will needmany experiments and usually also good eq-ing.If Your room is not prepared for recording than You can expect some low end problems. It's possible that You'll choose the redbox option then

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

+Quote Post
liveOASISforever
Jun 24 2013, 06:33 AM
QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Jun 24 2013, 12:33 AM) *
I think You just answered yourself smile.gif You can use both...it's a matter of circumstances. Also...very often a blend of both could sound descent. Recording the mic will needmany experiments and usually also good eq-ing.If Your room is not prepared for recording than You can expect some low end problems. It's possible that You'll choose the redbox option then