Playing Along With Backing Track
nguyenc777
Apr 17 2013, 04:09 PM
GMC:er
Hi guys,

My name is Chris and I joined GMC about 2 months ago. I'm already seeing improvement in my playing which is amazing. Did all the lessons in absolute beginners and a few beginners lessons no problem. Now I'm emphasizing more on techniques that I want to master and they are jumping in difficulties which is not a problem as I can play slow and work my way up to play along with the instructor.

My problem is just playing with the backing track alone. When playing along to the video, I can follow the video just fine but I get lost with the backing track. Don't know what point of the song I'm at or when the notes should go together. I guess my solution may be work with a metronome more but it's still a bit tough to incorporate it to play along with the backing track itself.

I'm currently working on the lesson "Classical Ballad Bending Techniques" by Ivan Milenkovic

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/ls/Classi...ing_Techniques/

Any tips of how I can improve on playing along with backing tracks?

Thanks

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Gabriel Leopardi
Apr 17 2013, 04:38 PM
Instructor
Hi mate! This is something that usually happens. Did you try using the slower backings? Do you have the same problem?

Once way to solve this problem would be to sing the guitar lines over the backing to incorporate the lesson in your mind, connected with the backing track. If you can sing it, you should be able to then play it. Try this method, starting with slower backings and let me know if it works!

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!