Three Monitors?
Phil66
Dec 7 2019, 09:04 PM
Post #1
Dec 7 2019, 09:04 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 7.262
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Hello folks,

I've bought a new Dell 25" IPS monitor to match the awesome monitor on my new laptop. I've set my older 24" on a cantilever arm. I was hoping to use that to display Overload TH-U in full screen, Reaper on another screen and my video stream on another, or maybe my tab or GP. Anyway, it's not a necessity but I won't get much for my old ASUS 24" so I thought I'd try to incorporate it into my setup.

Bottom line is, I can't extend over the three displays, I can only duplicate over two, and my mouse can't access one. I basically need it to work like one big screen even though they aren't physically next to each other.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Phil

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER

MY CURRENT BOOTCAMP LESSON


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
[color="#000000"][/color]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Dec 7 2019, 09:16 PM
Post #2
Dec 7 2019, 09:16 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 19.921
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Here is a link on how to run 3 monitors on windows 10
https://windowsreport.com/run-windows-10-three-monitors/


I remember that different versions now support different features. I've seen windows rigs with 3 monitors but I don't know which version of windows was running. Probably the most expensive version. Running triple monitors sounds spiff! I use one BIG hdtv monitor these days but I've run triple head rigs before and it's darn handy. Like you said you can leave one plugin up on one screen, then reaper timeilne on one, reaper mixer on the third
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Dec 7 2019, 04:04 PM) *
Hello folks,

I've bought a new Dell 25" IPS monitor to match the awesome monitor on my new laptop. I've set my older 24" on a cantilever arm. I was hoping to use that to display Overload TH-U in full screen, Reaper on another screen and my video stream on another, or maybe my tab or GP. Anyway, it's not a necessity but I won't get much for my old ASUS 24" so I thought I'd try to incorporate it into my setup.

Bottom line is, I can't extend over the three displays, I can only duplicate over two, and my mouse can't access one. I basically need it to work like one big screen even though they aren't physically next to each other.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Phil

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Dec 7 2019, 09:18 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Dec 7 2019, 09:32 PM
Post #3
Dec 7 2019, 09:32 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 7.262
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Thanks Todd,

I've managed to get it working in a kinda fashion. I have to set the monitors in the display software as though they are side by side. When I had only two, my laptop was and still is on a shelf above my main monitor, my cursor left the top of the lower screen and went onto the laptop, thus, from the laptop I went off the bottom of the screen and onto my main monitor.

I have the same setup now except I have the third monitor to my left, I'm having to scroll totally left to right.

I'm sure I'll crack it.

Cheers

UPDATE:

It was as simple as doing this:



I had it like this, I didn't realise it was so particular to get the cursor flow correct wink.gif

[size="3"][/size]

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER

MY CURRENT BOOTCAMP LESSON


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
[color="#000000"][/color]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Dec 7 2019, 09:59 PM
Post #4
Dec 7 2019, 09:59 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 19.921
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
You can re arrange that monitor order any way you like so that your cursor moves like it should. It should move left to right as the monitors are set up. Just drag the square representing each monitor where you want it smile.gif
Forgive me if you already know this. It looks like windows sees all three? Did it not see all three at first?


QUOTE (Phil66 @ Dec 7 2019, 04:32 PM) *
Thanks Todd,

I've managed to get it working in a kinda fashion. I have to set the monitors in the display software as though they are side by side. When I had only two, my laptop was and still is on a shelf above my main monitor, my cursor left the top of the lower screen and went onto the laptop, thus, from the laptop I went off the bottom of the screen and onto my main monitor.

I have the same setup now except I have the third monitor to my left, I'm having to scroll totally left to right.

I'm sure I'll crack it.

Cheers

UPDATE:

It was as simple as doing this:



I had it like this, I didn't realise it was so particular to get the cursor flow correct wink.gif

[size="3"][/size]

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Todd Simpson: Dec 7 2019, 10:00 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Dec 7 2019, 10:54 PM
Post #5
Dec 7 2019, 10:54 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 7.262
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Yes but if you look at the bottom image that's how I did it when it wouldn't work correctly, or more to the point, how I wanted it to. I didn't realise that config set up thing was so particular, I thought that with the wrong config if I went down to the left on 1 it would take me to 3, and down to the right on 1 would take me to 2, then left and right between 2 and 3 but it locked one of the monitors out.

I'm the first image, which is what I'm using, I can use a reverse L movement with the mouse so from my Dell (monitor 2) it's up for 1 and left for 3. Just the job wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER

MY CURRENT BOOTCAMP LESSON


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
[color="#000000"][/color]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Dec 8 2019, 02:57 AM
Post #6
Dec 8 2019, 02:57 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 19.921
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
You can change which monitors are numbered in which way so that they reflect how you have them set and how you want your mouse to move between them smile.gif
https://help.airtame.com/en/articles/210774...i-monitor-setup

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Dec 8 2019, 11:06 AM
Post #7
Dec 8 2019, 11:06 AM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 7.262
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Yeah thanks Todd, as I said, I've got it going exactly how I want it now,

Thanks for your help.

Phil

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER

MY CURRENT BOOTCAMP LESSON


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
[color="#000000"][/color]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Dec 8 2019, 09:04 PM
Post #8
Dec 8 2019, 09:04 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 19.921
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Happy to help smile.gif Congrats on your new setup!
QUOTE (Phil66 @ Dec 8 2019, 06:06 AM) *
Yeah thanks Todd, as I said, I've got it going exactly how I want it now,

Thanks for your help.

Phil

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Dec 8 2019, 09:33 PM
Post #9
Dec 8 2019, 09:33 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 7.262
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Cheers,

I'll post some pics in the "Updated Studio" thread when I've tidied my desk. I've been busy today, washed my wife's car, washed my car, had a roast dinner, put the Christmas decorations up (HUMBUG laugh.gif ) then needed a rest this afternoon, had a late night last night too so I haven't even looked at tidying my room yet.

Thanks

Phil

P.S The monitor is incredible, prob not up to fast gaming but image and text quality is awesome. Text in documents compared to the ASUS looks like the difference between a cheap inkjet printer on cheap paper and a high quality laser printer on high quality paper cool.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
MY CURRENT REVISION FOLDER

MY CURRENT BOOTCAMP LESSON


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE



“Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in installments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.”
Israelmore Ayivor
[color="#000000"][/color]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st April 2020 - 06:50 AM