Strange Pulsing Noise
Phil66
Apr 24 2016, 08:13 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 9.118
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Hello folks,

Does anyone ever get this kind of thing? I got rid of it by rebooting but I do get things like this quite often and can't find any common thing that makes it happen.

https://soundcloud.com/gmcphil-1/noise-1

Cheers folks.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE





Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in instalments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.

Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mertay
Apr 24 2016, 08:21 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 5.499
Joined: 27-May 13
From: Turkey / izmir
Happens to me too but rare, it can be caused by a plug-in or the soundcards driver can't properly get the samplerate right (just a guess).

open/closing a few programs before opening the DAW, programs next to the clock might be a reason. I never nailed why it happened but I guess its system health related and reducing the programs working on the background might help.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Mertay: Apr 24 2016, 08:21 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Apr 25 2016, 03:00 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 9.118
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Thanks Mertay,

Sometimes it only does it on playback which is a total ball ache when you've done a good take mad.gif Other times it does it when playing. Only ever in Reaper though, not youtube vids or iTunes.

Cheers smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE





Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in instalments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.

Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darius Wave
Apr 25 2016, 05:14 PM
Instructor
Posts: 5.863
Joined: 29-November 12
From: Poland
Happens to me sometimes as well. Usually when buffer size becomes too small for how much I've loaded to the project. Increasing buffer size will increase latency but at the same time will help to keep project working properly. Sometimes it's like MErtay says. Driver error - in my case switching the buffer size to higher and then back to the previous value helps to fix the issue

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Apr 25 2016, 05:56 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 9.118
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Thanks Darius smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE





Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in instalments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.

Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Todd Simpson
Apr 25 2016, 06:49 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 23.478
Joined: 23-December 09
From: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
That pretty much covers it smile.gif Typically a buffer size issue or a driver or plugin has crashed. Often you may have no choice but to reboot and change some settings. smile.gif

Todd

QUOTE (Darius Wave @ Apr 25 2016, 12:14 PM) *
Happens to me sometimes as well. Usually when buffer size becomes too small for how much I've loaded to the project. Increasing buffer size will increase latency but at the same time will help to keep project working properly. Sometimes it's like MErtay says. Driver error - in my case switching the buffer size to higher and then back to the previous value helps to fix the issue

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil66
Apr 25 2016, 08:50 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Posts: 9.118
Joined: 5-July 14
From: The Black Country, England
Thanks Todd,
These days I don't really mind rebooting, I've had an SSD for a few months now, WHIZZ smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


SEE MY GMC CERTIFICATE





Success is not obtained overnight. It comes in instalments; you get a little bit today, a little bit tomorrow until the whole package is given out. The day you procrastinate, you lose that day's success.

Israelmore Ayivor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th September 2021 - 01:05 PM