New Member From Belgium:d
Cingen
May 7 2010, 08:46 PM
GMC:er
Hey there all! tongue.gif

After lurking this place for ages and watching the free parts of all the lessons I finally decided to subscribe to the site, 27 dollars a month is alot for me but since this site seems to be awesome quality and a real life teacher is WAY too expensive for me to possibly afford (being a college student sucks:( ) I decided to give this place a shot, pretty sure I won't regret it^^

Now over to the boring introductory wall of text! xD

My name's Gertjan Goetynck (i dare anyone to try pronounce that hehe tongue.gif) and I play guitar! (Whoah what a surprise right?)
I'm 19 years old, 20 in december and was born and raised in Ghent, the imo most awesome city of Belgium:p

I started playing guitar a while ago when I was going through an emotionally rough time and I needed something to distract myself, and that something became music, more specifically guitar. smile.gif Also was fun to find out that my dad was a quite succesful bassplayer in a funkband that used to be known in Belgium back in the days:p My dad's name still opens doors in the music scene in my area, can come in handy when I finally get a band=D Both him and me really feel like we got a connection now I stepped into his tracks and picked up the guitar!:D (he gave me one of his basses in a desperate attempt trying to get me to pick up bass instead, but that failed horribly xD)

My musical tastes are quite diverse. I like to play anything ranging from acoustic stuff (even though I only got an electric but bleh, clean channel works too:p), alternative rock, some punk, hell even bluesXD I feel sticking to one genre is only limiting yourself. But in all honesty, my main love is and will always be metal, more specifically symphonic metal and power metal:) Something about the sound of a distorted guitar really gets to me.. I love it!