Getting Started Building Tones In Thu
Todd Simpson
Jun 12 2020, 04:35 AM
GMC:er

I’ve been using the guitar plugin from OVERLOUD for several years and I still love it. I’ve tried em all and keep coming back to this one. There are some AMAZING plugins out there and each one has it’s bis that make it great and perfect for any given user. I was on the original BIAS testing team and still am a huge fan of BIAS. I also love AMPLITUBE for MOBILE. It’s still my fave for mobile due to lack of patch change lag and killer tones/fx etc and pretty simple to use. BIAS mobile is amazing as well due to the depth that it allows in tweaking your tone. Back to OVERLOUD, the most recent version of OVERLOUD is called TH-U. It’s got a new GUI which I must say I don’t love as much as the last GUI but heck, things change. smile.gif One of the big changes in THU is the “RIG PLAYER” which is sort of like the OVERLOUD version of doing a “KEMPERISH” thing where you can sample a given rig and get it down in to one small preset without a million different buttons/variable settings. Many of them sound great, just out of the box and you don’t have to tweak your brains out. Sometimes, tweaking your brains out is fun. Sometimes, no. Still, OVERLOUD is set up to look like an actual guitar setup. It’s got AMPS that look like AMPS and PEDALS that look like PEDALS and RACK GEAR that looks like the rack gear that it is supposed to be. I really like this approach as it lets me see what is happening in a signal path just at a glance. I don’t have to memorize a new set of icons that represent the various bits. That’s all find and dandy, I just don’t prefer it.