Playback And Distorted Electric Guitar Issues
SensE
Jul 18 2008, 06:01 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 508
Joined: 5-February 08
From: Wichita, USA
Equipment : AMD Phenom 9850, 4 GB ram, Biostar onboard soundcard
Recording interface : Presonus Firebox with firewire
Sequencer : SONAR 7 Producer Edition 7.0.2
Studio Monitor : NOPE! Using Altec lansing desktop speaker

I plugged in electric guitar (clean channel) directly to the presonus firebox instrument input and have my the track arm for recorded in SONAR 7. I can get the instrument output from my desktop speaker in playback mode after recording.

Here's my question.

1) How do I hear myself while I recording the electric guitar? What I mean here is "instantaneous playback during recording"

2) I would like to record clean guitar and have the guitar sound converted to distortion in SONAR instantly during recording. Is that possible? How? What kind of VSTi would works?

Thank you in advance.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Jul 18 2008, 12:41 PM
Moderation Policy Director
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Taking your questions in order:

1. Yes ... kindof. There is usually an instantaneous playback while recording option (called monitoring). However, this is where the issue of latency rears its ugly head. Your computer needs some time to process thes ound and then play it out of the speakers. This is perfectly possible but there is always a slight dealy. With a cheap soundcard and a slow computer the delay could be a secon or so, which is useless for playing. But these days with a good interface like the presonus you should be able to get latency down to a few milliseconds. Also remember, the more ou need your computer to do, the higher you have to set the latency to avoid pops and clicks.

You will also probably be able to monitor directly through your firebox as well and avoid latency issues. I often work this way with my EMU 1212m.

2. Absolutely! I don't know Sonar well, but most DAWs come with a selection of effects out of the box. For a VST that will have all the effects you eed, look at Guitar Rig from Native Instruments or Gearbox from Line6 - both are a little pricey but both are very good - I use Gearbox for all my recordings. I record the guitar dry then add the effects afterwards - that way I can change them if they don;t work in the mix.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jul 18 2008, 02:11 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
In Sonar there should be a button for toggling monitoring on/off, search for it, or if youdon't find it, just ask Sonar's help, type in like monitor button or something.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SensE
Jul 18 2008, 10:35 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 508
Joined: 5-February 08
From: Wichita, USA
Thank you Andrew and Ivan. I figured that out this morning because of the advices.

Ivan, In Sonar, its called Input monitoring.

You are right. I can turn input monitoring on and off for all tracks by opening VIEW>>TOOLBAR>>PLAYBACK STATE>>INPUT ECHO ALL TRACKS ON/OFF.

-or-

turn :Input Echo" on/off in the track view.

Thank guys. If I have anymore questions as well as my progress in recording, I will let you guys know.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Jul 19 2008, 03:32 AM
Moderation Policy Director
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Glad we could help smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
Jul 19 2008, 12:28 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
QUOTE (SensE @ Jul 18 2008, 07:01 AM) *
Equipment : AMD Phenom 9850, 4 GB ram, Biostar onboard soundcard
Recording interface : Presonus Firebox with firewire
Sequencer : SONAR 7 Producer Edition 7.0.2
Studio Monitor : NOPE! Using Altec lansing desktop speaker

I plugged in electric guitar (clean channel) directly to the presonus firebox instrument input and have my the track arm for recorded in SONAR 7. I can get the instrument output from my desktop speaker in playback mode after recording.

Here's my question.

1) How do I hear myself while I recording the electric guitar? What I mean here is "instantaneous playback during recording"

2) I would like to record clean guitar and have the guitar sound converted to distortion in SONAR instantly during recording. Is that possible? How? What kind of VSTi would works?

Thank you in advance.


Unless you're adding effects in Sonar, do direct output in Windows.
If you are, just arm the direct monitoring. That's AFTER setting up your inputs and outputs though.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st May 2020 - 08:46 PM