4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Windows Vista Is Horrible
Windows Vista, XP, or Mac OS?
What version of an OS do you use?
XP [ 57 ] ** [72.15%]
Vista [ 15 ] ** [18.99%]
2000 [ 0 ] ** [0.00%]
Mac [ 7 ] ** [8.86%]
Have you used Vista?
Yes [ 56 ] ** [70.89%]
No [ 23 ] ** [29.11%]
If you have used Vista:
I'm very happy with it [ 5 ] ** [6.33%]
It's alright [ 15 ] ** [18.99%]
Eh [ 22 ] ** [27.85%]
I wish I never upgraded [ 3 ] ** [3.80%]
IT SUCKS [ 34 ] ** [43.04%]
Total Votes: 79
Guests cannot vote 
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 30 2007, 01:00 PM
Post #21


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (Dejan @ Dec 30 2007, 12:28 PM) *
I'm looking to buy a laptop, but it's hard to find a new one without Vista unsure.gif

A friend of mine is working in a computer shop and says that almost all people who buy a laptop with Vista, returned it to install XP, but when you install XP on such laptop there are problems with drivers blink.gif

I guess I'll have to go for a second hand one rolleyes.gif biggrin.gif


Hey Dejan my girlfriend had similar issues, she bought a cheap Amilo L1705 Laptop. It is decent, but the drivers only exist for Vista, adn the reason because it is so cheap is because they didn't gave me any Vista in the store wink.gif But I really didn't need any... Installed XP and bought XP drivers on the net for a 9.99e - problem solved smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Uncreator
post Dec 30 2007, 01:32 PM
Post #22


Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 8.933
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 1.304



I use XP Service Pack 2, its runs flawlessly with all programs, ive used Vista before, its alright, it seemed quite "buggy" and full of glitches, that was quite some time ago though, maybe its changed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 30 2007, 03:04 PM
Post #23


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



I'd like to upgrade at some point, if only for the 64 bit RAM support - you always need more RAM when you are recording using samples, XP tops out at 4Mb and it aint enough smile.gif


However, I am not going to put up with the upgrade pain until I know things have settled down on the Vista side - maybe by the time SP1 comes out - we'll see ...


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Dec 30 2007, 05:28 PM
Post #24


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 30 2007, 09:04 AM) *
I'd like to upgrade at some point, if only for the 64 bit RAM support - you always need more RAM when you are recording using samples, XP tops out at 4Mb and it aint enough smile.gif
However, I am not going to put up with the upgrade pain until I know things have settled down on the Vista side - maybe by the time SP1 comes out - we'll see ...



Well Andrew you'll be mighty disappionted because none of your recording software is compatiable with Vista probably.


I can't believe they released this as a finished tested product, MS is horrible.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bondy
post Dec 30 2007, 05:36 PM
Post #25


Learning Roadie
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.267
Joined: 27-September 07
From: Telford.Shropshire.England
Member No.: 2.884



Do not use vista its rubbish alright for browsing the internet as soon as u start gaming or using programmes it goes belly up i have just got rid and spent the hole day installing xp again it was crashing on me all the time it did it 6 times in a row on sat if your running sli it wont work on vista just a little warning for all the gamers out there wait till at least the service pack comes out before buying


--------------------
www.minorglance.com
www.facebook.com/minorglance
www.facbook.com/majorlookband
www.twiter.com/minorglance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
botoxfox
post Dec 30 2007, 06:03 PM
Post #26


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.570
Joined: 20-February 07
Member No.: 1.226



QUOTE (Bondy @ Dec 30 2007, 05:36 PM) *
Do not use vista its rubbish alright for browsing the internet as soon as u start gaming or using programmes it goes belly up i have just got rid and spent the hole day installing xp again it was crashing on me all the time it did it 6 times in a row on sat if your running sli it wont work on vista just a little warning for all the gamers out there wait till at least the service pack comes out before buying

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Punctuation


This post has been edited by botoxfox: Apr 22 2011, 08:54 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bondy
post Dec 30 2007, 06:05 PM
Post #27


Learning Roadie
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.267
Joined: 27-September 07
From: Telford.Shropshire.England
Member No.: 2.884



Sorry mr Fox


--------------------
www.minorglance.com
www.facebook.com/minorglance
www.facbook.com/majorlookband
www.twiter.com/minorglance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 30 2007, 08:20 PM
Post #28


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (botoxfox @ Dec 30 2007, 12:03 PM) *


Hmmm. Punctuation is it???

Finally, we are: seeing; signs. of the?? follow up ... to the - great "definitely" campaign ;:"'' blink.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Dec 30 2007, 11:00 PM
Post #29


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 14.958
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



I would find a topic covering the things that actually work with Vista really useful. So we can predict exactly how painful the switch will be! blink.gif laugh.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Dec 30 2007, 11:06 PM
Post #30


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



i think vista will work good if you upgrad all the programs as well also you need minimum 1024 of rams to work good and recomended 2048
of rams


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Dec 30 2007, 11:16 PM
Post #31


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



Well, I just bought a new computer with 2gb of RAM and a E6750 Intel Dual Core processor, and Vista works pretty smoothly on this system.

I think the main reason why people hate Vista so much, is that they try to run it on an older system. Vista just needs a little more processing power, and with an older PC, it just doesn't run very smoothly.


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Dec 31 2007, 01:44 AM
Post #32


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



It's not about the power of computer and the actual pure Vista performance. The problem is all-round compatibility and support for all the software and hardware. We don't only use OS, right? We use tons of software and hardware so if OS doesn't have support for it than i don't care about that OS smile.gif


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FretDancer69
post Dec 31 2007, 01:49 AM
Post #33


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 2.442
Joined: 11-June 07
From: Honduras
Member No.: 2.062



QUOTE (Toni Suominen @ Dec 30 2007, 04:16 PM) *
Well, I just bought a new computer with 2gb of RAM and a E6750 Intel Dual Core processor, and Vista works pretty smoothly on this system.

I think the main reason why people hate Vista so much, is that they try to run it on an older system. Vista just needs a little more processing power, and with an older PC, it just doesn't run very smoothly.



yeah i think that too


--------------------
Playing Guitar Since: December 2006
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
botoxfox
post Dec 31 2007, 10:33 AM
Post #34


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.570
Joined: 20-February 07
Member No.: 1.226



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 30 2007, 08:20 PM) *
Hmmm. Punctuation is it???

Finally, we are: seeing; signs. of the?? follow up ... to the - great "definitely" campaign ;:"'' blink.gif

Brace yourselves!


Nah, not really, I just couldn't resist. I was pretty pleased with my "definitely" campaign however, but some people just don't wanna listen. (coughFretDancer69cough) wink.gif

Now here's an idea for you Andrew: How bout rewriting all your theory lessons without punctuation? I'm sure that would be a smashing hit!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 31 2007, 02:00 PM
Post #35


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (botoxfox @ Dec 31 2007, 04:33 AM) *
Now here's an idea for you Andrew: How bout rewriting all your theory lessons without punctuation? I'm sure that would be a smashing hit!


Cool - they'd be even more incomprehensible - I'll get right on it biggrin.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jan 1 2008, 12:14 PM
Post #36


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Pavel @ Dec 31 2007, 01:44 AM) *
It's not about the power of computer and the actual pure Vista performance. The problem is all-round compatibility and support for all the software and hardware. We don't only use OS, right? We use tons of software and hardware so if OS doesn't have support for it than i don't care about that OS smile.gif


+1 with Pavel.

As far as music hardware - particularly audio cards - goes Vista is a major issue for legacy products. MS in their infinite wisdom decide to use new audio driver/s in Vista that are different right down to the call sub routines at kernal level. This causes a whole host of issues with legacy audio cards - and that pretty much means all the audio cards currently available. Also not helped because MS haven't given the audio card makers a full map of the kernal. Most of these issues will be bug fixed by the audio card makers over time but MS could have made it a whole lot easier and faster.

FWIW I've always found that MS o/s are fine round about the service pack 2 release. (XP was a pain initially but righted itself at SP2. ) I'm on XP sp2 on my pcs - as is my wife. My daughter has Win 2000 though on her pc. I've no intention of upgrading to Vista until at least sp 1 is out for a while. I just recently specc'ed a new pc for my wife with XP - refused the Vista 'upgrade'.

For those of you with Vista who might be having problems the best I can suggest is to monitor the web sites/forums of your hard and software and watch for hot fixes as they are released.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jakub Luptovec
post Jan 2 2008, 03:32 PM
Post #37


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 15-July 07
From: Ostrava
Member No.: 2.318



Pls add Linux or directly Ubuntu into the list of systems:-P I use XP only for Guitar pro and for Counter-strike, when I need to chill out. Otherwise, I am using Ubuntu 7.10:)
And I am pretty happy with that:)


--------------------
my youtube account with riffs and ideas: https://www.youtube.com/user/Phoenygzus
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tomy Jeon
post Jan 2 2008, 07:57 PM
Post #38


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-December 07
From: Latitude = -40.3557, Longitude = 175.6122
Member No.: 3.529



QUOTE (botoxfox @ Dec 31 2007, 06:03 AM) *


biggrin.gif

I think Microsoft don't have any more ideas for new products for XP. That's why they invented Vista. To make more money. Another way to get consumers consumin'.

I know a new product! Something like Garage Band except on XP!


--------------------
IPB Image
Obi-Wan Kenobi dislikes babies!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Jan 2 2008, 08:22 PM
Post #39


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



XP all the way for me !! (9 out of 10 cats prefer it) laugh.gif


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FretDancer69
post Jan 2 2008, 08:36 PM
Post #40


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 2.442
Joined: 11-June 07
From: Honduras
Member No.: 2.062



QUOTE (Jakub Luptovec @ Jan 2 2008, 08:32 AM) *
Pls add Linux or directly Ubuntu into the list of systems:-P I use XP only for Guitar pro and for Counter-strike, when I need to chill out. Otherwise, I am using Ubuntu 7.10:)
And I am pretty happy with that:)



Ubuntu is really good, ive tried it before, its completely free and its a really good OS.


--------------------
Playing Guitar Since: December 2006
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 05:15 AM