Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Need Urgent Help With Pickup/pot Wiring
post Jan 10 2008, 05:14 PM
Post #1

Learning Roadie

Group: Members
Posts: 783
Joined: 6-September 07
From: Newcastle
Member No.: 2.713

ive installed my pickups and it works fine, but only when i put pressure on my volume pot... do i need a new pot or is it due to bad solduring? i hope its the later because i want to play now sad.gif

can anyone help?

(also, its not a big deal but im using a 3-way switch and when in the middle position none of the pickups work, ive followed the diagrams given by seymour duncan too)


if this makes any difference, when theres no pressure on the volume POT and i turn my amp all the way up there is a small amount of volume there. dont know if this means anything.

This post has been edited by muntahunta: Jan 10 2008, 05:28 PM

Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ Dual EMG 81 Pickups. Size 11 Strings.
Ibanez GRG170DX w/ Scallopd frets 17-24 - w/ Dimebucker and APH-1.
Tanglewood TW28 STR DLX CE INDIANA Acoustic Guitar
NEW: Dean Deceiver w/ EMG 81/EMG 85 Pickups
Pod XT Live AND Pod X3 Live
Cubase SX3

My Bands Myspace
Act Of Silence


Fly From The Inside (Cover)
So Far Away
Break The Cycle
Never Again (Cover)
Wake Me

More Acoustic Songs:
Chris Kerswell Soundclick Page

Check out Munta's Step By Step Songwriting Lesson
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jan 10 2008, 09:01 PM
Post #2


Group: Members
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-August 06
From: UK
Member No.: 810

make sure u grounded everything? and that the HOT wires arent touching ground. and that the bits are soldered on the right bits (obviously, why did i even bother writing that lol oh well) maybe your pot is broken, but i would suggest resoldering before u spend more money replacing bits, thats what i did, but i still had to bring it to the shop, and they gave it back to me and didnt even fix it properly, they fixed the wrong thing probably coz sound continued to cut out. anyhow, i hate these crazy random incidents, and would just go rip everything out and put new ones in to "solve" the mystery, but that would cost some money that didnt needed to be spent =/ ...... did that help at all lol? hope it did somehow?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jan 10 2008, 11:20 PM
Post #3


Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084

itys depend on how you installed it you have 2 ways but i dont thing the proble with solduring .you have to chek the grounds if it the bridge grounded with pickups or not

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jan 11 2008, 03:36 AM
Post #4

Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374


Did you get it worked out? Sounds like a ground problem on the pot your pressing on.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2016 - 01:00 PM