2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Asio4all Issues
Siggum
post Jan 12 2008, 01:45 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.228
Joined: 3-January 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 3.701



Hey guys,

Ive recently began to work with my korg triton keyboard again, and thought id use it with my pc as midi( i use cakewalk sonar 7).

My issue is that i get the famous high latency, wich isnt really usable. sad.gif I heard the asio4all driver should somehow fix it, but it doesnt seem to work with my soundcard ( Realtek Hd Audio)
+ i run windows Vista 32 bit.

So my question is if anyone know any good soundcards that works with the Asio4all drivers, and produce low latency inputs, or any other kind of solution?

Cheers cool.gif

Sigge


--------------------


It dont mean a thing if it aint got that swing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Jan 12 2008, 01:54 PM
Post #2


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Realtek HD Audio is the worst audio device possible. I have it with my motherboard and recording was totally impossible with it. So i bought "Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty" which has a great front panel for connecting line-in and midi devices.

Using Asio4All driver gives me almost no latency in values (12ms) and to your ear it's no latency at all.

I know people at GMC use all kind of sound cards so they will post their suggestions here. When buying a sound card make sure it is ASIO compatible smile.gif


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Siggum
post Jan 12 2008, 02:01 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.228
Joined: 3-January 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 3.701



QUOTE (Pavel @ Jan 12 2008, 01:54 PM) *
Realtek HD Audio is the worst audio device possible. I have it with my motherboard and recording was totally impossible with it. So i bought "Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty" which has a great front panel for connecting line-in and midi devices.

Using Asio4All driver gives me almost no latency in values (12ms) and to your ear it's no latency at all.

I know people at GMC use all kind of sound cards so they will post their suggestions here. When buying a sound card make sure it is ASIO compatible smile.gif


Aha, so realtek is a useless...thought so!

12 ms is really nice tongue.gif I better go get myself a new soundcard then, thx for the info.

Sigge


--------------------


It dont mean a thing if it aint got that swing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Jan 12 2008, 02:41 PM
Post #4


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Realtek is actually good - but the HD series are bad smile.gif


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 12 2008, 03:06 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



If I may add,audio card only offers you to set latency/buffer size
but CPU and RAM are those who suffer.

Lower latency means higher buffer and more job for CPU and RAM,am I right guys?


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Jan 12 2008, 03:29 PM
Post #6


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Never had problems with that actually huh.gif Dunno....


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 12 2008, 03:59 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Pavel @ Jan 12 2008, 03:29 PM) *
Never had problems with that actually huh.gif Dunno....


Well,lets say you have 5 VSTs and 10 audio tracks in song,playing all together.
Change latency and you'll see difference in CPU usage bar(in Cubase far left on transport bar).


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Jan 12 2008, 04:03 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (Muris @ Jan 12 2008, 02:59 PM) *
Well,lets say you have 5 VSTs and 10 audio tracks in song,playing all together.
Change latency and you'll see difference in CPU usage bar(in Cubase far left on transport bar).

Muris is right. Sound card is important. That Realtek soundcard is pathetic to be honest. Pretty much anything is better but if you have a lower latency it ups the CPU usage dramatically and also the more tracks you want the more it ups it again so you really need a Dual Core processor to be honest realistically for recording properly.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 12 2008, 04:08 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (OrganisedConfusion @ Jan 12 2008, 04:03 PM) *
Muris is right. Sound card is important. That Realtek soundcard is pathetic to be honest. Pretty much anything is better but if you have a lower latency it ups the CPU usage dramatically and also the more tracks you want the more it ups it again so you really need a Dual Core processor to be honest realistically for recording properly.


I work quite nice with 2.8 Ghz and 2 GB Ram,
sometimes I have more then 20 audio tracks and tons of VSTs/plug-ins.
And here's what I do,a small trick.
When I need real time record monitoring,usually when playing Midi keys with sound from HD,
I set latency at about 20msec which is more than enough to play without disturbing.
But as soon as I record it a switch latency up to 60-70msec to make it easy on CPU. wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Jan 12 2008, 04:18 PM
Post #10


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



I have a song in progress with around 16 tracks - filled with VSTi but never had any problems - i have DualCore 2.13 processor and 2Gigs of RAM.

Also - my sound card has built in 128MB of RAM.


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 12 2008, 04:22 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Pavel @ Jan 12 2008, 04:18 PM) *
I have a song in progress with around 16 tracks - filled with VSTi but never had any problems - i have DualCore 2.13 processor and 2Gigs of RAM.

Also - my sound card has built in 128MB of RAM.


I'm not talking about problems Pavel but about what is related to latency. wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Jan 12 2008, 05:42 PM
Post #12


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Today everybody has a computer powerful enough for some basic recording - and even beyond that so i think the sound card is the issue in 98% of cases smile.gif


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Twibeard
post Jan 12 2008, 06:02 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 16-October 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 3.064



QUOTE (Pavel @ Jan 12 2008, 05:42 PM) *
Today everybody has a computer powerful enough for some basic recording - and even beyond that so i think the sound card is the issue in 98% of cases smile.gif

An eksternal "soundcards" with FireWire will also take the pressure of a CPU i guess?


--------------------

Guitar: Ibanez RG370DXCE my backup is a Fender Strat.
Amps: Marshall MG and Line6 Spider III 75W combo (preferred)

Recording stuff: Cubase SX3, Logic emagic, Novation ReMote SL, M-Audio Pro
Synth experiance: Roland, MoTu, Native Instrument, Spectrasonics and Steinberg
Main VST's: Kontakt2, FM8, Bass station, Ezdrummer, MoTu EI, Atmosphere, Crystall
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Jan 12 2008, 06:42 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (Muris @ Jan 12 2008, 03:08 PM) *
I work quite nice with 2.8 Ghz and 2 GB Ram,
sometimes I have more then 20 audio tracks and tons of VSTs/plug-ins.
And here's what I do,a small trick.
When I need real time record monitoring,usually when playing Midi keys with sound from HD,
I set latency at about 20msec which is more than enough to play without disturbing.
But as soon as I record it a switch latency up to 60-70msec to make it easy on CPU. wink.gif

Yeah I do the same thing when I do recording. Your processor should be plenty. Some of our tracks have over 40 layers so we need a big processor however and each of these tracks may have different plug ins being used and it can get crazy but now we have a quad core for recording smile.gif

I recommend the Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty also for recording as well with Pavel


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 12 2008, 07:29 PM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Twibeard @ Jan 12 2008, 06:02 PM) *
An eksternal "soundcards" with FireWire will also take the pressure of a CPU i guess?


Well I guess so.
If you want to hear all efxs from track/channel while recording in "real" time
than it has to be processed by CPU.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Siggum
post Jan 12 2008, 08:12 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.228
Joined: 3-January 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 3.701



Thanks for all the info guys,

I'm gonna hit the local musicstore and have a chat with em, price does matter as well biggrin.gif

I'm also gonna have to buy a new mic for recording both vocals and guitar...

(Grabs he's wallet..oh noooo)

Cheers cool.gif


--------------------


It dont mean a thing if it aint got that swing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 12 2008, 08:20 PM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Siggum @ Jan 12 2008, 08:12 PM) *
Thanks for all the info guys,

I'm gonna hit the local musicstore and have a chat with em, price does matter as well biggrin.gif

I'm also gonna have to buy a new mic for recording both vocals and guitar...

(Grabs he's wallet..oh noooo)

Cheers cool.gif


Good luck with you gear quest,hope you'll get something nice and not too expensive tho!!!! smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Siggum
post Jan 12 2008, 08:45 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.228
Joined: 3-January 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 3.701



QUOTE (Muris @ Jan 12 2008, 08:20 PM) *
Good luck with you gear quest,hope you'll get something nice and not too expensive tho!!!! smile.gif



Thanks biggrin.gif


--------------------


It dont mean a thing if it aint got that swing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Jan 13 2008, 12:16 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



QUOTE (Pavel @ Jan 12 2008, 01:54 PM) *
Realtek HD Audio is the worst audio device possible. I have it with my motherboard and recording was totally impossible with it. So i bought "Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty" which has a great front panel for connecting line-in and midi devices.

Using Asio4All driver gives me almost no latency in values (12ms) and to your ear it's no latency at all.

I know people at GMC use all kind of sound cards so they will post their suggestions here. When buying a sound card make sure it is ASIO compatible smile.gif

Oh no. That was bad news Pavel. I just bought a computer with Realtek HD on for my daugter and she will surely use it for audio tools too sad.gif


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 14 2008, 12:33 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



No worries man, just buy a cheap Audigy SE soundcard and it will do the job for a while. Generally you need a better sound card, and you can find it today for ~100e even.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 08:46 AM