2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mic + Mixer + Computer, Does it work like this?
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 13 2008, 08:14 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



Hey, I'm still looking for a good way to record my band. Would this work? Mics ---> Mixer ---> Computer? Like plug the mics into the mixer, and then plug the mixer into the computer and run it onto cubase? And if this is possible, where do I plug it in the computer? Thanks smile.gif


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Jan 13 2008, 08:16 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



Yes, this should work, just plug the mixer into your computer's line input smile.gif


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 13 2008, 08:17 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



And it will pick up the sound of all the mics i have plugged into the mixer?


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 14 2008, 12:31 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Well, if you mix everything well on the mixer you can record ONE track on the computer. You can't send multiple track to a computer via regular mixer. You need a multitrack for that.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jan 14 2008, 02:44 AM
Post #5


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



You can record a stereo mix from the aux out (I think or something similar) on mixer going to line in in computers soundcard....Just plug in your headphones to mixer and make a mix that sounds good to you and record it on a computer..It can turn out pretty good depending how you setup the tone of individual instruments on their amps , drums itself...and of course how many mics you use to record the whole band.. wink.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 14 2008, 03:02 AM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



Alright, thanks for the help guys smile.gif To record each instrument seperately, what mics should we use and how many of each?
btw we are on a bit of a budget sad.gif

This post has been edited by Stevie·Ray·Vaughn: Jan 14 2008, 03:03 AM


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jan 15 2008, 12:01 AM
Post #7


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



i think the best way for records is going by tracks separetly just start with drums then bass then rythems then solo,s and finally to vocal


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 15 2008, 12:04 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I agree. It will be better quality that way too. Buy some cheap mixer, and mic-up the drums, first record that, and then the rest on top of that. You will then have separate tracks for drums, bass, guitar, and vocals in your application and you can produce it more.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 27 2008, 10:00 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



That is how we planned to do it smile.gif But what sort of mic's should we buy?


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jan 27 2008, 10:05 PM
Post #10


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



some kind from AKG and for the vocal you can buy shur


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 27 2008, 10:09 PM
Post #11


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



QUOTE (Hisham @ Jan 27 2008, 09:05 PM) *
some kind from AKG and for the vocal you can buy shur


Any reccomandations on a certain AKG mic?


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Twibeard
post Jan 27 2008, 10:14 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 16-October 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 3.064



Dont know your budget - but I have used Multitrack Firewire mixers at several ocations, works perfect.

The Helix Board 12FW MkII (also in an 18 and 24 track version), sounds great and works hard both in and out of the studio. It features a 96 KHz FireWire interface that lets you individually stream up to 10 independent channels of audio to the computer and return 2 channels to the mixer for monitoring -- all with near-zero latency. Ofcause you need firewire-1394 on your PC.
http://www.zzounds.com/prodsearch?q=helix&form=search


--------------------

Guitar: Ibanez RG370DXCE my backup is a Fender Strat.
Amps: Marshall MG and Line6 Spider III 75W combo (preferred)

Recording stuff: Cubase SX3, Logic emagic, Novation ReMote SL, M-Audio Pro
Synth experiance: Roland, MoTu, Native Instrument, Spectrasonics and Steinberg
Main VST's: Kontakt2, FM8, Bass station, Ezdrummer, MoTu EI, Atmosphere, Crystall
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 27 2008, 10:17 PM
Post #13


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



QUOTE (Twibeard @ Jan 27 2008, 09:14 PM) *
Dont know your budget - but I have used Multitrack Firewire mixers at several ocations, works perfect.

The Helix Board 12FW MkII (also in an 18 and 24 track version), sounds great and works hard both in and out of the studio. It features a 96 KHz FireWire interface that lets you individually stream up to 10 independent channels of audio to the computer and return 2 channels to the mixer for monitoring -- all with near-zero latency. Ofcause you need firewire-1394 on your PC.
http://www.zzounds.com/prodsearch?q=helix&form=search


What exactly is a firewire input and where would it be on my computer?


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Jan 27 2008, 10:23 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



QUOTE (Stevie·Ray·Vaughn @ Jan 27 2008, 10:17 PM) *
What exactly is a firewire input and where would it be on my computer?


check this out wink.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FireWire


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Twibeard
post Jan 27 2008, 10:27 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 16-October 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 3.064



QUOTE (Dejan @ Jan 27 2008, 10:23 PM) *

Yupp ... thats the one smile.gif



This post has been edited by Twibeard: Jan 27 2008, 10:29 PM


--------------------

Guitar: Ibanez RG370DXCE my backup is a Fender Strat.
Amps: Marshall MG and Line6 Spider III 75W combo (preferred)

Recording stuff: Cubase SX3, Logic emagic, Novation ReMote SL, M-Audio Pro
Synth experiance: Roland, MoTu, Native Instrument, Spectrasonics and Steinberg
Main VST's: Kontakt2, FM8, Bass station, Ezdrummer, MoTu EI, Atmosphere, Crystall
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
swingline
post Jan 27 2008, 10:32 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 789
Joined: 2-August 07
From: Hemet, California
Member No.: 2.460



QUOTE (Stevie·Ray·Vaughn @ Jan 27 2008, 01:17 PM) *
What exactly is a firewire input and where would it be on my computer?

Most all desktops have one, some laptops have one, if not you have to use USB which isn't that bad.

This post has been edited by swingline: Jan 27 2008, 10:32 PM


--------------------
--------------------


The Gear:
Jackson Dinky 2M Snow White
Line 6 Spider III 75 watt
Line 6 FBV Express Foot Controller
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 27 2008, 10:33 PM
Post #17


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



Can I plug a mixer into the line in of my soundcard? Or will that not work?


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
swingline
post Jan 27 2008, 10:39 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 789
Joined: 2-August 07
From: Hemet, California
Member No.: 2.460



QUOTE (Stevie·Ray·Vaughn @ Jan 27 2008, 01:33 PM) *
Can I plug a mixer into the line in of my soundcard? Or will that not work?

It possibly would but your probably better off buying a USB interface that allows a 1/4 inch jack in through the USB.


--------------------
--------------------


The Gear:
Jackson Dinky 2M Snow White
Line 6 Spider III 75 watt
Line 6 FBV Express Foot Controller
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
post Jan 27 2008, 10:42 PM
Post #19


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Member No.: 1.005



You mean like a lightsnake? Because I own one of those. http://www.engadget.com/2006/04/28/music-t...connect-your-a/


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Jan 27 2008, 10:44 PM
Post #20


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



what sound card do you have?


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2017 - 09:41 PM