Line 6 Toneport Ux2 Usb Audio Interface, Has anyone used it, or had experience with it?
Sabbz
Jan 21 2008, 05:59 PM
Post #1
Jan 21 2008, 05:59 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 128
Joined: 22-December 07
From: Abbeville, SC
I've been thinking lately about buying a recording rig, well, I've been thinking about buying a lot of things, but I think I've decided on some recording gear and the Toneport UX2 piqued my curiosity. I was just wondering if anyone's had any experience with it, or a similar Line6 recording product and what they thought of it. Thanks.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Sabbz: Jan 21 2008, 05:59 PM


--------------------
Gear I wish I still owned:
Schecter C-S1 Elite
Ovation CC48
Peavey 6505+ HS
Dunlop DB01 Crybaby From Hell
MXR KFK 10 Band EQ
EHX Holy Grail + Stereo Memory Man
MXR Smart Gate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jan 21 2008, 09:11 PM
Post #2
Jan 21 2008, 09:11 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Have you been here? wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
Jan 21 2008, 10:04 PM
Post #3
Jan 21 2008, 10:04 PM
Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Posts: 8.241
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
I use Toneport GX, which is the most simple and cheap Toneport, and I love it so far.

Does it's job, it's easy to use, and doesn't cause any problem so far wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
Jan 21 2008, 11:16 PM
Post #4
Jan 21 2008, 11:16 PM
Bass & Beginner Instructor
Posts: 15.614
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Toneport is indeed a great device to get you into recording..Can make great demos and everything else you need recorded at home wink.gif My recommendation.. smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Bogdan: Jan 21 2008, 11:17 PM


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jan 22 2008, 01:58 AM
Post #5
Jan 22 2008, 01:58 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Yeah, Bogdan has the TOneport UX2 and its a very very good device. I have UX1 myself and it helps building demo songs in no time.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sabbz
Jan 22 2008, 05:33 PM
Post #6
Jan 22 2008, 05:33 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 128
Joined: 22-December 07
From: Abbeville, SC
Thanks for the replies, guys. I think I'm sold on this.....The review really helped, MI, thanks. It has a mic input, so am I right when I assume I can record my amp, if I mic it? Also, what's the best type of mic to use for recording guitar amp?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Sabbz: Jan 22 2008, 05:40 PM


--------------------
Gear I wish I still owned:
Schecter C-S1 Elite
Ovation CC48
Peavey 6505+ HS
Dunlop DB01 Crybaby From Hell
MXR KFK 10 Band EQ
EHX Holy Grail + Stereo Memory Man
MXR Smart Gate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jan 22 2008, 08:31 PM
Post #7
Jan 22 2008, 08:31 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Yes you can do that, I sometimes mic my amp but I have a crappy Samson Q4 mic. The ideal mic is probably SM57 for starters. IT has great midrange sound and you can get some great results when you tweak it a little. Also if you're planning to mic your amp, and you wanna good tone, record it dry as possible, cover the amp with some blankets or something for starters and experiment a lot with your gear, liek the angle of the mic, EQing, reverberation damping in the recording room etc. Sometimes you can get great results if you find a sweet spot combination of all those factors.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Jan 22 2008, 09:12 PM
Post #8
Jan 22 2008, 09:12 PM
Moderation Policy Director
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
I ordered an SM57 to mic my amp yesterday smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sabbz
Jan 22 2008, 10:04 PM
Post #9
Jan 22 2008, 10:04 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 128
Joined: 22-December 07
From: Abbeville, SC
QUOTE (Milenkovic Ivan @ Jan 22 2008, 02:31 PM) *
Yes you can do that, I sometimes mic my amp but I have a crappy Samson Q4 mic. The ideal mic is probably SM57 for starters. IT has great midrange sound and you can get some great results when you tweak it a little. Also if you're planning to mic your amp, and you wanna good tone, record it dry as possible, cover the amp with some blankets or something for starters and experiment a lot with your gear, liek the angle of the mic, EQing, reverberation damping in the recording room etc. Sometimes you can get great results if you find a sweet spot combination of all those factors.

Thanks again for the info. Since I know Jack and Squat about recording, before I order the stuff, how would this mic be for the recording?: Shure PG57 Or, should I just go ahead and spend the extra $40 and get the SM57

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Gear I wish I still owned:
Schecter C-S1 Elite
Ovation CC48
Peavey 6505+ HS
Dunlop DB01 Crybaby From Hell
MXR KFK 10 Band EQ
EHX Holy Grail + Stereo Memory Man
MXR Smart Gate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
Jan 23 2008, 12:08 AM
Post #10
Jan 23 2008, 12:08 AM
Bass & Beginner Instructor
Posts: 15.614
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
QUOTE (Sabbz @ Jan 22 2008, 10:04 PM) *
Thanks again for the info. Since I know Jack and Squat about recording, before I order the stuff, how would this mic be for the recording?: Shure PG57 Or, should I just go ahead and spend the extra $40 and get the SM57


I don't know about that one I think it would work well but shure sm57 is considered a standard for micing amps etc...Like Sm58 is standard for live vocal performance..I think you can't go wrong with sm57 and its worth the money..Though for home use I would not recomend micing the amp , and rather just using the toneports gearbox for simulation.Because its very dificult to mic an amp and get great results easily..There are a lot of factors involved..Homes are often noisy enviroments and I don't think you have one sound proff room to spare wink.gif Maybe you'll be satisfied with just the toneport for start..Try it out if your don't like it and want the sound of especially your amp go for the sm57 then wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AJGgtrst
Jan 23 2008, 01:50 AM
Post #11
Jan 23 2008, 01:50 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 10
Joined: 21-October 07
From: Canada
I say go for it. I've got Toneport UX1, and I love it. I use that more than I use my own amps... No probs with it, already recorded stuff (it came w/ a copy of ableton) and it's pretty easy to use.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sabbz
Jan 23 2008, 08:37 PM
Post #12
Jan 23 2008, 08:37 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 128
Joined: 22-December 07
From: Abbeville, SC
Thanks again for the replies and advice guys, especially Milenkovic Ivan and Bogdan. I really, really appreciate it. I guess I'm going to go ahead and order this unit. I just wish the software had a drum machine integrated into it, as it would save me from having to buy this as well: Boss DR-670 Drum Machine

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Gear I wish I still owned:
Schecter C-S1 Elite
Ovation CC48
Peavey 6505+ HS
Dunlop DB01 Crybaby From Hell
MXR KFK 10 Band EQ
EHX Holy Grail + Stereo Memory Man
MXR Smart Gate
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Maximus
Jan 23 2008, 08:47 PM
Post #13
Jan 23 2008, 08:47 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 463
Joined: 23-August 07
From: Mississippi USA by way of NY
I currently do my recording through a Pocket pod but I plan to get a POD x3 in the near future. What sets the Toneport apart from the PODS? Does the Toneport have more recording functionality?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard, Ibanez rg 750, Ibanez Mikro, Washburn Acoustic
Amps: Crate GX 1600 1/2 Stack, Line 6 Spider 2, Vintage Kustom Tube Head
Effects: Line 6 POD X3 Live, Line 6 PocketPod
Misc: Line 6 FBV Express Foot Switch/Volume/Wah-Wah Pedal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
Jan 23 2008, 09:29 PM
Post #14
Jan 23 2008, 09:29 PM
Bass & Beginner Instructor
Posts: 15.614
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Toneport looks to me more recording oriented..For example in toneport ux2 you have two XLR inputs, two line inputs , two footswitch inputs , monitor outs (direct monitoring),two instrument inputs ...And there are even more advanced versions of toneport like KB37 and ux8 ..

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Maximus
Jan 24 2008, 05:08 AM
Post #15
Jan 24 2008, 05:08 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 463
Joined: 23-August 07
From: Mississippi USA by way of NY
Does anyone know specifically what the benefits of the Toneport over the Pod X3 or vice versa are as far as recording is concerned? I noticed that the Toneport ux2 says it has "phantom power". What is that exactly and does the X3 have it also. I understand that the pod has onboard processing which allows use on slower systems. Also is it possible to use Reaper with Toneport without problems? Thanks for any answers in advance.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard, Ibanez rg 750, Ibanez Mikro, Washburn Acoustic
Amps: Crate GX 1600 1/2 Stack, Line 6 Spider 2, Vintage Kustom Tube Head
Effects: Line 6 POD X3 Live, Line 6 PocketPod
Misc: Line 6 FBV Express Foot Switch/Volume/Wah-Wah Pedal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jan 27 2008, 12:01 AM
Post #16
Jan 27 2008, 12:01 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Toneport does require a good machine, but not a super fast machine. P4 or Athlon with 1GB ram will do just fine if you ask me. I don't know for anything else m8, I have Toneport but I use different software (Nuendo), and I don't have any experiences with POD. I hope I helped a bit.. smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st March 2020 - 09:08 PM