Troubles With Reaper/recording, Annoying Sound With no mic
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
Feb 4 2008, 12:08 AM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Hey guys, my band tried to record today on reaper, we hooked up a mic (as a test) into the mic input. With or without the mic in the computer, it continues to record a weird buzzing percussion sound. Its not loud, but persistant and the mic won't record either now. Any suggestions on what to do? smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
Feb 4 2008, 02:24 AM
Instructor
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
you have to connect the mic to the mixer then to take line out from the mixer to the sound card line in not mic in
if you connect to mic the recording will not be clear and clean /any way you need a mixer

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
Feb 4 2008, 02:42 AM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Even when the mic isnt plugged in it still makes this sound though huh.gif So we can't record anything sad.gif Any other suggestions?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
Feb 4 2008, 08:42 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Does it sort of pulsate regularly, or is it noise now and then?
Could be the buffer size setting in yor ASIO driver maybe. If you set your buffer size too large to get lower latency you can get crackling noises (or was it the other way around? setting it too small?)

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fkalich
Feb 4 2008, 09:47 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 2.781
Joined: 12-February 07
From: People's Republic of Lawrence Kansas
may not be the same thing, but at times I have had my projected seem to get corrupted somehow, and could not fix it. I would create a new project. could be a bug in the programming.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Feb 4 2008, 12:35 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
You have to set the input from your audio card to be recorder in reaper - the same line in input where your mic is plugged in.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
Feb 4 2008, 10:53 PM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Edit : Thank you Blindwillie! biggrin.gif I tried this and it is now fixed! smile.gif Thank you!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Stevie·Ray·Vaughn: Feb 5 2008, 04:00 AM


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
Feb 5 2008, 11:16 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
QUOTE (Stevie·Ray·Vaughn @ Feb 4 2008, 10:53 PM) *
Edit : Thank you Blindwillie! biggrin.gif I tried this and it is now fixed! smile.gif Thank you!

Wiiiiiiii! \o/
I actually helped someone biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
Feb 5 2008, 06:47 PM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
It was working fine yesterday, and then I came back to record today and the crackling noises are back again dry.gif I changed the buffering like I did yesterday but it didn't fix anything. sad.gif Any other ideas? smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Feb 5 2008, 09:15 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
It's definitely the ASIO driver issue. Try playing with your settings a little, and see if you can balance it in the right way.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
Feb 5 2008, 10:27 PM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
QUOTE (Milenkovic Ivan @ Feb 5 2008, 08:15 PM) *
It's definitely the ASIO driver issue. Try playing with your settings a little, and see if you can balance it in the right way.


I tried setting it to ASIO driver so I can change things and it says there is no ASIO Driver huh.gif Could it have something to do with the fact that its Windows Vista?
PS I know the problem is with Reaper because there is no crackly sounds on Audacity, but theres too much latency sad.gif More help please, you guys are being really helpful smile.gif

Here's what it says when I go to ASIO driver sad.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Stevie·Ray·Vaughn: Feb 5 2008, 10:32 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  untitled.bmp ( 2.25MB ) Number of downloads: 49
 


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Smurkas
Feb 6 2008, 04:35 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 96
Joined: 15-July 07
If your sound card doesn't have it's own asio driver then you should get asio4all. You can download that driver here http://www.asio4all.com/. If your sound card is asio compatible on it's own and has it's own driver then you're better off downloading that and using that one instead.


/Marcus

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Feb 6 2008, 10:54 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
+ 1 for ASIO4all drivers. They are very stable and great.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Milenkovic Ivan: Feb 6 2008, 10:54 AM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
Feb 6 2008, 06:25 PM
Moderator - low level high stakes
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
From the screen shot SRV you haven't got ASIO drivers installed. As others have suggested if your audio card/device hasn't got (or isn't finding) the ASIO dll's then ASIO4All is your best option. However if your audio card/device has got ASIO drivers then use those as they'll be optimised for it.

Audacity will work as it uses MME and WDM but not, to my knowledge, ASIO.

If you need it you can find ASIO4All here.

Let us know if this works.
Cheer,s
Tony

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevie-Ray-Vaugh...
Feb 6 2008, 10:36 PM
Learning Rock Star
Posts: 1.119
Joined: 23-December 06
From: Canada!
Thanks everyone smile.gif I'll let you know if it works smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


But still I want answers, what's the point, what does all this mean?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th July 2020 - 02:36 AM