Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Internet Problems, I need a bit of help
Smikey2006
post Feb 11 2008, 04:16 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.361
Joined: 27-April 07
From: London,ont
Member No.: 1.697



If anyone has noticed my rescent absence i am here to try and get that resolved. Ive been having major internet speed issues.. It takes at least 20 minutes to load a video and 5 to load a single post.. I have no idea what is causing this as i have not changed internet providers or my wireless card or my router. My computer is full of music (80gigs to give a rough estimate) Would removing this speed up my internet? Or are there any other possibilities that are the cause of my slow connection. Please help! i am unable to use gmc and its upsetting sad.gif

Note: i can only post and watch videos from my friends computer and he doesn't like me spending hours in his apartment practicing guitar.. tongue.gif

Thanks a ton guys!


--------------------
Schecter Exotic Star+ Peavey VK
Ibanez Xiphos 707 + Krank Revolution 100
Damien 7




Wishlist
Schecter Customshop
Schecter 2008 Blackjack
Damage Control Timeline Delay Pedal/Distortion
a laptop that runs protools :'(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Feb 11 2008, 04:23 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



You should clean up your computer on occacion. A spyware remover like adaware or similar. Since these programs keep sending information when they get too many they will hog CPU and bandwidth.

Ot if you have a non secure wireless internet connection you should set it to allow access only for the MAC addresses of your computers. Or else someone could be downloading illeagal stuff using your connection while you'd be choked for bandwidth.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Feb 11 2008, 04:27 PM
Post #3


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Well deleting music from your computer won't speed up the connection!
I guess that either your ICP is having some problems, or that you are downloading/uploading while surfing...You can't use any download while surfing...Also check if your windows is automatically updating itself and eating your internet connection that way..Do you have problems only with GMC or with other sites too ? Try killing all programs that use internet connection except your browser .. wink.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Feb 11 2008, 04:29 PM
Post #4


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



+1 about spyware, trojans and the like and as Micke says make sure that no one's piggybacking your connection for free. (Co-inicidently there was a news item on this about this problem in the UK a few days ago. It's getting to be a big problem!) Also if you have any p2p, skype etc software that is running in the background Smikey you'll need to disable them.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Feb 11 2008, 04:31 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



Internet drives me insane. We have a 20Mbps connection and it runs slow a lot of the time. How do I limit it to the 3 MAC addresses on our wireless router? And is it possible to limit the bandwidth of one user on the router as I pay for the internet and he is constantly on torrent programs. Makes me annoyed.

Any suggestions? If it matters it is a Sitecom WL-160 router we use.



--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Feb 11 2008, 04:50 PM
Post #6


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (OrganisedConfusion @ Feb 11 2008, 04:31 PM) *
Internet drives me insane. We have a 20Mbps connection and it runs slow a lot of the time. How do I limit it to the 3 MAC addresses on our wireless router? And is it possible to limit the bandwidth of one user on the router as I pay for the internet and he is constantly on torrent programs. Makes me annoyed.

Any suggestions? If it matters it is a Sitecom WL-160 router we use.

Enter as admin and find the wireless settings and then MAC filtering/MAC authority or similar.

ipconfig /all will show the MAC addresses, or it's on a sticker somewhere on your computer


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Feb 11 2008, 05:01 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (MickeM @ Feb 11 2008, 03:50 PM) *
Enter as admin and find the wireless settings and then MAC filtering/MAC authority or similar.

ipconfig /all will show the MAC addresses, or it's on a sticker somewhere on your computer

I shall try it when I get home from work. Thanks a lot smile.gif


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post Feb 11 2008, 05:02 PM
Post #8


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



Frist thing to do would be using a anti-spyware. I always use Ad-Aware (Which you can see here. Just run it once in the month if you have loads of spyware, and remove it.

An other thing, and I dont' wanna insult you, is not going to certain pages, like pornsites or some hack/serial sites. Also do a big virus check on your pc.

Last thing, you won't get a faster internet by clicking removing your music.
I have a site (dutch but that's no problem) which measure's your speed, I'll give you the link, the top one is download speed which you need for this site.Then you can see how man kB/s. If it's below 30kB/s it's low. Click here, then click "start de geselecteerde tests"

This post has been edited by kaznie_NL: Feb 11 2008, 05:02 PM


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Feb 11 2008, 05:11 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



Here is one in english

http://www.speedtest.net

This post has been edited by OrganisedConfusion: Feb 11 2008, 05:11 PM


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 11 2008, 09:51 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Get a Spybot. It is free and it will clean your computer and entire LAN network if you are on one. And get an antivirus. There is one free - AVG, that is decent enough.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 03:53 PM