Soloing! Eek! (beginner), So my guitar teacher dropped the bomb on me!
Greven
Feb 26 2008, 06:55 PM
GMC:er
Hello Kristofer!

I'll get straight to the point. I have played my guitar for about 4 years on and off, and one year seriously, where I practically can't let it go. Exercising ten hours a day, is not something unheard of. I love it. SADLY! however, I have only practiced "one" branch of playing. I have played alot of riffing (metal! \o/) rhythm and such. I have a very fast right hand, but my left hand is not as accurate, although my teacher says so. Anywho, I am no expert, and I am looking for soloing lessons that can teach me to become a better solo guitarist. For that is a huge challenge. I -suck-.
It is not so much the fact I can't hit the notes, nor play at an okay speed, but I really lack improvisation skills and licks. So maybe you could point me towards some, of what you think, could benefit me greatly? I'm not going to ask you to cook up a special lesson just for me, although that would be extremely appreciated tongue.gif But yea... any advice from a great guitarist would be fantastic.

-Greven

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Paul Coutts
Feb 27 2008, 07:03 AM
okay...may be completely up the wrong alley....since you love metal riffing....BUT, if you want to be good at soloing,....LEARN the 12 bar blues, stick on a backing track and JAM as many licks, phrases, everything, invent your own....In my honest opinion, you can't learn soloing, it's something that's developed by doing, and SUCKING at it for awhile....anywhoo, get at it, and jam....biggrin.gif
Good luck!
Cheers
(I need to learn to take my own advice biggrin.gif)