Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Would This Work?, Tube preamp
SinoMan
post Mar 6 2008, 09:54 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 11-February 08
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 4.214



Heya.

Normally, guitarists do this:

CODE
guitar -> (effects) -> tube amp cranked for distortion -> mic -> sound card

Now that's a little bit expensive, a little bit too loud and you also need a good environment to record in. Why not do this:

CODE
guitar -> (effects) -> tube preamp -> direct box -> sound card


Would this work? It's MUCH cheaper and you won't ruin your ears/neighbors. Could ANYONE on Earth tell the difference between the two?

I'm just curious dry.gif

This post has been edited by SinoMan: Mar 6 2008, 09:55 PM


--------------------
I got a completely new $600 bass for $300. What a deal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Mar 6 2008, 10:10 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



Wouldn't you lose alot of the characterteristics from the amp that way?
And where would you tap the signal?
Not trying to be a wise guy, I've been thinking about this too in away.
Trying to figure out how to use headphones on tube amps without headphone sockets.


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SinoMan
post Mar 6 2008, 10:15 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 11-February 08
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 4.214



Isn't it the tube being pushed too hard that makes tube amps sound so good?


--------------------
I got a completely new $600 bass for $300. What a deal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Mar 6 2008, 10:44 PM
Post #4


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



for me i use like that : guitar --> preamp tube built in gain drive --> delay--> sound card
thats the better way for my. also you can see my video lessons to know my sound how is look like.
have a nice day ....


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SinoMan
post Mar 6 2008, 10:51 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 11-February 08
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 4.214



I don't know why so many people swear by tube amps. Most people don't live in a place where they can crank a 30W tube amp to 9.

This post has been edited by SinoMan: Mar 6 2008, 10:52 PM


--------------------
I got a completely new $600 bass for $300. What a deal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SinoMan
post Mar 6 2008, 10:55 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 11-February 08
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 4.214



QUOTE (Hisham @ Mar 6 2008, 10:44 PM) *
for me i use like that : guitar --> preamp tube built in gain drive --> delay--> sound card
thats the better way for my. also you can see my video lessons to know my sound how is look like.
have a nice day ....


Man your playing is sick...

You're tone's nice, but I prefer more sustain and punch. Maybe try doing a power metal lesson with that setup?


--------------------
I got a completely new $600 bass for $300. What a deal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Mar 6 2008, 10:57 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



Some preamps got direct mixer-outputs. I plug my preamp directly into the soundcard.

Guitar -> preamp (with fx-loop) -> soundcard


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g-forcelover
post Mar 6 2008, 11:00 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 630
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Wilmington
Member No.: 2.857



i have no idea about this stuff. my setup is this,

Guitar - Pedal - Amp.

usally its,

Guitar - Amp.

im very creative tongue.gif


--------------------


i tripped and broke my guitar's neck. :(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SinoMan
post Mar 6 2008, 11:01 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 11-February 08
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 4.214



Could anyone on Earth tell the difference between the two? A tube preamp + direct box vs a tube amp?

This post has been edited by SinoMan: Mar 6 2008, 11:01 PM


--------------------
I got a completely new $600 bass for $300. What a deal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 7 2008, 12:21 AM
Post #10


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (SinoMan @ Mar 6 2008, 10:15 PM) *
Isn't it the tube being pushed too hard that makes tube amps sound so good?

you can have both preamp distortion and poweramp distortion, both sound good - just different


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 7 2008, 12:32 AM
Post #11


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (SinoMan @ Mar 6 2008, 11:01 PM) *
Could anyone on Earth tell the difference between the two? A tube preamp + direct box vs a tube amp?

the DI box would simulate a speaker and level the signal. You can also box the sound from the poweramp huh.gif yep no kidding, you need another box for that, still a speaker simulator through to the soundcard - and when you take the signal from the poweramp the cabinet can't be bypassed so the box patches the signal two ways
-> speakers
-> soundcard/mixer/PA

What you must do is to level the signal before it enteres the sound card. That's the box. A preamp could have a line level signal out already, then you can use it directly from there - no box.

If you mike your amp - would be done in a silent box with one entrance for the mike only - you get the actual sound from the amp + cabinet (or amp + speaker). But also the miking technique you'd use and the mike itself counts.


The sound is formed in the preamp though a poweramp adds it's tube charateristics, but you'd hear if it's a Marshall or Fender or ENGL preamp to name a few with different charateristics.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 7 2008, 11:00 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



There is a big difference - there are no real speakers with only preamp setup wink.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Mar 7 2008, 11:15 PM
Post #13


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



QUOTE (SinoMan @ Mar 7 2008, 01:55 AM) *
Man your playing is sick...

You're tone's nice, but I prefer more sustain and punch. Maybe try doing a power metal lesson with that setup?


this setup only for solos but if you want a powermetall or rythem i prefare to line not a tube.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2017 - 09:10 AM