2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Windows Vista, Yep, Another problem with it
Mark.
post Mar 26 2008, 04:12 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 847
Joined: 8-January 08
Member No.: 3.764



removed

This post has been edited by Mark.: Dec 14 2009, 10:21 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DeepRoots
post Mar 26 2008, 04:18 PM
Post #2


Get to da Chopper!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.700
Joined: 18-March 07
From: South Wales, UK
Member No.: 1.374



as far as i am aware changing operating system shouldnt be a problem. make sure you backup up all of the files yo wish to keep prior to doing so and also right down a list of what software you will need to reinstall or any freeware you may have to download again after changing to xp.

i dont blame you for changing- xp is great tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Mar 26 2008, 04:23 PM
Post #3


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Well you can format your hard drive and delete vista and everything there is on it..Than you install xp without problems on a clean hard drive smile.gif
Be sure to backup all because you will have to reinstall programs etc.. wink.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Mar 26 2008, 04:34 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



just make sure you have proper drivers for XP, lots of "designed for Vista" laptops don't have drivers for XP.

and when you have the drivers you can format the disk and install XP

if your XP installation cannot find hard disk during installation, than you have to disable SATA mode in BIOS

that's it smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mark.
post Mar 26 2008, 04:35 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 847
Joined: 8-January 08
Member No.: 3.764



removed

This post has been edited by Mark.: Dec 14 2009, 10:21 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kevin98497
post Mar 26 2008, 06:47 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-August 06
From: UK
Member No.: 810



nothing works on vista, i still got it on, but im seling my computer and gettin a new when as soon as i save up enough and i am NOT putting vista on ever again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kaneda
post Mar 26 2008, 07:24 PM
Post #7


Other side of the coin
*

Group: Members
Posts: 266
Joined: 3-May 07
From: CPH, Denmark
Member No.: 1.754



You might want to get a free diagnostics program (Everest, for example) before you reinstall, and run it, then save its output, so you have a nice list of the hardware in the computer, in case you need to install drivers for it on XP (which isn't very friendly when it comes to naming system hardware, so sometimes it's a bothersome search in order to find it).

As for Vista... I really don't get what all the complaints are about... In my opinion, Vista was a big step forward. A much bigger, and more needed, step than 2000->XP (but then, I guess, most people who like XP like it because they went straight from Win98). XP added nothing new that was actually useful. But it did have the same migration problems as Vista apparently does now.

I've had no unsolvable problems on Vista - and I even have the 64 bit version huh.gif I'd never want to switch back (except I have to, every day, when I go to work tongue.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
erik
post Mar 26 2008, 10:58 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 6-November 06
From: Norway
Member No.: 913



QUOTE (Mark. @ Mar 26 2008, 04:35 PM) *
Thanks,

But these back ups, you mean for programms as guitar pro etc. Or system programmes? blink.gif


You don't have to back up system programs. But make shure that all of you system components are capable with XP (I doubt that any of them won't work with XP though). And you might have to go online and find drivers to them (such as the sound board ect. but they're usually easy to find, go to the manufacturers' web sites and click on "support" or downloads" or something.


btw your signature fill almost my entire screen.. It's a little annoying tongue.gif You think you could make a smaller one?..

This post has been edited by erik: Mar 26 2008, 11:00 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Mar 26 2008, 11:15 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



Be careful.. a friend of mine tried to lose vista and get XP on it, but some of the components like the NIC was almost completely impossible to get working in XP. The device ID database was no help for it either.

The GFX card drivers had to be chisseled in too, but we got that working.

This post has been edited by Trond Vold: Mar 26 2008, 11:15 PM


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Mar 27 2008, 12:02 AM
Post #10


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Mark. @ Mar 26 2008, 04:35 PM) *
Thanks,

But these back ups, you mean for programms as guitar pro etc. Or system programmes? blink.gif


Yeah programs you installed afterwards...Not system ones..Also every data such as music, tabs etc.. wink.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
USAMAN
post Mar 27 2008, 12:05 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 664
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Minnesota, USA. Earth
Member No.: 3.048



Im not sure but you could probably use both.....I was using 98 and xp on the same system at one time....ask an expert but it should be possible to dual boot.


--------------------
If we aren't supposed to eat animals, why are they made out of meat ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Mar 27 2008, 12:06 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



Dual boot is very possible yes.
But then XP would have had to be installed first. Vista will overwrite the bootsector (i think).


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pablo Vazquez
post Mar 27 2008, 12:28 AM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.873
Joined: 1-November 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 3.192



Hey men, there is a lot of people who have problems with Vista! But many of my friends think it´s great... I´m confused huh.gif


--------------------
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Mar 27 2008, 12:31 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



QUOTE (Pablo Vazquez @ Mar 27 2008, 12:28 AM) *
Hey men, there is a lot of people who have problems with Vista! But many of my friends think it´s great... I´m confused huh.gif


I think it depends on what your going to use it for.
I find vista to be completely useless, because the drivers thats available for my soundcars are still pretty crap. But if i want to play a newer game, i might boot into vista and play it.

This post has been edited by Trond Vold: Mar 27 2008, 12:32 AM


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pablo Vazquez
post Mar 27 2008, 12:40 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.873
Joined: 1-November 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 3.192



QUOTE (Trond Vold @ Mar 26 2008, 08:31 PM) *
I think it depends on what your going to use it for.
I find vista to be completely useless, because the drivers thats available for my soundcars are still pretty crap. But if i want to play a newer game, i might boot into vista and play it.


Ok!! I´m understanding!


--------------------
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pablo Vazquez
post Mar 27 2008, 12:40 AM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.873
Joined: 1-November 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 3.192



QUOTE (Pablo Vazquez @ Mar 26 2008, 08:40 PM) *
Ok!! I´m understanding!


laugh.gif wink.gif laugh.gif wink.gif


--------------------
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g-forcelover
post Mar 27 2008, 01:19 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 630
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Wilmington
Member No.: 2.857



god i hate vista. i got a podcast studio firewire recording package, it amazing. but it dosent work on vista so of cousre i have to return it, i would of loved to record, i had to drop out of pavel's last colab cause of vista. dry.gif dry.gif mad.gif


--------------------


i tripped and broke my guitar's neck. :(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mark.
post Mar 27 2008, 09:24 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 847
Joined: 8-January 08
Member No.: 3.764



removed

This post has been edited by Mark.: Dec 14 2009, 10:22 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JCJXXL
post Mar 27 2008, 12:22 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 22-January 07
From: AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL!
Member No.: 1.101



Vista is COMPLETE GARBAGE. It is NOT a step forward (as mentioned earlier).
It is a HUGE memory hog and has compatibility problems left and right.

We have done literally thousands of rollbacks from Vista to XP and the first thing everyone says is "Wow! My computer is fast! And it works!"

There is absolutely nothing new with Vista in regards to "what's under the hood". It's all visuals. No thanks. I'll pass on the visuals. I'd rather have a computer that works. If you like the widgets and visuals then download a Vista transformation pack for Windows XP. Eye candy is not enough of a reason ( for me at least) to stick with Vista.

As mentioned earlier you will want to know the hardware BEFORE wiping Vista. Someone mentioned Everest (good tool) or you could even just go to the device manager and make a list of the drivers you'll need (video, audio, ethernet, modem,etc).

The manafacturer of the computer may not have Windows XP drivers but that shouldn't stop you. You should be able to get the drivers based on component manufacturer, chipset maker.

If you decide to go forward with the change to Windows XP send me a PM with the make and model of your computer. I have literally hundreds of drivers saved from all of the Vista to XP conversions we've done.

GOOD LUCK!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
visi0n
post Mar 27 2008, 12:40 PM
Post #20


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 571
Joined: 12-September 07
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2.772



Hey Mark,

I readed the comments, but i also want to give an advice, it is possible to install Windows XP, but there can be problems with compatibility with some hardware on it, that may not work with Windows XP, for more information you can come to the place where i work maybe, its called www.informatique.nl i dont know where you live i saw The Netherlands in your profile smile.gif

Cheers.

Ekrem


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2017 - 01:13 AM