Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reaper Effect Question
CheeseBeard
post Apr 1 2008, 12:32 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 3-November 07
Member No.: 3.205




Hi all,

I've been messing around recently with Reaper and couldn't find the option to allow notes to fade in/fade out and was wondering if anyone knew how this could be done?

Thanks a lot
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Apr 1 2008, 08:23 AM
Post #2


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



QUOTE (CheeseBeard @ Apr 1 2008, 01:32 AM) *
Hi all,

I've been messing around recently with Reaper and couldn't find the option to allow notes to fade in/fade out and was wondering if anyone knew how this could be done?

Thanks a lot

I am shore it can be done..I v never worked with Reaper but many people here are....so some body will answer and you will have a solution..smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Apr 1 2008, 12:06 PM
Post #3


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



What exactly do you mean by fade in and fade out? Do you mean individual notes, or the whole thing? Are you talking about a slow attack effect maybe?


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 1 2008, 02:27 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



In Nuendo you can drag the upper corners of the events on the track to make a fade in fade out. Try that and see if it helps smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 1 2008, 03:15 PM
Post #5


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



As Andrew says this really depends on what you want to achieve. Do you want to fade in/out a note or a take/clip?

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CheeseBeard
post Apr 1 2008, 03:42 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 3-November 07
Member No.: 3.205



I was hoping to fade out clips i had recorded to make the sound more flowing. I find that i stop recording too early so the sound stops too abruptly in my recordings. Hope that made sense tongue.gif.

Thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 1 2008, 04:09 PM
Post #7


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



For media clip fades like that it's similar to Nuendo as Ivan says above if you set the preference as an auto fade in/out, plus you can change how the fade in/out is implemented in Preferences>Project>Defaults (you can set the shape, wherether or not there is a crossfade and the length of the fade).

You can also do this directly to the clip - select the right hand side of the clip. Now hover your mouse over the rhs border near the top of the clip. The mouse pointer will change to the fade curve, right click to change the shape, and/or click and hold the mouse button and drag to increase the length of the fade. If you want the fade to start earlier then hold the mouse over the border and the background and wait til it changes to a double arrowhead. Now click, hold and drag. The track length changes but the fade doesn't so it effectively starts sooner.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CheeseBeard
post Apr 1 2008, 04:23 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 3-November 07
Member No.: 3.205



Ah cool thanks a lot for the help biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 1 2008, 04:27 PM
Post #9


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Np CheeseBeard - hope it helps smile.gif .
Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 1 2008, 09:38 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Also another thing - when you have your audio events cut off so you hear crackling, you must fade them or draw them to the point where sine wave is touching the horizontal line on the event.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 07:06 AM