Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Compressor In Chain, Good?
Antipolitik
post Apr 4 2008, 06:06 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 6-March 08
From: Gävle
Member No.: 4.471



Hi,

I record my guitar with a Digitech DF-7 with a cheap tube preamp before going to Cubase.
It sounds good but often the volume levels from chunk to for example single notes are really different.

Should I put a compressor in the chain to give the DF-7 a more even volume before recording?
Of course I can do this in Cubase with a compressor but maybe it's better to do it before recording the signal?

Guitar -> preamp -> compressor -> DF-7 -> Cubase
Guitar -> compressor -> preamp -> DF-7 -> Cubase
Guitar -> preamp -> DF-7 -> compressor -> Cubase

? smile.gif Appreciate any tips on this subject. Cheers!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Apr 4 2008, 06:11 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



Depends on how good the compressor is.
If you got a good software compressor it might be just as good to record the track as effectless as you can.

But but the compressor should be first in your chain otherwise in my opinion


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Apr 4 2008, 06:14 PM
Post #3


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Good question - my view would be no, do it in Cubase unless you have a really expensive compressor you like the sound of.

The reasoning is simple - once you have recorded with compression (or any effect for that matter) you can't take it off later so I always record as dry as possible, even guitar and put effects in afterwards.

A better way to approach this might be to have separate tracks for the chunking and single notes so you can treat them differently and apply different levels in the mix. If you can't do that because its part of the riff, don;t forget that overdrive and fuzz already have a compressive effect anyway, if you turn it up a little it will even the notes out for you.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Apr 4 2008, 10:53 PM
Post #4


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Well you can experiment...Try recording with compressor and with a software one (in cubase)..Record the same thing and see which sounds better (maybe you know how to setup your external compressor better or something) ..


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antipolitik
post Apr 5 2008, 07:39 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 6-March 08
From: Gävle
Member No.: 4.471



Thanks guys.

I'll probably check out compressors when I buy a good amp. I am ampless sad.gif

Later


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PanicProne
post Apr 6 2008, 12:12 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 30-January 08
Member No.: 4.060



Does anyone own the BOSS CS-1 compression sustainer?
What's it like?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rock
post Apr 9 2008, 04:25 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 3-March 07
From: Londonderry, New Hampshire USA
Member No.: 1.285



QUOTE (PanicProne @ Apr 6 2008, 06:12 AM) *
Does anyone own the BOSS CS-1 compression sustainer?
What's it like?


I have one. It's very good, but I found it had a bit too much background noise as you turn it up so I found a mod online through Indy guitarist and did it myself. Now it is much better. I believe you can buy them already modified as well through a few reputable companies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PanicProne
post Apr 9 2008, 09:49 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 30-January 08
Member No.: 4.060



QUOTE (Rock @ Apr 9 2008, 05:25 AM) *
I have one. It's very good, but I found it had a bit too much background noise as you turn it up so I found a mod online through Indy guitarist and did it myself. Now it is much better. I believe you can buy them already modified as well through a few reputable companies.

what do you mean by too much noise? noise as in humming while switched on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 9 2008, 10:27 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Well the compressor amplifies the noise in the background of the signal. I think he means teh compression adds up the noise that is not normally heard because it is uncompressed.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PanicProne
post Apr 10 2008, 06:46 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 30-January 08
Member No.: 4.060



oh, now I see. Thanks rock, for the answer. And thanks Ivan for the clarificaiton of it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 10 2008, 07:24 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



No problem man, we're here to help smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 06:11 PM