Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Preamp ...
fire
post Apr 8 2008, 01:23 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 196
Joined: 1-August 07
From: Germany¿
Member No.: 2.453



hey guys

Just wondered wether it would be possible to run a preamp (behriner;pod;korg, what ever... smile.gif )
directly with a 4x 12" cabinet?

guitar ==> pre-amp ==> cabinet

because it's possible to get the pod running directly to the PA as i heard; do I need a
top ??

Because standard would be guitar ==> preamp ==> top ==> cabinet

Can you tell me if the combination works also without a top module;)??

cheers guys


--------------------
If you think you understood what I said, you neglect that the things you hear, are different from the thing I thought of. - Got it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Apr 8 2008, 01:31 PM
Post #2


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



No, you need a power amp or you will get virtually no sound at all.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 8 2008, 02:03 PM
Post #3


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (fire @ Apr 8 2008, 02:23 PM) *
Because standard would be guitar ==> preamp ==> top ==> cabinet

I'd say "poweramp" instead of top. Rather important since "power amp" describes what it actually is, signal amplification. A "top" could be a baseball cap, and probaly produce the same sound into a 4x12 as a preamp tongue.gif

==> preamp ==> poweramp ==> cabinet

where the poweramp could be a amphead/combo with the right ins and outs/rack amp/ for example.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fire
post Apr 8 2008, 03:53 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 196
Joined: 1-August 07
From: Germany¿
Member No.: 2.453



ok thanks guys;)


--------------------
If you think you understood what I said, you neglect that the things you hear, are different from the thing I thought of. - Got it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 11:30 AM