Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pocket Pod, can it record via USB?
MickeM
post Apr 16 2008, 08:12 AM
Post #1


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I see that the Pocket POD has a USB connection. However when reading the brief description of it it says the USB is for loading data into the POD. So I assume USB recording is not possible.

Can someone shred some light on this?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Apr 16 2008, 11:58 AM
Post #2


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



Hey Micke,

I was having a browse through the line 6 website to see if there was an answer to your question (something I wondered myself actually smile.gif)
I found this in a FAQ section

Q: Does Pocket POD pass audio over the USB cable?
A: Pocket POD is a class compliant USB MIDI device, but does not pass audio over USB. Pocket POD does come with a USB to USB Mini cable connection jack that will allow you to interface with Vyzex (Line 6's deep editing software), but it will not allow you to record over USB.

So the answers no mate sad.gif bit of a shame as I was thinking about one of these to leave permanently set up on the desk at home.

This post has been edited by Smells: Apr 16 2008, 11:59 AM


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 16 2008, 12:30 PM
Post #3


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Thanks a bunch for looking it up! Too bad about the USB not taking audio.. I guess that would have been just a tad too good to be true.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Apr 16 2008, 12:33 PM
Post #4


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Yep, although you can obviously still record with it if you have an audio interface ...


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Apr 16 2008, 12:52 PM
Post #5


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Apr 16 2008, 12:33 PM) *
Yep, although you can obviously still record with it if you have an audio interface ...


yes I`m still considering it as an option smile.gif


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Apr 16 2008, 12:58 PM
Post #6


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



Thanks for clearing that up smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 16 2008, 01:23 PM
Post #7


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Apr 16 2008, 01:33 PM) *
Yep, although you can obviously still record with it if you have an audio interface ...

Yes, but I'm browsing for a friend who want a cost effective.. ok cheap.. way of recording.

Perhaps someone has a suggestion?
his priorities are;
- not quality first, but to record his ideas.
- has to have descent distortion
- if it's stand alone without a computer it's a plus (meaning stuff like Toneport is more or less ruled out)

We've been looking for means to connect the V-amp2 through a Lexicon Alpha sound interface but still that end up on about twice the budget.

In the long run perhaps a POD X3 would be the most cost effective, I bet it will last at least 10 years in forms of useability and modeling/effects quality.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 16 2008, 04:50 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Korg Pandora is my best suggestion

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Apr 16 2008, 04:51 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 11:12 AM