2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Guitar Rig 3 And Other Amp Modeling Software, Is it worth it? Which one is the best?
Neth
post Apr 23 2008, 04:16 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-July 07
From: Israel
Member No.: 2.330



Recently I've been reading up and looking at the Amp Modeling softwares such as guitar rig 3 and others.
I've been thinking of getting guitar rig 3 with the pedal since it seems really amazing, and supposed to save a lot of money on buying lots of effects and such.

I was wondering if anyone tried out the program or similar amp modeling softwares and can recommend for it or even just generally share his experience with it.

Cheers mates! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Neth: Apr 23 2008, 04:19 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jad Diab
post Apr 23 2008, 04:24 PM
Post #2


Instructor (former GMCer Zizi Top)
*

Group: Members
Posts: 792
Joined: 29-December 07
From: Paris France
Member No.: 3.642



i was confused between buying a pod x3 or guitar rig 3 but every body told me like podx3 is way better ...cz you can plug it directly to your pc..


--------------------
I endorse Sp custom pickups

Check out some of my work :
Youtube
GMC lessons
Myspace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Apr 23 2008, 04:25 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



I like GR3. We used it to record all the guitars on our EP that you can hear here if you so wish http://www.myspace.com/voiceofthesouluk

It can get pretty good sounds a lot of the time and makes recording in a home studio a lot easier but will never compete with recording a mic'ed up amp properly.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neth
post Apr 23 2008, 04:35 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 16-July 07
From: Israel
Member No.: 2.330



Well I'm not really bothered with recording rather playing with it live.

As in with my band, getting a lap top, in rehearsal or when performing, plugging the guitar to the laptop and to the amp they provide us at the place we perform at or rehearse at, then controlling all the presets I have with the pedal. And the sound obviously will come out of the amp.

Is it doable and wont cause me too much trouble?

This post has been edited by Neth: Apr 23 2008, 04:36 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Apr 23 2008, 04:37 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (Neth @ Apr 23 2008, 04:35 PM) *
Well I'm not really bothered with recording rather playing with it live.

As in with my band, getting a lap top, in rehearsal or when performing, plugging the guitar to the laptop and to the amp they provide us at the place we perform at or rehearse at, then controlling all the presets I have with the pedal. And the sound obviously will come out of the amp.

Is it doable and wont cause me too much trouble?

If it is for live then get a POD X3 Live.

Then you don't need a laptop biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by OrganisedConfusion: Apr 23 2008, 04:38 PM


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Apr 23 2008, 05:42 PM
Post #6


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (OrganisedConfusion @ Apr 23 2008, 05:37 PM) *
If it is for live then get a POD X3 Live.

Then you don't need a laptop biggrin.gif


Good point wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
avodiez
post Apr 23 2008, 08:38 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 2-March 08
From: Madrid, Barcelona, Spain
Member No.: 4.433



Hi all,

Nothing further from my intention than using this for advertising me nor my group rolleyes.gif but I think that it could be a god example of how two of the most recognized amp modeling software sound like.

For recording:

IK Multimedia Amplitube 2 (http://www.amplitube.com)

In this song Attached File  learning_point.mp3 ( 5.1MB ) Number of downloads: 175
, every guitar (even the bass) is processed through Amplitube 2 (mesa rectifier simulation) and has been recorded directly plugging the instrument in to a laptop line-in (integrated realtek soundcard)

Native Instruments Guitarrig 2 (http://www.native-instruments.com/index.php?id=guitarrig3, currently it is version 3.1)

In this one Attached File  track_number_3.mp3 ( 4.91MB ) Number of downloads: 189
, GuitarRig 3 is used (several emulations, for both guitars and bass) but, in this case, the laptop's headphones output was directed to the line-in of a berhinger v-ampire head connected to a berhinger 4x12 cabinet and recorded with cheap mics.

For live playing and gigs:

Until getting my current rig, I tried several ways to get a decent sound without expending too much money and once also tried to get it out of a laptop with one these simulators. Everything was fine in-house, at low volume levels but, as soon as I tried to use it live, at medium-high volumes, the noise (zums, lot of hiss, the laptop frequencies all around, etc.) I gave it up.

Even the settings used for the second song could be used for live performances; we had to manage with a lot of noises during the recording process that wouldn't make us able to use it for a gig.

Hope this helped,

Alvaro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Apr 23 2008, 08:44 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



The best amp modeling software at the moment IMO: Revalver. You gotta check it out, Revalver III should be out soon smile.gif


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 24 2008, 12:51 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I like REvalver too, but didn't quite manged to figured out all the options it has unsure.gif

Guitar RIg is great, but imo Amplitube2 is better in terms of sound quality then GR2. Haven't tried GR3 tho..


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
somecrazyguy09
post Apr 24 2008, 04:20 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Dallas, texas U.S.A
Member No.: 3.910



yeah i too have been asking myself this same question. right now i have a toneport gx but i'm not really liking the tones gearbox has to offer so i've been looking at GR3 since i've heard it being used by Gustavo Guerra on youtube and love his tone. but i've never experimented with a pod before so does it just offer the same tone qualities at gearbox or is it supposed to be way better?, in which case i would have to go try it out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mba64
post Feb 6 2009, 07:42 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 6-November 08
From: Sweden
Member No.: 6.199



I have downloaded Peavey MK III demo for a 2 week`s ago,and at first I got the impression that it was so fizzy and that I stick with my Amplitube and guitar Rig,but
after that i have visited GuitarAmpModelling site and got some great info about how to set up the sound so it fit my gear.................I was blown away this is the thing that I have been searching it is very good sounding and tweakable.
I can get every sound I want with this one.If you learn how to tweak it so it fit`s your gear.
mellow.gif



--------------------
LTD WA-600 (EMG JH)
Cort Bass
M-Audio AV40
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Feb 6 2009, 11:34 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Almost all my lessons are recorded with Amplitube 2. Really great tool for home recording.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Zion-
post Feb 6 2009, 11:55 AM
Post #13


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 20-May 08
From: copenhagen
Member No.: 5.141



interesting programs..

can either of these programs be used without additional hardware, and just plug the guitar directly into my soundcard?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 6 2009, 12:34 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Yes mate, this is how it's suppose the work. But you need a fast card so that you don't have any latency and you can play in real time.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Zion-
post Feb 6 2009, 12:38 PM
Post #15


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 20-May 08
From: copenhagen
Member No.: 5.141



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Feb 6 2009, 12:34 PM) *
Yes mate, this is how it's suppose the work. But you need a fast card so that you don't have any latency and you can play in real time.

thank you.. i guess i have to try out the demo this weekend.. smile.gif

i have a creative X-FI, but have no idea how fast it is..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 6 2009, 03:49 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



That is a high end gamer card, and I think it should work good, I'm not sure. Let us know how it works for you, that info might be useful! Thanks! smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Feb 6 2009, 04:45 PM
Post #17


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



I may be wrong but I think the software version of NI GR3 uses Asio2 for its default audio drivers. If that is the case then the Creative needs to be able to support Asio2. I had a look on Creative's web site but there wasn't any info about this that I could find - I'm pretty sure the Creative will support Asio just not 100% positive.

Cheers,
Tony

One other thing to think about Zion - if you just use the software version how are you going to interface your guitar and the Creative X-Fi? I doubt that the creative will cope with the impedance of an electric guitar ie it probably doesn't have HiZ input.

This post has been edited by tonymiro: Feb 6 2009, 04:51 PM


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Zion-
post Feb 6 2009, 07:21 PM
Post #18


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 20-May 08
From: copenhagen
Member No.: 5.141



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Feb 6 2009, 04:45 PM) *
I may be wrong but I think the software version of NI GR3 uses Asio2 for its default audio drivers. If that is the case then the Creative needs to be able to support Asio2. I had a look on Creative's web site but there wasn't any info about this that I could find - I'm pretty sure the Creative will support Asio just not 100% positive.

Cheers,
Tony

One other thing to think about Zion - if you just use the software version how are you going to interface your guitar and the Creative X-Fi? I doubt that the creative will cope with the impedance of an electric guitar ie it probably doesn't have HiZ input.

well.. i guess i just have to find out the hard way.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by -Zion-: Feb 6 2009, 07:21 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Feb 6 2009, 07:50 PM
Post #19


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Least it will be with a demo version mate - so no cost if it doesn't work smile.gif. Hopefully it will work as NI stuff is very good quality in my experience. Best of luck with it Zion.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Siepen
post Feb 6 2009, 08:08 PM
Post #20


Instructor (Blind Guardian)
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.433
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 4.464



All of my lessons were recorded with Guitar Rig 3, the abolut perfect solution for home recording in my opinion. If you want to try it yourself, make sure to get Guitar Rig 3, it sounds much better and is easier to handle compared to Guitar Rig 2.


--------------------
Guitars: various Gibson Les Pauls / Gibson J 45
Amps: Mesa Boogie Tripple Rectifier / Triaxis / 2:90 Poweramp / Rectocabs
Effects: Rocktron Intellifex / Rocktron Xpression
Homepage: www.marcussiepen.com www.blind-guardian.com
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2017 - 04:26 PM