Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Instructor Tutorial Request
Outlaw2112
post May 6 2008, 04:01 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



I have a pod x3 and cant figure out how to record with it.. Is there anyway someone could put a lesson on recording up.. Maybe recording with Audacity, since its free.. I think it will benefit not only me but many people who have no idea how to use this computer stuff... Its hard enough learning to play the guitar, now i gotta be some computer genus..

Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RIP Dime
post May 6 2008, 04:03 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.063
Joined: 2-October 06
From: Hawaii
Member No.: 862



A recording lesson would be really cool.


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post May 6 2008, 04:17 AM
Post #3


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Wish I could help man, I record through the Toneport and I know the X3 is a different animal. As long as you are getting tones from the X3 you should be able to record. You mentioned (audacity),sorry I record through reaper which is free as well, at least the trial version and its quite user friendly. Try it out and see what you think.

http://www.cockos.com/reaper/download.php

Theres alot of info from tonymiro here

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...?showtopic=7396

I think you would really enjoy this recording software. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlaw2112
post May 6 2008, 04:24 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



QUOTE (skennington @ May 6 2008, 04:17 AM) *
Wish I could help man, I record through the Toneport and I know the X3 is a different animal. As long as you are getting tones from the X3 you should be able to record. You mentioned (audacity),sorry I record through reaper which is free as well, at least the trial version and its quite user friendly. Try it out and see what you think.

http://www.cockos.com/reaper/download.php

Theres alot of info from tonymiro here

https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...?showtopic=7396

I think you would really enjoy this recording software. smile.gif


If reaper is free ill try it... i just want to record some of my stuff... I wasted tonight looking for new tones and trying to figure out how to record...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post May 6 2008, 01:42 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



mmm it will be a great idea smile.gif ... I write some recording lesson but of course a Video Lesson would be too much better smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlaw2112
post May 6 2008, 01:44 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



QUOTE (Juan M. Valero @ May 6 2008, 01:42 PM) *
mmm it will be a great idea smile.gif ... I write some recording lesson but of course a Video Lesson would be too much better smile.gif


Video lessons would be awesome...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post May 6 2008, 06:24 PM
Post #7


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



its a nice idea but i don;t use pod x3 sad.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gus
post May 6 2008, 07:02 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 999
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Brazil/Denmark
Member No.: 3.920



Hey man.

In any software you use you will have to go for the options for input and output device and choose the POD X3 ASIO drivers.

That means, that the POD will be actually your sound device. By changing audio device I made recordings even with Windows Sound Recorder tongue.gif


--------------------
my "Thank you GMC!" video

If you like it please vote in the competition ;-)

Gus Stairway to Guitar Heaven - my practice agenda

Check out my lesson here Phrygian Dominant Solo lesson


Gear : Ibanez RGT320q (I just love the neck-thru sustain), Washburn EA-20SDL (acoustic 6 string), Standard strat (Mexico), POD X3 Live

Some of my Guitar heroes: Jimmy Page, Slash, Kirk Hammett, Augusto Licks, Joe Satriani, Gus G, David Gilmour, Mark Knopfler...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 6 2008, 10:52 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You can use Reaper DAW for recording, mixing, producing etc.. by using your POD as a soundcard with ASIO drivers.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RandomVictim
post May 7 2008, 02:16 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 24-January 08
Member No.: 3.972



I have an X3 and record some stuff through Audacity....maybe i can help

-I plugged my pod into my computer with the usb cord it came with
-Opened Audacity
-Click Edit tab - went to Preferences at the bottom
-The first tab should be Audio I/O
- Youll see a scroll thing saying Recording. Change that to your PodX3
- You should be able to record straight through Your Pod and Audacity

should work man, let me know!


--------------------

Gear

Guitars
Eric Johnson Sig Strat
Gibson SG Special
Esp Ltd EC-1000 deluxe
Larivee Acoustic
Takamine 12 String

Amps
Mesa Boogie Express 5:50
Line 6 Spider III HD75 head
Line 6 Spider III Cab with C30 speakers
Vox AD30
Marshall MG10

Pedals
Line 6 Pod X3
Slash Sig Wah
Dan Electro Cool Cat Chorus
Dan Electro FAB Echo
BB PREAMP!
Boss MT-2
FBV Express
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlaw2112
post May 7 2008, 04:01 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



QUOTE (RandomVictim @ May 7 2008, 02:16 AM) *
I have an X3 and record some stuff through Audacity....maybe i can help

-I plugged my pod into my computer with the usb cord it came with
-Opened Audacity
-Click Edit tab - went to Preferences at the bottom
-The first tab should be Audio I/O
- Youll see a scroll thing saying Recording. Change that to your PodX3
- You should be able to record straight through Your Pod and Audacity

should work man, let me know!


Thanks alot man, ill try this tomorrow and see if i can get it to work... Ill let you know if it does...



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlaw2112
post May 7 2008, 04:37 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



It worked thanks alot...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 05:16 AM