Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zoom Gfx 8, How Do I Record With I?
flamen
post Jun 4 2008, 05:01 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 4-May 08
From: North Ireland
Member No.: 5.042



Hi all, im kinda new here laugh.gif Before i start asking my newbie question, just wanna say how much this site is helping my playing... ok now that the sucking up is finished. let me begin tongue.gif

I have a ZOOM GFX8 multieffects unit, its great. i don't play through an amp, i play directly through this with headphones, or have it connected to my big set of speakers. sounds great either way.

My question is, how do i record with it. My preferance would be to be able to record it through my computer. Do i have to buy a MIDI soundcard.. like... http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Audi...e2496-main.html

Once i have that, i heard that MIDI does not record any sound, it just sends date. so how exactly do i record its sound?

I stress, i really want to be able to record my ZOOM's sound, not add effects to it with editing software. THanks for your time. Im a big newb and know very little when it comes to recoridng, which im sure is obvious due to this post tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 4 2008, 08:23 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You must connect the Zoom onto the sound card and record in a DAW software. THe more quality sound card you have the latency will be smaller and you will be able to record better. So the minimum buy woudl be something like EMU0404 or equivalent.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flamen
post Jun 4 2008, 10:30 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 4-May 08
From: North Ireland
Member No.: 5.042



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 4 2008, 08:23 PM) *
You must connect the Zoom onto the sound card and record in a DAW software. THe more quality sound card you have the latency will be smaller and you will be able to record better. So the minimum buy woudl be something like EMU0404 or equivalent.


Ok thank you. but the only thing i can see my GFX connecting to on that card is the MIDI In OUT.. my GFX8 has a midi in and out slot. is that the only way i have to connect it? via midi in/out>?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jun 4 2008, 10:52 PM
Post #4


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



QUOTE (flamen @ Jun 5 2008, 12:30 AM) *
Ok thank you. but the only thing i can see my GFX connecting to on that card is the MIDI In OUT.. my GFX8 has a midi in and out slot. is that the only way i have to connect it? via midi in/out>?


you can use the midi just to transfare data effects to another midi instrument like keyboard or PC if your sound
card has a midi in/out . but if you want to record a wave go in this way
line out from the zoom effect to the line in PC sound card .then mark the line in onto the volume control (speaker icon) right below .then open your software and set the track to be ready for recording .then click record and start playing .after that you can add some equalizing to your track or you can record a second & third if you are doing a song.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flamen
post Jun 4 2008, 11:24 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 4-May 08
From: North Ireland
Member No.: 5.042



QUOTE (Hisham Al-Sanea @ Jun 4 2008, 10:52 PM) *
you can use the midi just to transfare data effects to another midi instrument like keyboard or PC if your sound
card has a midi in/out . but if you want to record a wave go in this way
line out from the zoom effect to the line in PC sound card .then mark the line in onto the volume control (speaker icon) right below .then open your software and set the track to be ready for recording .then click record and start playing .after that you can add some equalizing to your track or you can record a second & third if you are doing a song.


YEah, i thought it had something to do with that, but heres the problem. im not sure my GFX 8 has a line out socket. Im probably wrong, but this is all i see from the back of my gfx... is line out the headphone jack? or?

sorry for being so vague.

This post has been edited by flamen: Jun 4 2008, 11:27 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th January 2017 - 10:36 PM