Setting Up Midi In Reaper
The Uncreator
Jun 8 2008, 06:13 PM
Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Posts: 8.933
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Ok, So I recently bought a MIDI controller, I've installed all the drives and programs for it, and It plays great. But when I go to record in reaper, I can't get anything from it. Its hooked up via USB. If I click on the track icon 'send, receives, and hardware output options', I get to the MIDI hardware output, and i have 3 options: Edirol PC-80 Synth, Edirol PC-80 Player, Edirol PC-80 MIDI Out. And I also set the recording mode to > MIDI Input > Edirol PC-80 Keyboard > All Channels.

So I record something, and it goes through, when im done it shows that I've recorded something in reaper, That i have "recorded media". And when I hit play in Reaper, it comes out through the speakers on the MIDI controller (Just like when i record something with guitar, it comes out through my amp). But when I render it to MP3, I get nothing, no sound at all.
Here are pictures of whats goin on, Im kinda guessing its something obvious I'm not seeing.

_____________________________________________________________________________



Shows here that I have recorded media






You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Jun 8 2008, 06:34 PM
Moderation Policy Director
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Sadly Brett, you can't do what you are trying to do ...

When you render in Reaper, it needs to generate everything itself or it can't include it in the output wav or mp3 file - the midi synth on the soundcard is inaccesible to Reaper so it ignores it. The solution is to use a Soft Synth, a VSTi and hook it up to the midi you created, then it should work fine. There are a number of free ones out there so you should be able to find something you like!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Uncreator
Jun 8 2008, 07:44 PM
Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Posts: 8.933
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Thanks once again Andrew, One more question.

If I hook up the MIDI controller to the POD X3, Will I still need the Soft Synth Vsti?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
Jun 8 2008, 07:50 PM
Moderation Policy Director
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
USB vs MIDI makes no difference here ... you can hook the keyboard up so that it plays back the midi you recorded but you have the same problem as you did before, its not inside Reaper so can;t be mixed in.

Heres an idea though:

1. Set Reaper to play the midi back through your keyboard
2. Hook the outputs of your keyboard to the inputs of your sound card
3. Record the output through the song - this gets you a wav file that should be identical to what you originally played on the keyboard
4. Now you have a wav inside Reaper you can mix it in with the rest

Thats a little tediuous and not as easy as using a VST but should work ok!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jun 9 2008, 04:13 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
I agree with Andrew, and also recommend the easier option. Just google for some free soft synths or pads, download them, install and add them to the MIDI track that you've recorded as output.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th July 2020 - 12:16 AM