2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Have A Pod 2.0...should I Get An Amp As Well?
Praetorian
post Jun 12 2008, 11:03 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



I love my Pod, but have seen some limitations to it. The biggest, is that it is hard to play and listen to GMC lessons at the same time. Constant taking headphones on and off is a pain. Second, I can't play for anyone else! If they have the headphones, I can't hear what it sounds like. Anyway, I was wondering if I could just hook the Pod up to stereo speakers and use the Pod for amp modeling? Would this sound as good as a real amp? Or do you recommend a home amp also?


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jun 13 2008, 11:27 AM
Post #2


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Definitely use the Stereo speakers - the pod does the modelling so using a regular guitar amp as well is overkill. I play my Pod through my monitor speakers exclusively!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
post Jun 13 2008, 11:37 AM
Post #3


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 3.185
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 2.164



Buy some speakers for your pod or buy a real amp with your favourite sound if you wan't to rehearse or play live. From what I've seen during the last gigs that I did: Pod's are still inferior to real amps when it comes to playing live (even pod 3.0 lives).


--------------------


Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DeepRoots
post Jun 13 2008, 11:44 AM
Post #4


Get to da Chopper!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.700
Joined: 18-March 07
From: South Wales, UK
Member No.: 1.374



A thought about listening to lessons and practising at the same time- for my Pandora i can select that as my Audio device for my computer- that way through my headphones i hear everything im doing on my computer (backing tracks, lessons, music) and my guitar playing at once. So if you're hooking up your POD to the computer via a USB interface etc (does it have one built in?? not sure) then you could do this too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jun 13 2008, 11:53 AM
Post #5


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I don' tknow about the POD's detail but if you have an aux in you could connect the comp into the pod and get everything in the headphones.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jun 13 2008, 12:11 PM
Post #6


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jun 13 2008, 06:53 AM) *
I don' tknow about the POD's detail but if you have an aux in you could connect the comp into the pod and get everything in the headphones.


Actually, no need to do that as DR said - if the pod is hooked up to the PC by USB it can also double as your soundcard so all sound comes out of the pod. If you then hook it up to speakers, or continue to use headphones, you are good to go. This makes a great recording and practice setup.

For rehearsals and Live you need to go down a different route as Zakk said, and either get a real guitar amp with a sound you like, or if you are happy with the pood sound you would ideally need a PA or keyboard amp to put the pod thorugh.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 13 2008, 11:02 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I* would say playing POD through guitar amp would maybe not even get such nice results as if you went trough some nice quality stereo speakers, hi fi or studio monitors like Andrew uses it. This is because guitar amp speaker cuts off some of the sound that POD produces during the modelling, so the best thing is too put it on a full length spectrum speaker.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Jun 13 2008, 11:03 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Praetorian
post Jun 14 2008, 01:49 AM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



Great! Once again guys...outstanding info!!


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 14 2008, 05:02 PM
Post #9


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Yeah speakers is a right way to go! You will be more than satisfied...


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 15 2008, 01:07 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Praetorian @ Jun 13 2008, 12:03 AM) *
I love my Pod, but have seen some limitations to it. The biggest, is that it is hard to play and listen to GMC lessons at the same time. Constant taking headphones on and off is a pain. Second, I can't play for anyone else! If they have the headphones, I can't hear what it sounds like. Anyway, I was wondering if I could just hook the Pod up to stereo speakers and use the Pod for amp modeling? Would this sound as good as a real amp? Or do you recommend a home amp also?


well I got great news for you.

guitar -> pod -> pc line in + lineout -> headphones (connected in pc)

personally I have a marshall TSL 60, I use the emulated output on it and insert it to my soundcard (EMU tracker pro, cheap and nice card that has direct input monitoring (which causes ZERO delay in signal)). Then I can easily manage guitarplaying and jamtracks from the same source!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Jun 15 2008, 04:50 PM
Post #11


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



I play my POD through my PC's Speakers, there really awsome its a good way to go smile.gif


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joruus
post Jun 15 2008, 04:50 PM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 22-May 08
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 5.158



I got my PODxt this week smile.gif
When i connect it to my pc using usb it automaticly acts as my pc's soundcard
so the headphones in my pod play all sound from my pc.
I think you could setup the POD 2 the same way.

In my pc's sound settings i can change it so that i hear only the guitar from my pod's headphones and the pc sounds from the pc's speakers (the way your POD 2 seems to be standart)




Only thing i can't find out though is how to play the sound of my guitar to the pc's speakers too, or is this impossible and should i connect speakers directly to my POD somehow?


--------------------
Gear:
Guitars: Ibanez Jem 7vwh, Ibanez RG 350 DX, Gibson Les Paul Studio
Effects: Line 6 PODxt + FBV MKII Express pedal
Amp: Line6 SpiderIII 15
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 15 2008, 07:38 PM
Post #13


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Joruus @ Jun 15 2008, 05:50 PM) *
I got my PODxt this week smile.gif
When i connect it to my pc using usb it automaticly acts as my pc's soundcard
so the headphones in my pod play all sound from my pc.
I think you could setup the POD 2 the same way.

In my pc's sound settings i can change it so that i hear only the guitar from my pod's headphones and the pc sounds from the pc's speakers (the way your POD 2 seems to be standart)




Only thing i can't find out though is how to play the sound of my guitar to the pc's speakers too, or is this impossible and should i connect speakers directly to my POD somehow?


Well in order to play it through PC speakers you need to connect them to POD directly...Main purpose of using external sound cards is to avoid the one in PC which is not very good (in which current speakers are plugged in)...Just plug in directly and your good to go smile.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 15 2008, 07:48 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



On the POD you must have two outs, one for speakers and one for headphones. If you have only one out, then go to computer speakers and plug in the headphones via PC speakers. Often there is a phones in on PC speakers sets.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joruus
post Jun 15 2008, 07:56 PM
Post #15


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 22-May 08
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 5.158



Thanks i'm gonne try that smile.gif
I have a 2nd set of speakers that im not using, good thing i didn't throw them away happy.gif

This post has been edited by Joruus: Jun 15 2008, 07:56 PM


--------------------
Gear:
Guitars: Ibanez Jem 7vwh, Ibanez RG 350 DX, Gibson Les Paul Studio
Effects: Line 6 PODxt + FBV MKII Express pedal
Amp: Line6 SpiderIII 15
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Jun 15 2008, 08:05 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



Wait so If I have a Pocket Pod I shouldnt be playing it through my amp ?

This post has been edited by Eat-Sleep-andJam: Jun 15 2008, 08:06 PM


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post Jun 16 2008, 11:28 AM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



I don't like how POD sounds with an amp... unsure.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattacuk
post Jun 16 2008, 11:32 AM
Post #18


Lets go fishing!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.526
Joined: 21-December 06
From: illinois
Member No.: 1.001



QUOTE (Eat-Sleep-andJam @ Jun 15 2008, 08:05 PM) *
Wait so If I have a Pocket Pod I shouldnt be playing it through my amp ?


Well you can.... but the idea is to play it through Monitors/Speakers or headphones. That way you get an un-coloured sound!
Through Speakers my X3 sounds awsome, through an amp... kinda carpy to be honest laugh.gif laugh.gif


--------------------
mysql> SELECT * FROM master_name WHERE ((firstname = 'Paul') AND (lastname = 'Gilbert'));


"The Fundimental Difference between Paul Gilbert and Buckethead is that Paul Explores the Good side of the force, while Buckethead Explores the Dark Side of the Force" :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Jun 16 2008, 11:54 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



QUOTE (mattacuk @ Jun 16 2008, 02:32 AM) *
Well you can.... but the idea is to play it through Monitors/Speakers or headphones. That way you get an un-coloured sound!
Through Speakers my X3 sounds awsome, through an amp... kinda carpy to be honest laugh.gif laugh.gif



So that could explain why If I run it through my amp, I have limits to how much volume I can have on certain Distortion Models on the Pocket Pod, sometimes I get a loud screeching sound through my amp.


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Praetorian
post Jun 16 2008, 01:46 PM
Post #20


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



What is the difference between monitors and speakers?


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2017 - 09:01 AM