Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Changing String Guage
VIRUS
post Apr 29 2006, 07:35 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 6-November 05
Member No.: 98



I want to change the strings on my B.C. Rich Warlock from 9's to 10's But will any work or any kind of setting-up have to take place to do it? (The strings go thru the body, so would it put more tension on the neck and warp it or something? Or will nothing happen at all? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David
post Apr 29 2006, 09:21 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 57



Well it's only a small change, so probably the only thing you have to adjust is the intonation. Maybe you have to adjust the trussrod a little bit as well if you think the action is getting too high.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tank
post Apr 29 2006, 01:46 PM
Post #3


GMC Veteran
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 667
Joined: 20-August 05
From: Shropshire UK
Member No.: 5



QUOTE (VIRUS)
I want to change the strings on my B.C. Rich Warlock from 9's to 10's But will any work or any kind of setting-up have to take place to do it? (The strings go thru the body, so would it put more tension on the neck and warp it or something? Or will nothing happen at all? Thanks.


If you've got a floyd rose, you'll need to reset it, as the extra tension on the strings will pull it up from the body and unintentionally raise the action. If its a tunomatic (fixed) bridge, you'll may just need to raise the action slightly to give some extra clearance for the thicker strings. And you will need to readjust the intonation as David pointed out, but it's not a major job, and the neck shouldn't have any problems with .10's on there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VIRUS
post Apr 29 2006, 08:00 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 6-November 05
Member No.: 98



Awesome. Thanks Guys!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Confusion
post Apr 30 2006, 12:11 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 476
Joined: 16-September 05
From: Holland
Member No.: 28



i have a jackson with a string-trough body, and i had no problems changing the strings from 0.9 to 0.10
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VIRUS
post Apr 30 2006, 01:59 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 6-November 05
Member No.: 98



QUOTE (Tank)
QUOTE (VIRUS)
I want to change the strings on my B.C. Rich Warlock from 9's to 10's But will any work or any kind of setting-up have to take place to do it? (The strings go thru the body, so would it put more tension on the neck and warp it or something? Or will nothing happen at all? Thanks.


If you've got a floyd rose, you'll need to reset it, as the extra tension on the strings will pull it up from the body and unintentionally raise the action. If its a tunomatic (fixed) bridge, you'll may just need to raise the action slightly to give some extra clearance for the thicker strings. And you will need to readjust the intonation as David pointed out, but it's not a major job, and the neck shouldn't have any problems with .10's on there.



Its a String-Thru Body, and I can't find the truss rod thingy. It cant be inside the tremolo cavity in the back of the guitar, because like i said, it has no tremolo, and its definetly not on the headstock. I just want to take the correct measures, because i dont want the neck to warp.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Screaming Solo
post Apr 30 2006, 05:09 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.412
Joined: 16-October 05
Member No.: 60



you'll be alright man, going from .09s to .10s isn't all that big of a deal, and you won't need to adjust your trussrod for it unless if you're somewhat of a perfectionist when it comes to your setups

if it was a FR trem though, you'd have to make some adjustments

and don't worry, you will not warp your neck

do you see a little plastic cover with screws on it on the headstock? if so, that is the trussrod cover, you take that off, then you can access the trussrod for adjustment

thats where it is on 99% of guitars at least

you can get a nice view of it here

http://www.saitensprung.ch/News%20Bilder/B...ock_Detail1.jpg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VIRUS
post Apr 30 2006, 09:59 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 6-November 05
Member No.: 98



Will it be cool if i switch to 10's and the next time i need to re-string switch back to 9's?????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Screaming Solo
post May 1 2006, 12:46 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.412
Joined: 16-October 05
Member No.: 60



QUOTE (VIRUS)
Will it be cool if i switch to 10's and the next time i need to re-string switch back to 9's?????


yeah it'll be fine
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th July 2017 - 09:52 AM