Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording....for A Newbie :-), some basic help would be very useful!
montecristo
post Jun 20 2008, 04:44 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-May 08
From: toronto
Member No.: 5.203



Hey guys....this is the issue. A year ago I bought an interface (Tascam 122). Recently, I've been trying to get it working, but excuse my french, its a piece of s***.... its not being recognized by my computer half the time, and its just a real frustration.

So, I want a new recording setup, one that is easy..Im a beginner, I just want to hear my guitar playing, and record vocals as well. IF u were me, what setup would you go for (taking into consideration cost :-) ... I hear a line 6 toneport is suitable for me... Please if anyone has a chance and can help, it would be very much appreciated... what setup should I go for??? ( I have a laptop and am running windows vista)

Thank you!

Edit for language - Smells

This post has been edited by Smells: Jun 26 2008, 03:26 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post Jun 20 2008, 04:46 PM
Post #2


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



For beginner tryout? just get a line6 toneport, like in Ivan's review. It just has two inputs and a gain plus volume knob I believe. For vocals, get a mic. Using a DAW such as reaper, you should get going prety fast! Any other effect pedal will do as well but no interface then!!


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Jun 20 2008, 04:51 PM
Post #3


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



Hi,think that you should not give up from you set up that easy,maybe you should reinstall the software again,and try to play with rooting a bit more,that depends from DAW you are using.But,of course ,if you buy equipment that most of the people haw here,it would be much easier to make it work.But my advice is to tell us your chain(from interface to Daw)and maybe you don;t need to by new equipment.smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 20 2008, 05:02 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I would go for Kaznie on this one. CHeck out the review, I think Toneport UX1 will answer all your prayers wink.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
montecristo
post Jun 20 2008, 05:52 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-May 08
From: toronto
Member No.: 5.203



thanks ivan and kaznie... it seems like a good product, but before i shell over the cash, I want to see if i can get this tascam 122 interface working. If anyone can help me with the setup, that would be great..
Nemanja: thanks for your consideration. I am using cubase 4 LE. I have tried reinstalling both cubase and the tascam drivers. It is very weird because the interface receives signals (as the light goes) . Even yesterday, at one point I was recording, but then all of a sudden, like 20 seconds later, the lights still going on the interface, but cubase is not picking up a signal. It is weird because none of the settings had changed, yet suddenly, cubase does not recognize the interface. it is very frustrating because it works sometimes (although not well because never for more than 30 seconds), and most of the time it doesn't work at all
-Is there any specific setting that I should change / check out ? thanks for any help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Jun 20 2008, 09:15 PM
Post #6


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



QUOTE (montecristo @ Jun 20 2008, 06:52 PM) *
thanks ivan and kaznie... it seems like a good product, but before i shell over the cash, I want to see if i can get this tascam 122 interface working. If anyone can help me with the setup, that would be great..
Nemanja: thanks for your consideration. I am using cubase 4 LE. I have tried reinstalling both cubase and the tascam drivers. It is very weird because the interface receives signals (as the light goes) . Even yesterday, at one point I was recording, but then all of a sudden, like 20 seconds later, the lights still going on the interface, but cubase is not picking up a signal. It is weird because none of the settings had changed, yet suddenly, cubase does not recognize the interface. it is very frustrating because it works sometimes (although not well because never for more than 30 seconds), and most of the time it doesn't work at all
-Is there any specific setting that I should change / check out ? thanks for any help!

Well the first thing I can think of is buffer and asio drivers.
So,first : Devices/devices set up/on the left side should stand"vst audio bay",when you click ones,on the right side should show up an section that you can chose the Tascam asio drivers or some thing like that,then benit the "vst audio bay"should stand Tascam asio,when you click on it on right side should appear control panel,then you should make your latency buffer,maybe 10 ms,or 12.
Next you should make a new project,and when you plug in your guitar or mic,see in what input is pluged in(on your interface),and then if it is righ for example,pres F 4,and click on the right input with right mouse click,and add buss,name it guitar,open mono audio channel for recording,and add the bus you just named "guitar".Taht is all I can think of,hope it helps.smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 29 2008, 12:56 AM
Post #7


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Are there any new drivers for your device ??


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
montecristo
post Jun 29 2008, 08:04 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-May 08
From: toronto
Member No.: 5.203



nemanja: thanks for your help bro... all this was too frustrating, and I was very fed up, and a couple days ago went out and got the tone port ux1. i figure it waas worth the money, so I dont have any of those head aches. and many guys here have it, so i figure it will be good for future discussions

bogdan: i treid all that dude.. i got the ux1, and just wrote off the tascam.. screw the headaches
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 29 2008, 11:08 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Smart choice man. I have TOneport UX1 too, ask if you need any assistance or presets smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 29 2008, 06:34 PM
Post #10


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (montecristo @ Jun 29 2008, 09:04 AM) *
nemanja: thanks for your help bro... all this was too frustrating, and I was very fed up, and a couple days ago went out and got the tone port ux1. i figure it waas worth the money, so I dont have any of those head aches. and many guys here have it, so i figure it will be good for future discussions

bogdan: i treid all that dude.. i got the ux1, and just wrote off the tascam.. screw the headaches


Thats a smart choice...Nothing can justify lost time and headaches...
You made a good choice , UX1 is surly easier to use and everything..

I have ux2..


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2017 - 11:41 AM