Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boss Br-600 Digital Recorder
Davidian
post Jun 24 2008, 02:23 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 15-August 07
From: Brugge, Belgium
Member No.: 2.536



Hi!

What do you guys think of this machine? Is it worth the buy? Are there alternatives? ...

http://www.bosscorp.co.jp/products/en/BR-600/index.html

Thanks

Davidian


--------------------
Music is supposed to break down walls, smash through barriers; and free your mind!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jun 24 2008, 03:19 PM
Post #2


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



I assume that you need a portable all in one solution here Davidian - else I'd suggest using a lap top and interface for mobile recording.

If you only need to record two tracks at a time then it's reasonable for that price range. Personally I think 2 track simultaneous is too limiting. I'm not a great fan of 'virtual' tracks either - but that's my opinion. I'd also hate trying to do much on the screen - no video out so that you can hook up to a monitor? Having said that this may be more than offset by the on board COSM effects and drum machine. Also BOSS/Roland are generally well made products.

Limited to 44.1 - so not compatible with a number of other formats (particularly 48 and 96) and I assume its also 16 bit resolution rather than 24? Not a great issue if you don't DI - chances are that your ambient noise floor wouldn't allow you to get to 24 bit anyway. Would have been nicer to have a flatter frequency curve 20-20kHz. Mic is only on TRS - no XLR and no phantom power - again it is v limited in this area, you can only really use a dynamic mic and will almost certainly need to get XLR to TRS cables for that. Also no indication of SNR - particularly for the HiZ and the mic preamp. Probably @-100-110dB and closer to -100 than -110 (where -110 is better). The specs don't provide a great deal of detail and what there is implies the unit is ok but not great. There are several other alteratives from the likes of Tascam, Fostek, Korg etc at a similar price range

All in all - if you really want a small, portable all in one recorder/mixer/play back and must have the COSM effects then this is fine. If you need the recorder but can live without the effects then look at the alternatives as well AND seriously consider saving a bit more money and getting a recorder that can cope with more than 2 channels simultaneous recording and that has XLR with phantom power.

However if you're not after an all in one box solution and have a laptop/desktop then consider getting a good USB or Firewire interface and use that plus a sequencer (Reaper/Cubase/Sonar/Pro Tools etc) as your DAW.

Cheers,
Tony



--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 24 2008, 03:34 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Looks interesting but somehow I think it's too expensive. Can you tell us for what you are planning to use it, and how much it costs ?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Davidian
post Jun 24 2008, 03:49 PM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 15-August 07
From: Brugge, Belgium
Member No.: 2.536



Price is about 324€ with headphones and a mic. (it's 10€ cheaper without the mic and headphones)
http://www.musicstore.de/is-bin/INTERSHOP....umpTo=OfferList

I'd like to use it to record some stuff and eventually have some full songs with some drumtracks on it. The effects are also a nice addition, I think, just to fiddle with. I also have a friend, who's a very good singer and maybe she can also record some stuff with it...
The device being portable does also come in handy, because I go to college next year, and I won't be at home for 5 days out of 7. Plus I won't be able to move everything I need to record...

But offcourse, every possible solution/alternative/tip can be posted here! biggrin.gif

And to tonymiro: Thanks! But in fact I don't understand a lot of what you're saying unsure.gif I'm quite a noob when it comes to stuff like that... Sorry!


--------------------
Music is supposed to break down walls, smash through barriers; and free your mind!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jun 24 2008, 03:59 PM
Post #5


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I was looking into the better alternative for recording and the BR600 was one of the options. My conclusion, especially based on advice from a friend who makes music professionaly, was to stay off of these portable recorders and get a good computer setup.
According to him it's hazzle to cut/paste/copy, edit pieces and the final quality isn't that good either.

A computer with Vst plugins and a good soundcard can do a lot better if you're after quality.

If you just want to record ideas there's a smaller Boss Micro.


EDIT: And try Thomann.de instead of musicstore, they'll give you problems that will cost you plenty if there's any problem with anything you buy from them.

This post has been edited by MickeM: Jun 24 2008, 04:01 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Davidian
post Jun 24 2008, 04:02 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 15-August 07
From: Brugge, Belgium
Member No.: 2.536



About the cut/paste/copy thing: can't you record pieces, upload them onto your computer and put them together with some software?


--------------------
Music is supposed to break down walls, smash through barriers; and free your mind!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jun 24 2008, 04:04 PM
Post #7


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Davidian @ Jun 24 2008, 05:02 PM) *
About the cut/paste/copy thing: can't you record pieces, upload them onto your computer and put them together with some software?

Yes. But if that is how you intend to work sounds to me the computer is your tool of preference.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Davidian
post Jun 24 2008, 04:29 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 15-August 07
From: Brugge, Belgium
Member No.: 2.536



Hmm, yeah. Recording directly onto my pc (with a new soundcard and studio monitors) can be a solution, but the problem is I'll have to move it a lot...

@ tonymiro: 2 tracks simulatiously... Is that for example I play the guitar, and my brother plays bass?
Could you explain that a little more, please?


--------------------
Music is supposed to break down walls, smash through barriers; and free your mind!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 24 2008, 10:55 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Well I would say buy adding some more cash you can buy a laptop and a decent audio interface to record yourself. It is far more better and flexible option.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jun 24 2008, 11:19 PM
Post #10


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Davidian @ Jun 24 2008, 03:29 PM) *
@ tonymiro: 2 tracks simulatiously... Is that for example I play the guitar, and my brother plays bass?
Could you explain that a little more, please?


That's it exactly Davidian - you can only record on a maximum of two channels at the same time.

The technical specifications of the 600 are, imho, only at best 'ok' - a good laptop external audio card at the same price should be able to better them quite easily.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdriver
post Jun 25 2008, 05:51 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 25-May 08
From: Southwest USA
Member No.: 5.174



I have one of these, I use it and I like it. It does a lot more than record and mix. It's also got very nice drum sounds, which are recorded on their own stereo pair (never takes up YOUR recording space). It can bounce down multiple tracks, has a full mastering toolkit built in, as well as the complete Boss COSM effects/amp emulations. All configurable however you want and store what you have created.

It can also download tracks via USB which you can then edit in Reaper or your product of choice. It can also back up all your songs and all stored configurations.

The sample rate is 44.1, but the sample size is 24 bits. Sampling rate only affects frequency upper limit, where as more bits gives you better sample accuracy.

The unit is the size of 2 National Geographic mags stacked together. It has built in stereo microphones comes with 1 XLR to TRS adapter, but can take 2, plus instrument plus Line in and out.

I'm not a fan of the virtual tracks either, but this thing is very very cool and can run 10+ hours in the field on 6 AA batteries.

Menu surfing is always a pain however, and I find I'd rather use my floor pedal box than try to make adjustments on the BR-600, however if you want to record without a lot of gear, you can dial in the sound you want and save it and use it anytime.

If you need to do multitrack recording and don't mind lugging along a laptop and sound board, this product is not for you, and you are not the intended customer. However if you want something light and able to capture a moment or more, it works.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by jdriver: Jun 25 2008, 05:55 AM


--------------------
"I dreamed a lot when I was younger..
I'm older now but still I hunger
For some understanding.
There's no understanding, now.
Was there ever?

...Joe Puerta (Ambrosia)...


Finally got a YouTube page going.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Davidian
post Jun 26 2008, 02:00 PM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 15-August 07
From: Brugge, Belgium
Member No.: 2.536



Sorry to bother you guys again, but...

... I've been looking into a Line 6 Toneport...
And I have a question about it.
You have to plug-in your guitar into the Toneport, but can you use your amp too, or do you have to use the amp simulation stuff that comes with it? I'm kinda satisfied with my tone I have now, so I'd like to record that.

And recording with the Toneport is recording directly onto my computer?

And what are the advantages and disadvantages of it? And if possible compared to the Boss...?
Can I use the Boss to have my tone from my amp? And if I want to record with one of the two devices, is it possible to let the sound come through my amp?

Sorry to bother you with all these questions, but I'd like to do as much research as possible...
Thanks in advance!


--------------------
Music is supposed to break down walls, smash through barriers; and free your mind!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdriver
post Jun 27 2008, 08:02 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 25-May 08
From: Southwest USA
Member No.: 5.174



I can't answer about the Toneport, but on the Boss, you can plug your guitar into your amp and record the amp's sound, IF your amp has a "pre-power amp" line out. My Vox does this.

Vice versa, you can plug your guitar into the Boss and use line out to the amp and get the sound from the Boss.


--------------------
"I dreamed a lot when I was younger..
I'm older now but still I hunger
For some understanding.
There's no understanding, now.
Was there ever?

...Joe Puerta (Ambrosia)...


Finally got a YouTube page going.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jun 27 2008, 09:07 AM
Post #14


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



nice and quality recording gear from Boss


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 27 2008, 03:52 PM
Post #15


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Davidian @ Jun 26 2008, 03:00 PM) *
Sorry to bother you guys again, but...

... I've been looking into a Line 6 Toneport...
And I have a question about it.
You have to plug-in your guitar into the Toneport, but can you use your amp too, or do you have to use the amp simulation stuff that comes with it? I'm kinda satisfied with my tone I have now, so I'd like to record that.

And recording with the Toneport is recording directly onto my computer?

And what are the advantages and disadvantages of it? And if possible compared to the Boss...?
Can I use the Boss to have my tone from my amp? And if I want to record with one of the two devices, is it possible to let the sound come through my amp?

Sorry to bother you with all these questions, but I'd like to do as much research as possible...
Thanks in advance!


You don't have to plug your guitar directly to toneport, (think of it as virtual amplifier) so you can go through your effects pedals etc and than to toneport..In your case I would suggest using a microphone to record the amp (mic going to toneport)..You can always use toneport just to record signal (disable amp simulators etc)...Also you can go from amps DIout to toneport to capture its color but best way is using the microphone..

You need a recording software on your PC to record from toneport...You can use Reaper , Cubase anything really..

I think boss is a great device , but I would go with toneport because combined with PC it makes a much more versatile device smile.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdriver
post Jun 27 2008, 05:52 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 25-May 08
From: Southwest USA
Member No.: 5.174



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Jun 27 2008, 07:52 AM) *
...

You need a recording software on your PC to record from toneport...You can use Reaper , Cubase anything really..

I think boss is a great device , but I would go with toneport because combined with PC it makes a much more versatile device smile.gif


Actually, I would buy both, because I like both power AND convenience, and because I like toys. tongue.gif


--------------------
"I dreamed a lot when I was younger..
I'm older now but still I hunger
For some understanding.
There's no understanding, now.
Was there ever?

...Joe Puerta (Ambrosia)...


Finally got a YouTube page going.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gerardo Siere
post Jun 28 2008, 02:59 AM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.424
Joined: 20-December 07
From: San Juan
Member No.: 3.558



I have a cheap but wonderfull Zoom H4 has two line=xrl input with phantom power and have nice condenser mic on it If you dont have any mic, I buy it and use it to record live, but you can use it as a sound card, or as a microphone to record in another device.
Two good things, it uses SD cards with are very common, and use AA batteries so those are easy and cheap, it can records like 2.5 hs with just batteries, I has a DC power of 9v.
Can handle 96khz wac and record in several bitrate mp3. The SNratio is not so good 89db but it works ok for single tracks like Içm doing, has digital effects for guitar and bass wich I dont use.
It is highly portable.


--------------------
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2017 - 12:06 PM