Picking Hand Technique
Xecuter88
Jun 25 2008, 05:42 AM
GMC:er
Hi!

I've been playing guitar for a few years now, about 12-13. tongue.gif
But I've just recently discovered that there might be something wrong with my right hand (pick) technique.
I've been trying forever to build up speed in my picking hand, but still can't pick any fast.

What I do when I pick, is that I pick with my underarm and not my wrist, as I think it should be.
My arm often cramp up, but I didn't realize what it was until just recently.

Is there any good exercises to get rid of my bad picking technique, and pick correctly?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
---Some fancy signature---
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jun 25 2008, 10:49 AM
Instructor
Well, don't worry if you created a bad habit, you will fix it in time. Just practice properly from the wrist everything. Hopefully after a few weeks you will already see some improvements.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)

+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
Jun 25 2008, 10:54 AM
You aren't using a wrong technique at all. I pick like that on songs that are in a punk style like say if you're playing Million Miles Away by the Offspring then I'd move my elbow but for speed picking and metal you have to pick from the wrist.