Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boss Rc-2 Loopstation., Stereo?
kjutte
post Jun 28 2008, 04:30 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



Ok, I just bought an RC-2 Loop pedal.

Problem is that I don't really know how connect it properly.
When I play a riff into it, it'll play it back fine. No problem.

The problem however, is that it's Mono. It sounds really, really shitty when I play a solo over the chords when it's not panned.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 28 2008, 06:55 PM
Post #2


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Well I don't think you need stereo for jamming...I don't think that pedal has such function..And your guitar is mono too..Do you have a stereo amp ??


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 28 2008, 07:24 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



I found out what to do.

I need to do a signal split.

amp->loop->input A
->input B
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 28 2008, 09:02 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Yeah,it's mono unit but splitting might solve the problem.
I used it few times but I had no reason for stereo indeed.
It all comes into same input of amp so that's the way it is. wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 28 2008, 09:56 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Jun 28 2008, 10:02 PM) *
Yeah,it's mono unit but splitting might solve the problem.
I used it few times but I had no reason for stereo indeed.
It all comes into same input of amp so that's the way it is. wink.gif


... But it sounds like shit?

what am I doing wrong?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 28 2008, 10:26 PM
Post #6


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Well I don't think panning makes it sound bad..It really doesn't matter when you are playing with loops on one amp...Can you record it (when it sounds bad to you) ?? I can't imagine why it sound bad..


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
post Jun 28 2008, 11:17 PM
Post #7


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
Member No.: 3.084



you need 2 Amps to make a stereo signal from A out put and B out put and you will get a good result


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 29 2008, 09:32 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Jun 28 2008, 11:26 PM) *
Well I don't think panning makes it sound bad..It really doesn't matter when you are playing with loops on one amp...Can you record it (when it sounds bad to you) ?? I can't imagine why it sound bad..


It sounds good, but when I play along with it, it becomes shit.

Obviously because it's Mono, and not stereo.

Not sure what to do about it, I just bought the damn thing sad.gif

QUOTE (Hisham Al-Sanea @ Jun 29 2008, 12:17 AM) *
you need 2 Amps to make a stereo signal from A out put and B out put and you will get a good result


Not sure what you mean.

Please explain smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
erik
post Jun 29 2008, 10:41 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 6-November 06
From: Norway
Member No.: 913



If you are only using one amp there is absolutly No difference between mono and stereo. So your problem might be something else?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 29 2008, 11:05 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (kjutte @ Jun 28 2008, 10:56 PM) *
... But it sounds like shit?

what am I doing wrong?



It sounds fine on my side.
Perhaps you need to set your gear setup
to get better result.
Be sure to send dry/only guitar signal into RC-2
and then into pedals and amp.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alex87
post Jun 29 2008, 11:09 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 587
Joined: 1-April 08
From: Aarhus, Denmark
Member No.: 4.773



It sounds very strange actually. I used the RC-2 for more than a year now, and I never had "bad" sound problems. I think you should remember, that though it might not sound high quality, its still just a pedal for practicing on your own. smile.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender Lead I - 1979, Hamer Steven Stevens sign. (modified) - 1986, Cort western, Santana acoustic

Amps:
Laney Lionheart LH5, Roland Cube 20 (the original orange one)

Effects (on board):
Boss TU-2 Tuner, Homebrew CPR Compressor, EHX Small Stone, Maxon OD-9 Overdrive, Mad Professor Mellow Yellow Tremolo, Boss DD-2, Carl Martin DeLayla XL, TC Electronic SCF1 Chorus/Flanger/Pitch Mod.

Effects (spare):
Boss OD-1 Overdrive, Boss CE-2 Chrous, Boss CS-1 Compressor, Schaller Volume Control, Boss PH-2 Phaser, Boss RV-2 Reverb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 29 2008, 04:00 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Jun 29 2008, 12:05 PM) *
It sounds fine on my side.
Perhaps you need to set your gear setup
to get better result.
Be sure to send dry/only guitar signal into RC-2
and then into pedals and amp.


So it's 1# in effectloop?

That won't give me the loop I want at all -.-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jun 29 2008, 04:09 PM
Post #13


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Can you explain in detail how you are playing/jamming with this device ...What is your effects loop etc...Mono can't make it sound bad just for being mono...


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joe Kataldo
post Jun 29 2008, 04:15 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 2-January 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 3.681



To me sound great, as it is biggrin.gif I use it to teach and to make jam tracks on the fly


--------------------
________________________________________________________________________________

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 29 2008, 04:17 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Jun 29 2008, 05:09 PM) *
Can you explain in detail how you are playing/jamming with this device ...What is your effects loop etc...Mono can't make it sound bad just for being mono...


Well, I should get chords in left, and solo in right ear- but unfortunately it's not built that way.

I simply play, example, an Emaj7 - and do a solo over it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 29 2008, 05:17 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



kjutte, please explain in what kind of effects configuration you are using the RC loop. How do you connect it currently wit your gear. I'm sure there is the problem.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 29 2008, 05:20 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 29 2008, 06:17 PM) *
kjutte, please explain in what kind of effects configuration you are using the RC loop. How do you connect it currently wit your gear. I'm sure there is the problem.


Marshall TSL 60

Effectloop:

EBS Unichorus->Boss DD6->Boss RC-2

I tried putting the rc-2 at end of loop too. same shitty soud.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 29 2008, 06:56 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



What kind of level do you set on the TSL effects looop? +4db or -20dB?

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Jun 29 2008, 06:57 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jun 29 2008, 08:29 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 29 2008, 07:56 PM) *
What kind of level do you set on the TSL effects looop? +4db or -20dB?


-10.

But I tried +4, and I also tried it directly from guitar. (but then it'll loop in distortion even if I record in clean, obviously, so no go.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 29 2008, 10:04 PM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Please record that shitty sound and upload it here so we can hear it can you?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 11:38 PM