3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording From Home..., Question about the equipment..
vintageplaya666
post Jul 4 2008, 09:16 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



Okay, I'm wanting to record from home. And I was just wandering what all you GMCers would recommend, so far I have:

Midi Keyboard
Reason And Cubase.

I particually wouldnt need any microphones, as The guitar would go straight into the mixing desk/track recorder. But its more on what would be the best choice to record with, I was thinking of a Tascam? Any Suggestions?


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Jul 4 2008, 09:24 PM
Post #2


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



Well all i record with is a pod, a guitar and reaper. I think the pod might work a bit like an interface though. I've never known what the point of interfaces is actually do they make the sound quality better? Personally i don't think you need anything more but i don't know about interfaces.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 4 2008, 10:51 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Are you planning to buy a mixing desk? I would say audio interface is another good option. What sound card do you have?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vintageplaya666
post Jul 4 2008, 10:57 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



I was either going to go with either a small mixing desk or a audio interface.

This is the sound card I currently have in my computer:

Sound Card


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Jul 5 2008, 09:39 AM
Post #5


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



Tascam is a fine choice.


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 5 2008, 11:53 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You have a great card. It is a high end gaming card, not an Audio Production System, but it will do the job nicely for the job. Tascam recorder is a safer bet. Have you thought about the model?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post Jul 5 2008, 12:04 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



I used POD XT live and it works like a sound card. You can listen how my guitar sounded in my album (follow my signature pic biggrin.gif). Now I'm using a Tascam US428 with Adobe Audition, and it works really good, but this toy is not 100% necessary (I bought it because I'm a freak, I know laugh.gif).
Well, if you want to begin with recording I'll go for a POD, it works really good and sounds pretty good saving too much money.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jul 5 2008, 01:03 PM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.463
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Juan - You say a POD XT Live works just like a sound card - does that mean it has the same effect as a regular (Non-onboard) sound card, which would properly better the sound and lower the latency?

I'm currently using my old Boss GT6 for recording, and I actually only have an onboard soundcard in my computer - and I do experience some latency (With ASIO4all I can get it to about 12 ms only though - but doesn't it somewhat lower the audio quality?). Will buying a new, better, sound card lower and better the latency?

EDIT: That is 12 ms with the buffersize of 512 samples.

This post has been edited by Caelumamittendum: Jul 5 2008, 01:10 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post Jul 5 2008, 01:15 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



Exactly !! POD XT has the same effect wink.gif It also have ASIO drives and of course low latency. That's the reason why that's the easier way to record your songs, you don't need to spend years configuring latency, drivers, etc. Just choose PODXT as a predetermined card for recordings. I never had latency problems.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jul 5 2008, 01:31 PM
Post #10


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.463
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Sounds cool man! Do you use ASIO4ALL, as well? If so, what are your buffer settings in that and how much latency do you experience? (I hear people saying you can get to about 2-3 ms with the right equipment - and for some reason my 12-13 ms still bothers me.)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vintageplaya666
post Jul 5 2008, 01:38 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jul 5 2008, 10:53 AM) *
You have a great card. It is a high end gaming card, not an Audio Production System, but it will do the job nicely for the job. Tascam recorder is a safer bet. Have you thought about the model?



Well the Tascam models that I used at college (Just finished 2 weeks ago) where the old tascam mackie ones or something, so i'm not sure what the latest models are. I'm now stuck between the Tascam or a POD..


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Jul 5 2008, 02:02 PM
Post #12


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



I'd go for the pod then.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jul 6 2008, 01:48 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



Everything should be realtime unless you add effects in software.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
USAMAN
post Jul 6 2008, 02:17 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 664
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Minnesota, USA. Earth
Member No.: 3.048



Pod all the way.
I have both and my firepod sits and gathers dust most of the time.


--------------------
If we aren't supposed to eat animals, why are they made out of meat ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jul 6 2008, 10:45 AM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.463
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (kjutte @ Jul 6 2008, 02:48 AM) *
Everything should be realtime unless you add effects in software.


Realtime as in no latency, or realtime as in as low as possible latency?

Out of curiosity - how much latency does the Pod users experience with/without ASIO4all?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jul 6 2008, 10:49 AM
Post #16


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



There is always latency in any DAW - the issue is whether or not it causes a discernible problem to the end user.

Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jul 6 2008, 11:32 AM
Post #17


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.463
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Yeah, sure, my worries are, that with my Boss GT6 and ASIO4all set at a buffer of 512, I get 12-13 ms of latency. Firstly - does decreasing the buffersize decrease the sound quality?
And secondly will I be able to have the buffersize at a better rate with a POD or a new soundcard, while having equally low latency or lower.. say 10 or less ms?

It's quite an investment either way - soundcard or POD, if the result won't be that much of a difference. That is merely why I am asking smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 6 2008, 11:54 AM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



decrease in buffer size has nothing to do with the sound quality, it just has to do with CPU load. Smaller the buffer, bigger the calculations in the CPU, lower the latency it's that simple.

Soundcards of EMU like entry level 0404 or even better 1212m has latency at about 10ms, depending on the sampling resolution of course. These cards are very suitable for production because they have quality A/D/A converters and super clean analog outs.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Jul 6 2008, 11:55 AM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Jul 6 2008, 11:57 AM
Post #19


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.463
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



Alright - thanks for clearing up the buffer part. I'm a bit confused about this all - if I lower it to below 512 I get small crackles and all in the tracks.

None the less, I only have an onboard card now - so the decision has to be between a soundcard or a PODxt.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 6 2008, 12:41 PM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



This is because sound card and CPU cannot process that amount of information (signal) in such a short notice. So some parts of the signal are being dropped. In worst cases buffer overloads so much that a restart is needed because driver fails to open.

What do you have from gear mate?

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Jul 6 2008, 12:42 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th May 2017 - 06:41 AM