Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Another Reaper Question, How To?
skennington
post Jul 7 2008, 12:52 AM
Post #1


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



How do I set up the sequencer for MIDI files? I'm loading the file but not getting any sound. I've tried playing through the midi editor but still no sound. Checked the i/o button and made sure that my toneport was set. I just can't figure this one out guys, Any help would be greatly appreciated! smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 7 2008, 01:43 AM
Post #2


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



You need something to actually play the MIDI - midi is just a seqwuence of instructions like, "start playing a C# now, full loudness" .... "ok, now stop".

You need a synthesizer capable of taking the midi and responding to it. That could be a physical synth like a keyboard, but you would need to hook up a midi cable, or it could be a virtual synth running inside reaper. For instance, EZDrummer is a Virtual Synth, and so is Spectrasonics Trilogy (a cool bass sample player) - they are called VSTs). Reaper doesn't come with any so you need to download some free ones or demoes, or buy them.

Once you have one, you need to open up a track, add the synth and route the midi signals to it, them you should get some sound!

Routing it to your toneport will make it come out of the midi port there (I think it has one) you could then hook it up to a keyboard or synth to get some sound.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 7 2008, 01:52 AM
Post #3


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Thanks for the great explanation Andrew. I do have the demo version of Addictive Drums but not sure how to rout the track through it. I thought this was the case. I'll try and find a link to learn how. Thanks again man!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 7 2008, 10:33 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You can play MIDI file as soon as you define what MIDI sample bank it is going to use for that MIDI. For example if you have a C1 note in the MIDI file, and load Addictive Drums you should hear Kick Drum, if you load Trilogy you should hear bass C note etc..
Some sound cards come bundled with MIDI banks, like Creative Audigy Series, but those are not very good. Toneport doesn't have MIDI banks on it's own, it lets you install whatever you want fro VST's.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 7 2008, 01:30 PM
Post #5


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (skennington @ Jul 6 2008, 08:52 PM) *
Thanks for the great explanation Andrew. I do have the demo version of Addictive Drums but not sure how to rout the track through it. I thought this was the case. I'll try and find a link to learn how. Thanks again man!


The simplest way is to use all one track.

1. Create a track
2. Pop up the FX dialog and put addictive drums in there
3. Put the MIDI on that same track

That should be all you need. You cnan ge tmore complex and route multiple separate MIDI tracks to a VST track if you want, but you need to set the sends up explicitly - if you do it the way I said, it should just work.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 7 2008, 07:58 PM
Post #6


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jul 7 2008, 08:30 AM) *
The simplest way is to use all one track.


Thanks Andrew and Ivan. This is how I opened it. Unfortunately the MIDI has 7 different tracks to it and I don't have all the plugin's. Are those online MIDI to MP3 converters worth the purchase? I see the demo version of 1 only gives a minute or so.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 8 2008, 12:00 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



AS far as I can understand you have a project with 7 different MIDI tracks. Each track must be assigned with it's own VST. VST will then generate (synthesize) the sound, by reading the notes from the MIDI track. If you have 7 tracks that means each track represents one instrument, like drums, bass, guitar, pads... Do you have any idea what those tracks represent?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 8 2008, 12:24 AM
Post #8


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jul 7 2008, 07:00 PM) *
AS far as I can understand you have a project with 7 different MIDI tracks. Each track must be assigned with it's own VST. VST will then generate (synthesize) the sound, by reading the notes from the MIDI track. If you have 7 tracks that means each track represents one instrument, like drums, bass, guitar, pads... Do you have any idea what those tracks represent?



Yes Ivan, the tracks are as follows.....


2 Overdriven guitar
1 Acoustic guitar
1 Electric Bass
1 Pad
1 String
1 Acoustic Piano

This is an original track we are working on in our Virtual Band Citizens Failure. Matt has wrote this backing and it would make more sense to hear what's actually going on than just cpu generated instruments.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 8 2008, 12:57 AM
Post #9


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (skennington @ Jul 7 2008, 07:24 PM) *
it would make more sense to hear what's actually going on than just cpu generated instruments.


???

If its a midi file, it can't be anything other than CPU generated instruments ... so I guess I don't understand that statement!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 8 2008, 01:41 AM
Post #10


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Jul 7 2008, 07:57 PM) *
???

If its a midi file, it can't be anything other than CPU generated instruments ... so I guess I don't understand that statement!



laugh.gif laugh.gif ohmy.gif

Sorry guys, had my 3 yo hagging off my neck at the time I was typing that post. blink.gif What I meant was being able to see all the tracks at once and move them individualy so I can get better feel for it. Also to time the actual recordings.

I see why you were like what??? laugh.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 8 2008, 10:25 AM
Post #11


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



laugh.gif laugh.gif

Ok, well you need to understand routing then - you would set up the VST track as before (you would need drums bass etc presumably as separate VSTs), then have a new track for each midi file. You then open each midi tracks routing dialog and set it up so that the midi track sends its midi signals to the track with the VST in it.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 9 2008, 01:57 AM
Post #12


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Thanks Andrew. I think I understand now....I think huh.gif
Now,off I go to find the instrument plug ins smile.gif . Think I'll start here., any recommendations? tongue.gif Kidding, I'll open a thread for favorite's


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IDontWantMyUsern...
post Jul 17 2008, 03:06 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 405
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Mosjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.170



Sorry for reviving this tread, but I do have kind of the same problem tongue.gif
Ok... I know how to import midi-files and making them and all that, but when I'm going to use a VSTi to play the melodies in Reaper, I can only find the ones that already came with the program dry.gif I downloaded a free sound library from Native Instruments, but none of those instruments are shown on the menu blink.gif
I read somewhere else that I should paste the folder into the reaper folder, but I tried that with the Addictive Drums Trial, and it didn't work huh.gif


--------------------
My stuff:

Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX half stack
Line6 PODxt
Digidesign Mbox Pro

Songs I'm writing down/learning at the moment:

Children of Bodom - Downfall

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 17 2008, 03:29 AM
Post #14


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



QUOTE (IDontWantMyUsername @ Jul 16 2008, 10:06 PM) *
Sorry for reviving this tread, but I do have kind of the same problem tongue.gif
Ok... I know how to import midi-files and making them and all that, but when I'm going to use a VSTi to play the melodies in Reaper, I can only find the ones that already came with the program dry.gif I downloaded a free sound library from Native Instruments, but none of those instruments are shown on the menu blink.gif
I read somewhere else that I should paste the folder into the reaper folder, but I tried that with the Addictive Drums Trial, and it didn't work huh.gif


I feel your pain man. Where did you originaly save the program? I had to remove and re-download AD till I found the right folder. Still trying to figure out Kore Player.

I saved AD in program files, then unziped and saved to the VST file in reaper, now, when I open reaper, insert a track, click FX, I see AD. You have to put the MIDI file in that track. It's only going to read the drums of course but same goes for other instruments.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IDontWantMyUsern...
post Jul 17 2008, 08:28 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 405
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Mosjøen, Norway
Member No.: 2.170



QUOTE (skennington @ Jul 17 2008, 04:29 AM) *
I feel your pain man. Where did you originaly save the program? I had to remove and re-download AD till I found the right folder. Still trying to figure out Kore Player.

I saved AD in program files, then unziped and saved to the VST file in reaper, now, when I open reaper, insert a track, click FX, I see AD. You have to put the MIDI file in that track. It's only going to read the drums of course but same goes for other instruments.


I MADE IT! I got both the Addictive Drums and the Native Instruments into the menu! biggrin.gif


--------------------
My stuff:

Ibanez S320
Marshall MG100HDFX half stack
Line6 PODxt
Digidesign Mbox Pro

Songs I'm writing down/learning at the moment:

Children of Bodom - Downfall

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jul 17 2008, 09:20 PM
Post #16


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



QUOTE (IDontWantMyUsername @ Jul 17 2008, 03:28 PM) *
I MADE IT! I got both the Addictive Drums and the Native Instruments into the menu! biggrin.gif



Now it's time for some fun! smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st January 2017 - 06:39 PM