Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording With Korg Ax1500g, How to?
seagull
post Jul 14 2008, 07:04 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



Hey fellow GMC'ers!

I had almost transferred the money for a POD XT tonight when I came to think: "Hey, I have an old Korg effects processor in my closet. "
And since the reason I was getting the POD was for recording, I figured it'd be sweet if I could save the money and just use my Korg AX1500G.
So, is it possible, and if, how?

I know it's not the best, but as I'm saving for at trip around the world, it'd be nice to save some money. smile.gif

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
/Seagull
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seagull
post Jul 14 2008, 09:26 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



Anyone?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 14 2008, 10:19 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Well, what sound card do you have?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seagull
post Jul 15 2008, 11:40 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



Standard motherboard on-board soundcard. sad.gif

Is it necessary to get a new one?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Jul 15 2008, 01:44 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



Aslong as you have a "line-in" option on your soundcard, then it is possible. But i cant guarantee that the latency or soundquality will be optimal.

You could always buy a cheap USB-soundcard, that way you can save some money and still get some use of the Korg processor

This post has been edited by Trond Vold: Jul 15 2008, 01:45 PM


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 15 2008, 02:17 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I recommend cheap PCI card, maybe 0404 PCI for nice recordings.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seagull
post Jul 15 2008, 02:18 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



QUOTE (Trond Vold @ Jul 15 2008, 02:44 PM) *
Aslong as you have a "line-in" option on your soundcard, then it is possible. But i cant guarantee that the latency or soundquality will be optimal.

You could always buy a cheap USB-soundcard, that way you can save some money and still get some use of the Korg processor


I have a line-in on the sound card. So what cable should I get to connect the processor to the soundcard?

I'm buying a new computer in a month or so, so I don't want to spend money on a new sound-card, as I had in mind to buy the PC with a good one.

Sound quality can only be better than the standard computer-mic. I've been using 'till now. tongue.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Jul 15 2008, 03:52 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



QUOTE (seagull @ Jul 15 2008, 03:18 PM) *
I have a line-in on the sound card. So what cable should I get to connect the processor to the soundcard?

I'm buying a new computer in a month or so, so I don't want to spend money on a new sound-card, as I had in mind to buy the PC with a good one.

Sound quality can only be better than the standard computer-mic. I've been using 'till now. tongue.gif


You will need a ordinary jack to jack instrument cable, with a mini-jack converter on one end. (I assume the plugs on your soundcards are minijacks). Then just drag the cable from the output of the Korg to the input of the soundcard.


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seagull
post Jul 15 2008, 06:29 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



QUOTE (Trond Vold @ Jul 15 2008, 04:52 PM) *
You will need a ordinary jack to jack instrument cable, with a mini-jack converter on one end. (I assume the plugs on your soundcards are minijacks). Then just drag the cable from the output of the Korg to the input of the soundcard.



Cool, I'll get a converter in the morning. Thanks a bunch for the help! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xuestor
post Jul 15 2008, 11:05 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 324
Joined: 16-September 05
From: Sweden
Member No.: 29



I strongly recommend buying a M-audio Delta Audiophile 2496 soundcard. You can probably get it for around 100 USD, and a latency at a good 7 ms or so smile.gif


--------------------
Gear:
Epi LP with SD SH-2/SD SH-6
Gibson Custom Shop Les Paul Standard VOS Bourbon burst
Gibson Les Paul Classic Antique Vintage Sunburst
Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded Tobacco burst
Fender Stratocaster Antigua with Stan Hinesley Karma/ Stan Hinesley EXP/ Dimarzio Protrack
Jem 7VWH
Fender CD160NT 12-string
Ibanez AW40NT 6-string
Martin 000X1 6-string
Hughes & Kettner Switchblade Head with 2*12 Celestion Vintage 30's Cab


Grammatic Professional auf Schweden
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seagull
post Jul 18 2008, 01:52 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



Okay, I got the plug, did as you said Trond, but there is no response in the input... sad.gif

I'm using Audacity, is that an ok program for that? are there any drivers that need be installed?

thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seagull
post Jul 18 2008, 03:45 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 360
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Denmark
Member No.: 1.546



Sorry for the double post, but no need to answer my question anymore, figured it out. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2017 - 05:52 AM