Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drop D
SnoCone
post Jul 15 2008, 06:28 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 8-July 08
Member No.: 5.461



Okay when tuning into drop d with my ibanez rg370dx, would i need to worry about inotation or anything? i just want to use it for a few songs.

Im tuned into standard right now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Déjà vu
post Jul 15 2008, 07:22 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 10-July 08
From: Napa, CA... U.S.
Member No.: 5.466



I wouldn't see why there is a problem... Unless you have a Floyd rose that is messed up, I would worry about it. You may have to tune the other strings a few times after if they go out of tune as well (especially, if it's a Floyd). I wouldn't worry about anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jul 15 2008, 09:54 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (SnoCone @ Jul 15 2008, 07:28 AM) *
Okay when tuning into drop d with my ibanez rg370dx, would i need to worry about inotation or anything? i just want to use it for a few songs.

Im tuned into standard right now.


yes, you have to intonate. you also have to resetup your floyd rose springs.
This is not a newbie subject, you should take it to your local store smile.gif

Edit:
and btw, standard tuning ftw.

This post has been edited by kjutte: Jul 15 2008, 09:56 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 15 2008, 10:38 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If you have a fixed bridge, then it is cool to tune down with the same gauge of strings just for a couple of songs. If you use FR, I suggest you don't hassle just because of two songs. It is far easier to transpose them in that case.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jul 15 2008, 11:34 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jul 15 2008, 11:38 AM) *
If you have a fixed bridge, then it is cool to tune down with the same gauge of strings just for a couple of songs. If you use FR, I suggest you don't hassle just because of two songs. It is far easier to transpose them in that case.


Tuning down=intonation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SnoCone
post Jul 15 2008, 04:48 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 8-July 08
Member No.: 5.461



Its a edge III, so with that bridge will i have problems?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jul 15 2008, 04:51 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (SnoCone @ Jul 15 2008, 05:48 PM) *
Its a edge III, so with that bridge will i have problems?


Only if you don't know how to intonate/setup springs. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SnoCone
post Jul 15 2008, 05:27 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 8-July 08
Member No.: 5.461



Which i dont, but id have to intonate and setup springs every time i go into drop D mellow.gif ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jul 15 2008, 05:36 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (SnoCone @ Jul 15 2008, 06:27 PM) *
Which i dont, but id have to intonate and setup springs every time i go into drop D mellow.gif ?


Everytime you change tuning yes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Siepen
post Jul 15 2008, 08:19 PM
Post #10


Instructor (Blind Guardian)
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.433
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 4.464



If you change the tuning the tension of your strings will change, therefor the whole Floyd Rose will rest in a different position, therefor the tuning will change. I also would not really recommend doing this for only one or two songs.


--------------------
Guitars: various Gibson Les Pauls / Gibson J 45
Amps: Mesa Boogie Tripple Rectifier / Triaxis / 2:90 Poweramp / Rectocabs
Effects: Rocktron Intellifex / Rocktron Xpression
Homepage: www.marcussiepen.com www.blind-guardian.com
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Jul 15 2008, 09:09 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Marcus Siepen @ Jul 15 2008, 09:19 PM) *
If you change the tuning the tension of your strings will change, therefor the whole Floyd Rose will rest in a different position, therefor the tuning will change. I also would not really recommend doing this for only one or two songs.


Agreed. easier to just get another guitar tongue.gif
I could do it though, because I have a tremol-no. HAUHAU
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2017 - 01:09 PM