Reply to this topicStart new topic
> M-audio Fast Track Ultra Problem
post Jul 28 2008, 01:39 AM
Post #1


Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 21-March 08
From: Canada
Member No.: 4.661

Hey I just picked up this new interface and can not seem to get it to work properly. It installs fine and the drivers seem to work. What i can't get to work though is any mic in the preamps. The device registers there is a mic because it picks up on the db metre. When recording in cubase or prologic though, it captures the audio really quietly and only through the right speaker. May i have it set up improperly?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xose Pineda
post Jul 28 2008, 01:44 AM
Post #2


Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 20-June 08
From: Spain (BCN)
Member No.: 5.336

What kind of microphone are you trying to record? Make sure that phantom power is ON, if your mic needs it. Also play with the balanced's input .

I'll have a look on the interface... and try to get further info later.

Best regards,


xose pineda

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 28 2008, 02:10 AM
Post #3

Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341

Did you set up the connections properly in Cubase?

Press F4 to open connections window
right click on the left side for "add bus" to add MONO bus.
on the right assign the send from the interface to your bus.
Rename the bus on the left as a "Mic Mono Line".
Close that window and press F3
In mixer you can see your bus on the far left side - adjust the volume.

- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jul 28 2008, 02:19 AM
Post #4


Group: Members
Posts: 1.084
Joined: 16-October 07
From: United States, CT
Member No.: 3.062

I had to change how my instruments where panned through my drivers when I first got my m-audio firewire 1814, but if it's comming in to quite than turn up the preamp gain on the fast track a little before it starts to clip.

Check out my playing here -
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jul 28 2008, 07:14 AM
Post #5

Learning Roadie
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.265
Joined: 27-September 07
From: Telford.Shropshire.England
Member No.: 2.884

1/Make sure the Phantom Power is switched on
2/Make Sure You Have The correct Channel selected A/B
Hope this helps

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2016 - 11:41 AM