Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ok, So How Do These "drum Vsts" Work?
Ctodd
post Jul 28 2008, 11:55 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 493
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Pennsylvania
Member No.: 3.051



Hi,

I downloaded Addictive Drums, and I'm not sure how to get started.

I assumed that there would be some kind of .exe file that would let me get to work.

But that doesnt seem like thats the case.

so how do I get started? Am I supposed to just drag and drop all these sound files into Reaper? how do I get sections to repeat and such?


thanks!

Chris


--------------------
QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Feb 5 2009, 03:41 AM) *
When you hear something that you really like, take guitar and kill the beast.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jul 29 2008, 12:00 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



You have to put it as output source on Midi channel,
then you drag Midi files from its Library
and drop them on the same Midi channel.
I do it in Cubase tho,
someone else will help you with reaper. smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ctodd
post Jul 29 2008, 12:40 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 493
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Pennsylvania
Member No.: 3.051



thanks for the response Muris!

I'm still lost though blink.gif

i think it has something to do with how it was installed.... cuz as it stands now there is not "program" to run... just a bunch of beats

I should probably mention as well that this is the demo version... which probably doesnt include all the fancy stuff


--------------------
QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Feb 5 2009, 03:41 AM) *
When you hear something that you really like, take guitar and kill the beast.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jul 29 2008, 12:48 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



There should be some midi files/groves in demo version,not sure.
Try to draw something on midi track layer to see if
any sound is coming out.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tjchep
post Jul 29 2008, 12:53 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.084
Joined: 16-October 07
From: United States, CT
Member No.: 3.062



QUOTE (Ctodd @ Jul 29 2008, 12:40 AM) *
thanks for the response Muris!

I'm still lost though blink.gif

i think it has something to do with how it was installed.... cuz as it stands now there is not "program" to run... just a bunch of beats

I should probably mention as well that this is the demo version... which probably doesnt include all the fancy stuff


Well, that is the program, you just have to click on the drum loop you want and put it on the track in reaper, and if you want to loop it just left lick on the edge of the drum beat and just drag it for how ever long you want it to loop for.

But if you want to make your own beats you have to go Instert>new midi item> double click the midi track and a piano roll will come up. then you can program to your hearts content.


--------------------
Check out my playing here - https://www.youtube.com/user/tjchep
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 29 2008, 01:57 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Did you installed the demo version properly? You should be able to choose Adiictive Drums in VST's in Reaper somewhere. When you load the program, click on BEATS, find the one you like and just drag it to Reaper workspace.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ctodd
post Jul 29 2008, 02:21 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 493
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Pennsylvania
Member No.: 3.051



Many thanks everyone.

Chast helped me out here in the chatroom

Many thanks to all of you.

by the way, Ivan hit the nail on the head, I basically didn't know that I had to go through Reaper to get to it... Anyway, long story short, I got it working.

Thanks!

-Chris


--------------------
QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Feb 5 2009, 03:41 AM) *
When you hear something that you really like, take guitar and kill the beast.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 29 2008, 03:54 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Glad we could sort that out mate, CHeers smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2017 - 03:53 AM