Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Guitar Rig...
vintageplaya666
post Jul 31 2008, 05:48 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



I've just been doing some reading up on Guitar Rig 3, and it seems like a pretty awesome software to have. But, it doesn't mention anything about recording.

So does anyone know if Guitar Rig allows you to record?


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jul 31 2008, 05:50 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



Sure it does, you can load it as a VST effect in your host programm and start recording. Works fine.
That is for what it is built for,to create professional sounding recordings smile.gif

This post has been edited by Skalde: Jul 31 2008, 05:52 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vintageplaya666
post Jul 31 2008, 05:56 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



QUOTE (Skalde @ Jul 31 2008, 05:50 PM) *
Sure it does, you can load it as a VST effect in your host programm and start recording. Works fine.
That is for what it is built for,to create professional sounding recordings smile.gif


Ahh right thanks alot. So would this be better to go for than a Pod-XT?? Or does it just come down to preference?


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jul 31 2008, 05:57 PM
Post #4


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Guitar rig 3 simulates guitar well rig...It allows you to record awesome sounding guitar tracks into your recording software of choice...It can also process bass tracks and even vocals (I think) ...Keep in mind that you need a good sound card or recording interface to use it with guitar rig 3..Also guitar rig 3 comes with its own external recording interface for your pc.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jul 31 2008, 06:08 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



Yes, thats right, Guitar Rig can also be used for bass and vocals recording.
The software + interface cost ~480€. Not very cheap but it is really worse the money when it comes to recording.
There is also a cheaper version, with another interface + software which includes not all effects for ~200€
In most cases this is would do the job pretty well.
You can also buy the full software only version(99€) + a good soundcard with Asio 2.0 driver support and a DI-box (~100€). This would safe you a lot of money and you have all effects + a decent soundcard.
That's what I did and it works fine.
No doubt the Rig control interface which comes with Guitar Rig is exellent but you don't really need it. Maybe if you want to use Guitar Rig on stage, but I wouldn't recommend that.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jul 31 2008, 09:57 PM
Post #6


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Skalde @ Jul 31 2008, 07:08 PM) *
Yes, thats right, Guitar Rig can also be used for bass and vocals recording.
The software + interface cost ~480€. Not very cheap but it is really worse the money when it comes to recording.
There is also a cheaper version, with another interface + software which includes not all effects for ~200€
In most cases this is would do the job pretty well.
You can also buy the full software only version(99€) + a good soundcard with Asio 2.0 driver support and a DI-box (~100€). This would safe you a lot of money and you have all effects + a decent soundcard.
That's what I did and it works fine.
No doubt the Rig control interface which comes with Guitar Rig is exellent but you don't really need it. Maybe if you want to use Guitar Rig on stage, but I wouldn't recommend that.


Yeah thats a good point ! I would recommend Guitar Rig 3 software + good sound card everything should round up around 200e for a mighty home recording station


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vintageplaya666
post Jul 31 2008, 10:04 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Jul 31 2008, 09:57 PM) *
Yeah thats a good point ! I would recommend Guitar Rig 3 software + good sound card everything should round up around 200e for a mighty home recording station


Well I already have a pretty decent sound card, its more of a gaming one but I'm sure that it will be perfect to use

Sound Card


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jul 31 2008, 10:43 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



I don't know this soundcard, but I think it should work. It supports ASIO 2.0 drivers which is important for a low latency. However you may need a DI-Box in front of the soundcard.

This post has been edited by Skalde: Jul 31 2008, 11:05 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vintageplaya666
post Jul 31 2008, 10:51 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



QUOTE (Skalde @ Jul 31 2008, 10:43 PM) *
I don't know this soundcard, but I think it should work. It supports ASIO 2.0 drivers which is important for a low latency. However you may need a DI-Box before the soundcard.


Well i could get a DI Box from one of my mates, he doesn't need it so I could get it for free. Thats only If I need one though..If not then I wont ask him for it tongue.gif


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jul 31 2008, 11:11 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



ok, you need one. cool.gif
So you only need 99€ for the Guitar Rig software sounds fair to me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vintageplaya666
post Jul 31 2008, 11:22 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 18-December 07
From: Durham, UK
Member No.: 3.537



QUOTE (Skalde @ Jul 31 2008, 11:11 PM) *
ok, you need one. cool.gif
So you only need 99€ for the Guitar Rig software sounds fair to me


Yeah, and thats a good price smile.gif I'll be purchasing it when It comes pay day smile.gif woooo.

Thanks for you're help Skalde and Bogdan!


--------------------

Signature Made By Spleeny

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift "
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Smikey2006
post Aug 1 2008, 12:46 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.361
Joined: 27-April 07
From: London,ont
Member No.: 1.697



i want to get guitar rig 3 for effects to use live.. bad idea?


--------------------
Schecter Exotic Star+ Peavey VK
Ibanez Xiphos 707 + Krank Revolution 100
Damien 7




Wishlist
Schecter Customshop
Schecter 2008 Blackjack
Damage Control Timeline Delay Pedal/Distortion
a laptop that runs protools :'(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Aug 1 2008, 12:53 AM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Smikey2006 @ Aug 1 2008, 01:46 AM) *
i want to get guitar rig 3 for effects to use live.. bad idea?


Not at all.
Many players today go for a laptop and
Guitar Rig or something similar.
Then from laptop into mixer and PA.
Of course you can't get the same
warm sound with laptop and software
comparing to an amp but it's just
a laptop against head and cab per example. wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st January 2017 - 05:28 AM