Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Software + Hardwear, i need help!!
Smikey2006
post Aug 7 2008, 05:03 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.361
Joined: 27-April 07
From: London,ont
Member No.: 1.697



Hey guys since i know very little regarding recording and home setups i need some help! I currently bought myself Guitar Rig 3 Software via the Internet(so i have no disk i just installed it) and i did the same thing with protools, which i want to use for my recording. My problem lies in the hardware. I have a guitar and i want to hook up the guitar to the computer using a footswitch so i can switch my effects using a stomp box ( this is just my preferance). Even if i cannot achieve this what piece of hardware do i need to hook my Guitar to my computer + what other pieces of hardware would make guitar rig3 work better with my laptop and protools without breaking the bank ( university student = poor sad.gif )

THANK!


--------------------
Schecter Exotic Star+ Peavey VK
Ibanez Xiphos 707 + Krank Revolution 100
Damien 7




Wishlist
Schecter Customshop
Schecter 2008 Blackjack
Damage Control Timeline Delay Pedal/Distortion
a laptop that runs protools :'(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Aug 7 2008, 05:37 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Line6 products work well..plus theyre cheap.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Smikey2006
post Aug 7 2008, 08:31 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.361
Joined: 27-April 07
From: London,ont
Member No.: 1.697



QUOTE (fatb0t @ Aug 7 2008, 12:37 PM) *
Line6 products work well..plus theyre cheap.


So if i was to buy a Line 6 stomp box i could plug it into my computer?


--------------------
Schecter Exotic Star+ Peavey VK
Ibanez Xiphos 707 + Krank Revolution 100
Damien 7




Wishlist
Schecter Customshop
Schecter 2008 Blackjack
Damage Control Timeline Delay Pedal/Distortion
a laptop that runs protools :'(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 7 2008, 09:12 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If you wanna use GR3 with some audio interface I wouldn't suggest Line6 stuff because their latency for third party software is around 46ms which is not a comfortable at all to work with.

The minimum I suggest is to get EMU 0202USB or if you have extra cash 0404USB.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Aug 7 2008, 09:19 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



You don't necessarily need an audio interface. You could also use a 3/4-to-USB converter similar to this:

http://www.thomann.de/fi/the_tbone_usb_1g.htm


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Smikey2006
post Aug 7 2008, 09:27 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 2.361
Joined: 27-April 07
From: London,ont
Member No.: 1.697



thanks alot guys this is just what im looking for. the T.Bone i think would be more practical for my setting and i might try and find 1 to buy and give a whirl smile.gif any other suggestions/ stomp box integration?

thanks alot guys this is just what im looking for. the T.Bone i think would be more practical for my setting and i might try and find 1 to buy and give a whirl smile.gif any other suggestions/ stomp box integration?


--------------------
Schecter Exotic Star+ Peavey VK
Ibanez Xiphos 707 + Krank Revolution 100
Damien 7




Wishlist
Schecter Customshop
Schecter 2008 Blackjack
Damage Control Timeline Delay Pedal/Distortion
a laptop that runs protools :'(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Aug 7 2008, 10:36 PM
Post #7


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Maybe you want to get the recording interface that is designed to go with guitar rig 3 ? It has all the features you mentioned (footswitch)..But I don't know if they sell it "hardware only" ...


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st January 2017 - 02:13 PM