Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Audacity Clicks
Outlaw2112
post Aug 17 2008, 04:51 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



Does anyone know how to get rid of those clicks that happen in audacity when you edit something and try to mix another track?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 17 2008, 05:03 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Clicks usually appear when the buffer of the sound card is set too low. Try to raise the buffer a bit, it will make latency prominent, but save CPU usage.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Aug 17 2008, 05:19 PM
Post #3


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Or is the metronome turned on ?? Try to turn it off...


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlaw2112
post Aug 17 2008, 05:28 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Aug 17 2008, 05:19 PM) *
Or is the metronome turned on ?? Try to turn it off...

its not the metronome, its just a faint click when i add tracks to another one

QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Aug 17 2008, 05:03 PM) *
Clicks usually appear when the buffer of the sound card is set too low. Try to raise the buffer a bit, it will make latency prominent, but save CPU usage.

how do i raise the buffer?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 17 2008, 08:31 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



What sound card do you use? The buffer is raised somewhere in control panel of the sound card, there's probably a slider or value to input depending of the manufacturer.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 19 2008, 09:07 AM
Post #6


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (Outlaw2112 @ Aug 17 2008, 04:28 PM) *
... its just a faint click when i add tracks to another one


...


That may be an editing issue - tracks not properly aligned and pasted/cut in etc - rather than latency.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 19 2008, 12:04 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I'm with tonymiro on this one. If it is a faint click, then it means audio waves haven't been put together properly. Here's what you do:

zoom in all the way the track on the place where two waves meet. You should be able to see the wave curvature. Try to meet them together on the place where both waves touch the central horizontal line of the event. This way you will not hear those clicks or pops.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2017 - 04:17 AM