Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sound Question, preamp
fatb0t
post Aug 29 2008, 04:18 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Hey Trond,

Dude I love your sound always... I read that you use a pre amp straight into your sound card. How exactly does that work? Wouldn't the preamp blow your sound card out of your PCI slot? Is it because your pre amp has MIDI out or line out or something?

edit:

Hm, I think I may be thinking of a power amp. The preamp needs a power amp doesn't it?



This post has been edited by fatb0t: Aug 29 2008, 04:34 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trond Vold
post Aug 29 2008, 06:23 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.497
Joined: 16-February 08
From: Norge!
Member No.: 4.261



Hia smile.gif

I can connect my pre-amp directly to the inputs of my soundcard because the pre-amp has got line-outputs that designed to go straight into a mixer or soundcard. So your probably thinking of a power-amp smile.gif

The preamp will need a poweramp if you want to get sound out of a ordinary guitar-speaker or cabinet.


--------------------
Guitars: Schecter Stiletto Classic, Jackson SLSMG, Ibanez RG-380 Japan, Gibson Les Paul Studio

Amp: Marshall JMP-1 -> Rocktron Velocity 100 -> Marshall JCM-900 Lead 4x12

FX and stomps: T.C Electronics G-Sharp, Korg SDD-1200, Emma Transmorgrifier, BYOC Tribooster, GGG Green Ringer, Dinosaur Overdrive, Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz, Sovtek Bassballs, Line6 Tap Tremolo, EHX Screaming Bird.


___________________________________________________
My Lessons!

My Instructor Board!

My Myspace!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Aug 29 2008, 06:37 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (fatb0t @ Aug 29 2008, 05:18 PM) *
Hey Trond,

Dude I love your sound always... I read that you use a pre amp straight into your sound card. How exactly does that work? Wouldn't the preamp blow your sound card out of your PCI slot? Is it because your pre amp has MIDI out or line out or something?

edit:

Hm, I think I may be thinking of a power amp. The preamp needs a power amp doesn't it?


Preamp=signal
poweramp=amplification

If you pull your preamp to your soundcard, the soundcard will be another preamp, then your stereo amplifier will be the poweramp.
Or if you use headphones, the soundcard will be the poweramp.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 06:30 AM