Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Beginer Quest Abouth Podxt
besip
post Aug 30 2008, 02:45 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



HI all litle question..i'm starting like Podxt..lot of you have it this stuff and is nice sharing sound settings
I'm now Usa but maybe in future i'm will move to europe{back home}
and question--It's the podXt build also for Europe Power System{Electric system} Usa use 110W and Europe 220W
if i'm buy'it do i'm be need use just diferent power cord??? or Adapter????

actualy i'm belive i'm can use the podxt here using the stuff over my Amp..but in the case when i'm be like to buy Monitor speakers ..same question..do i'm can use the easy on europe??? or i'm be need some adapters

I'm don't like adapter's biggrin.gif


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Juan M. Valero
post Aug 30 2008, 08:26 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.270
Joined: 6-August 07
From: Girona - Spain
Member No.: 2.484



That's the problem when we buy something across the Ocean... you'll change adapter, if not you'll burn the POD !!! and that's not good rolleyes.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Aug 30 2008, 01:31 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (besip @ Aug 30 2008, 03:45 AM) *
HI all litle question..i'm starting like Podxt..lot of you have it this stuff and is nice sharing sound settings
I'm now Usa but maybe in future i'm will move to europe{back home}
and question--It's the podXt build also for Europe Power System{Electric system} Usa use 110W and Europe 220W
if i'm buy'it do i'm be need use just diferent power cord??? or Adapter????

actualy i'm belive i'm can use the podxt here using the stuff over my Amp..but in the case when i'm be like to buy Monitor speakers ..same question..do i'm can use the easy on europe??? or i'm be need some adapters

I'm don't like adapter's biggrin.gif


Actually it's 110 and 220 Volts, not watts.

Anyway, naturally you can buy adapters for this. No problem at all.

Anyway, answer is: yes, you need an adapter.
I bet the POD uses 12V DC (direct current, your wall has AC, alternating current) anyway- You just need a 110ac->12vdc or 220ac->12vdc.
Hope this helps.

Make sure you check if the POD's 12v or not first though, or if it's DC at all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Aug 30 2008, 01:45 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Check on the back of your product and see what's written. Some of them have switch between 110 and 220/240

All laptop computers work without any extra adaptor. Their factory adaptors are designed to transform anything into 12v or 15v. This might be a case with POD as well but check your manual there must be something about that. Adaptor costs $10-$20.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Aug 30 2008, 02:07 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Aug 30 2008, 02:45 PM) *
Check on the back of your product and see what's written. Some of them have switch between 110 and 220/240

All laptop computers work without any extra adaptor. Their factory adaptors are designed to transform anything into 12v or 15v. This might be a case with POD as well but check your manual there must be something about that. Adaptor costs $10-$20.


Actually it says both on the original transformer and on the POD's power input.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Aug 30 2008, 02:13 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



Thanks guys actualy i'm don't belive to Power adapters.. rolleyes.gif lot of my friends brings electric stuuff to europe and then use adapters and burn that stuff anyway

but actualy is true if the Podxt use just 12v then there don't be problem and maybe like you say Emir there can be switcher
i'm have check this on the store smile.gif

thank you all


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 30 2008, 03:17 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



The only way you can burn adapter in Europe if you bring it from USA is if adapter is made specifically for 110V AC current. You can't burn adapter in Europe that is made for 220V network.
i agree with Emir, many devices have switches on them, but first check out with the manufacturer to avoid risk of electric shock.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Aug 30 2008, 04:22 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (besip @ Aug 30 2008, 03:13 PM) *
Thanks guys actualy i'm don't belive to Power adapters.. rolleyes.gif lot of my friends brings electric stuuff to europe and then use adapters and burn that stuff anyway

but actualy is true if the Podxt use just 12v then there don't be problem and maybe like you say Emir there can be switcher
i'm have check this on the store smile.gif

thank you all


As I said, if you use the correct current and output voltage, it won't be burnt.
If your friends do that,they didn't read properly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
besip
post Aug 30 2008, 05:21 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.153
Joined: 16-September 07
From: Now-Scotland
Member No.: 2.798



QUOTE (kjutte @ Aug 30 2008, 10:22 AM) *
As I said, if you use the correct current and output voltage, it won't be burnt.
If your friends do that,they didn't read properly.


yeaah but my friends has diferent story they use adapter for audio system to change the power from 220v to 110v
i'm belive is podXt need just 12v adapter there don't be problem wink.gif


--------------------
[
MY Gear
Jackson Sl2h
Digitech DF-7
PodXt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toroso
post Aug 31 2008, 11:52 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 653
Joined: 26-August 08
From: Kingston, TN USA
Member No.: 5.779



Also, if you do need to change DC adapter, make sure the polarity matches.


--------------------
Live well, and live often!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 31 2008, 01:36 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (besip @ Aug 30 2008, 06:21 PM) *
yeaah but my friends has diferent story they use adapter for audio system to change the power from 220v to 110v
i'm belive is podXt need just 12v adapter there don't be problem wink.gif


That's totally different matter, that is an AC current voltage transformer and it has nothing to do with AC/DC adapter for regular mainstream devices.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd March 2017 - 09:17 PM