4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Anyone Good At Webdesigning?, for my homepage
Oxac
post Oct 10 2008, 09:06 AM
Post #41


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



I don't really get why I should change the body font to a sans serif. The serifs are there for a reason, they help when reading. I'd like a reason to change it.

What kinds of pictures are you talking about?

Thanks everyone for the nice comments and a HUGE thanks to Audiopaal for the nice logo!


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Oct 10 2008, 10:08 AM
Post #42


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Oxac @ Oct 10 2008, 10:06 AM) *
I don't really get why I should change the body font to a sans serif. The serifs are there for a reason, they help when reading. I'd like a reason to change it.

What kinds of pictures are you talking about?

Thanks everyone for the nice comments and a HUGE thanks to Audiopaal for the nice logo!


There's no reason except it looks better most of the time..

You're welcome mate smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
post Oct 10 2008, 10:29 AM
Post #43


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
Member No.: 723



Nice page, you improved it quite well compared to the first version. The logo is great !!

Concerning fonts. This is of course personal taste, but i kind of agree with Emir.
It is a common rule (.. and rules are there to be ignored of course smile.gif ) .. to avoid too many different fonts on one screen, colors included. The site is still in production, so its not easy to tell, but at the moment "pickups" in the logo and "Header" gives a kind of direction for sans serif. In my opinion serifs on screen are not really better to read, especially for long description text.

The thing with images are, its not easy to get good ones, but images are eye catcher and would quickly at some atmosphere to your page.

Anyway ... the main thing is the product. I'm still curious about the result smile.gif




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Oct 10 2008, 02:51 PM
Post #44


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Wrk and Audiopaal said all what I wanted to say so there you have the answers. Of course it's all about your taste and how you like it. I do web design for living so I follow the standards regarding fonts, frame size etc... Of course you don't need to accept any of my advices and in the end it might be that you were right about chosing fonts etc... It's just a taste a what people are used to when it comes to web design these days.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Oct 10 2008, 03:20 PM
Post #45


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



I just need/want to say this.

I love getting opinions, that's why I ask for them. But if I get advice that... that thing would be better or, that would look cooler. This will be more practical...

Then I get your opinion, but what I think is the most rewarding for me, is to know your arguments. Why you think like you do. Now I know, and you've got some valid points. It's completely CSS based, so all I've got to do is change a little script, no reason not to try. I'll wait with it untill I've got some real text on it, that way it will be much easier to see what will look/be the best.

Thanks for your advice and I'll make sure to upload pictures as soon as I get some that looks good and adds something. I mean, a picture of a tiger might look awesome, but unless my page is about tigers it would just be out of place. I'll try to get some good photos of the process though. I'm currently having an in depth discussion and reasoning with my coach on how much and what I should order and how I should execute my experiments.

I must say this also: Very nice homepage Emir. Really like the logo and structure.


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Oct 10 2008, 04:56 PM
Post #46


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Thank you for a compliment about my page. I have done about 100 sites by now. I saw your page is CSS based which is definitely the right way to go. With CSS it is not difficult to change your layout at anytime.

good luck with your site


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Oct 10 2008, 05:14 PM
Post #47


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



Thanks, I actually have a question for you, if you have time to answer. Instead of having this "huge" amount of code for the menues on every page it would be cool to use some sort of PHP include or what it's called. And have a separate document for the menue, so I'm able to change the menu exactly the same way as I change the layout.

Do you know how to do this? A little insight on it would be good. I have absolutely no knowledge of either PHP or JavaScript... which sucks..

The menu is all CSS, list and hyperlinks. Any tip on how to do it would be appreciated.

Thanks // AJ


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Oct 10 2008, 07:49 PM
Post #48


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Yes and that's what you should definitely do.

Cut your menu code and save it as a separate php file (from opening until closing tag). In that new php file don't use <html> or <body> just pure code from tag to tag. If your menu is in a div tag, make sure you pick that <div> as well.

In your main file type this code

<?php include("nameOfYourFile.php"); ?>

at exact place where you cut your code previously. After that make sure you save your main file as PHP.

You have to make sure that your server (hosting company) supports PHP. You have to upload the page there to be able to test it. Preview doesn't work on the local machine unless you have server installed.

There is a very similar way with javascript but this is the principle


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Oct 10 2008, 08:03 PM
Post #49


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



Thanks a lot Emir, doesn't seem so hard. I'll give it a go.

Works. Thank you a lot Emir. I'm just gonna apply it to both menus and see how it goes.


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Oct 10 2008, 09:13 PM
Post #50


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



http://aj-pickups.com/Design%20utan%20fram.../News/Index.PHP

Added some content and simplified the structure for me. I hope you like it.

Also, you guys were correct. Hat off to you. Arial looks so much nicer! Thanks a lot for all the help. Really appreciated.

This post has been edited by Oxac: Oct 10 2008, 09:25 PM


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Oct 10 2008, 09:13 PM
Post #51


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



QUOTE (Oxac @ Oct 10 2008, 08:03 PM) *
Thanks a lot Emir, doesn't seem so hard. I'll give it a go.

Works. Thank you a lot Emir. I'm just gonna apply it to both menus and see how it goes.


Cool. Now you can change your menu in just one file for the whole site. That also works for header and footer


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Oct 10 2008, 09:40 PM
Post #52


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



I did that with almost everything tongue.gif

<?php include("../Start.PHP"); ?>

<div id="rubrik">Header</div>

<?php include("Submenu.PHP"); ?>

<p>Paragraph 1</p>
<?php include("../End.PHP"); ?>

That is the code needed for 1 page biggrin.gif


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Oct 11 2008, 12:13 AM
Post #53


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



Wow, you're page's starting to look quite awesome smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Oct 11 2008, 12:43 AM
Post #54


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



Thanks, it means a lot to me. The whole GMC community will of course be under links and your name Audiopaal, under credits (the logo).

Now I'm going to sleep. I'm planning on doing some regular school work this weekend, so I get ahead by a little. I will then be able to focus much more on this little project biggrin.gif

I have one problem though, that I'd need really experienced help with. That's how I'm going to take my orders. I'll specify the problem later on. Thanks for all feedback, opinions and help.


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Nov 11 2008, 11:26 PM
Post #55


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



Hi guys. I have something that I need help with. Now there's an annoying blue border around my awesome logo, the logo works as a link as well. Anyone know how to get rid of it?


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
post Nov 12 2008, 12:18 AM
Post #56


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
Member No.: 723



i guess you have to add BORDER=0 in your <img> tag ... but my html knowledge is a bit dusty laugh.gif




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oxac
post Nov 13 2008, 04:46 PM
Post #57


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 14-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.086



That solved the problem. Thanks wrk.


--------------------
Olle "AJ" Svensson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darfuria
post Nov 13 2008, 04:54 PM
Post #58


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 11-April 08
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4.867



Not a bad design idea - but you're going to have all kinds of problems with that page rendering correctly on different browsers and screen sizes.

I'm a website developer, but unfortunately don't have the time to do freelance work for free these days. More than happy to give advice, though.


--------------------
Want a website for you or your band? http://www.websiteformyband.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Nov 13 2008, 05:01 PM
Post #59


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



I'd like to add one thing,it has nothing to do with wed design tho
since I have no idea about it indeed. smile.gif

In products specs it say "this mic will feature...".

I think you should use word pickup after all,
mic and pickup work both on magnetic field and it is similar idea
but word mic just might confuse someone imo. smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canis
post Nov 13 2008, 10:18 PM
Post #60


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 3.319
Joined: 22-October 07
From: Molde, Norway
Member No.: 3.108



Site looks great, Oxac ^^
Of course, I have no clue about webdesign, but I bet it's hard to make something like that tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Canis: Nov 13 2008, 10:18 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 06:59 AM