Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Best Way To Make A Loop Out Of Something?, how-to?
post Sep 12 2008, 04:43 AM
Post #1


Group: Members
Posts: 324
Joined: 16-September 05
From: Sweden
Member No.: 29

I have a clip I'd like to cut and make into a loop, but I have no idea how to do this. Any advice?

Epi LP with SD SH-2/SD SH-6
Gibson Custom Shop Les Paul Standard VOS Bourbon burst
Gibson Les Paul Classic Antique Vintage Sunburst
Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded Tobacco burst
Fender Stratocaster Antigua with Stan Hinesley Karma/ Stan Hinesley EXP/ Dimarzio Protrack
Jem 7VWH
Fender CD160NT 12-string
Ibanez AW40NT 6-string
Martin 000X1 6-string
Hughes & Kettner Switchblade Head with 2*12 Celestion Vintage 30's Cab

Grammatic Professional auf Schweden
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Sep 12 2008, 06:58 AM
Post #2


Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 25-May 08
From: Southwest USA
Member No.: 5.174

You don't say what software you're using, but with Reaper I would select the approximate part you want to loop, copy and paste to a new track, solo the track, press the loop button on the transport (far right) and hit play, and listen to how it loops. Drag either end as needed to make the correct beat. When you're satisfied, just grab the right side end and drag to the right and you can make as many loops as you want, just end on the little notch at the bottom.

"I dreamed a lot when I was younger..
I'm older now but still I hunger
For some understanding.
There's no understanding, now.
Was there ever?

...Joe Puerta (Ambrosia)...

Finally got a YouTube page going.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 12 2008, 12:28 PM
Post #3

Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341

The best way to loop something is to first find a beat measure. Usually the beat is in 4/4, so let's say you find a beginning on the 1st beat of the bar and you cut there, and find an ending on the 4th beat of another bar, and cut there. This way you will have a nice transition when looping.
Also if you know the tempo of the track it is even easier. Just type in the tempo in DAW and bring the beginning of your loop to the 1st beat in a bar. Then you don't have to make any precise adjustments of the end. On the beat meter in DAW it should say nicely where the loop starts and where it ends.

- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2016 - 07:59 AM