Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sound Problem, Output Problem
megadeth1117
post Oct 18 2008, 05:34 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



Im not sure if its the guitar or amp. My output seems to be dying

Its been happening in both my amp , so im pretty sure its the guitar.

What can i do to fix the problem?

Thanks in advance





This post has been edited by megadeth1117: Oct 18 2008, 05:58 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ajmurrell
post Oct 18 2008, 05:36 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 628
Joined: 15-August 08
From: London, UK
Member No.: 5.702



Do you have active pick ups? Have you tried using different cables to link guitar to amp?

This post has been edited by Ajmurrell: Oct 18 2008, 05:37 PM


--------------------
GMC Travel Agent, at your service.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Oct 18 2008, 05:54 PM
Post #3


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



More information is always helpful than less. I think based on the problem description so far I have to say - I have no clue dry.gif

What guitar do you have? what pickups? what amp? tube or solid state? when does it lose output?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 18 2008, 05:57 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



No, my pickups are passive Dimarzios, X2n (bridge) and Super Distortion to be exact

This started happening a while ago, and i thought it was a problem with my cable, so i bought a monster cable, it was fine, but then it started happening again. so then i thought it was a problem with the amp, which it turned out its not, so
I figured it must be the guitar

My curent amp is a roland cube 30x, i think it is a solid state, my previous was a line 6 spider 3 75, my guitar is a dean vx

it loses output randomly, its very weird



This post has been edited by megadeth1117: Oct 18 2008, 06:01 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Oct 18 2008, 06:13 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Nice equipment you have. This happened to me many times and every time it was the amp. After half an hour it loses output signal. I actually didn't have the volume problem but much less gain and the sound was deformed. Do you have a volume problem or just losing some gain? Try your guitar with different amp and there you should have the answer.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Oct 18 2008, 06:21 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.890
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Something similar happened to me on my old telecaster once, and it was the input jack, which was corroded after the years. I changed it (they are inexpensive), and it was fixed. Maybe it's that, who knows.


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 18 2008, 06:23 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Oct 18 2008, 01:13 PM) *
Nice equipment you have. This happened to me many times and every time it was the amp. After half an hour it loses output signal. I actually didn't have the volume problem but much less gain and the sound was deformed. Do you have a volume problem or just losing some gain? Try your guitar with different amp and there you should have the answer.

thanks

thats exactly my problem, the gain is lowering itself, thing is i dont think it could be the amp because this happened with my other amp, and i havent had my current amp for more than a month, or do all solid states do this?

QUOTE (Fran @ Oct 18 2008, 01:21 PM) *
Something similar happened to me on my old telecaster once, and it was the input jack, which was corroded after the years. I changed it (they are inexpensive), and it was fixed. Maybe it's that, who knows.

mine's is 2 years old i think, maybe thats the problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Oct 18 2008, 06:31 PM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.890
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



2 years is not much, mine was 14 years old since I bought it when it happened... and had been in the case unplayed for almost ten.

Look into the input jack of the guitar, if it looks greenish/corroded that's a bad sign. It could be some loose wire on the pots too.



--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noangels
post Oct 18 2008, 07:30 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 4-August 08
From: blighty
Member No.: 5.628



It sounds like it is indeed the input jack on your guitar,a couple of mine can sound low gainy on an amp unitll I have the lead Plugged firmly in the guitat input.take the jack out and conect the guitar lead in to see if the contact looks good-screw back the input jack and then make sure that hexagon nut is tight so there is no movement in the input when you put the lead in

I had to do that to my strat and esp recently as over the years the constant use had loosened the inputs slightly


--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 19 2008, 01:06 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



I guess it must be the input jack

I'm sorry but what do you mean by remove the jack?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 19 2008, 03:54 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509





here is a pic of my input jack, what do I do once I remove the hexagonal ring?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noangels
post Oct 19 2008, 10:25 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 4-August 08
From: blighty
Member No.: 5.628



Just unscrew those 3 screws mate and remove the jack so you can see behind it and the wires attached-be carefull not to pull the wires off!Have a look to see that the wire contacts are good and plug in the guitar lead to see that its a snug fit.If your wires are loose then resolder on to their contact points(you will see the old contact solder blobs to use)Then rescrew those 3 screws back on an make sure that hexagon thread nut its tight as it can

If there is any movement you might get volume issues when plugging in a lead,so keep it tight and hopefully your volume issues should be fixed


--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 19 2008, 04:28 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



Ah, i get it now

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noangels
post Oct 19 2008, 08:07 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 4-August 08
From: blighty
Member No.: 5.628



No problem mate,hopefully you can sort it out!I am pretty confident you can as the same thing has gone wrong on my axes from time to time-and they can be easily fixed:)


--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 20 2008, 12:01 AM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Also see if the inner metal plate that i supposed to touch the cable jack isn't too far away, and making a poor contact with the cable input. While unscrewed, plug your cable inside, and watch the interior to see if it makes a good contact. If it is not the problem there, then it's possibly with the electronics mate. Don't worry if it is that, that's the cheapest problem on the guitar you can have.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 20 2008, 12:22 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



well, today me and my dad checked out the problem and apparently it has nothing to do with the input jack since everything is fine on it, the only thing that looked wrong was that the tone knob was very loose, so we tightened that, but other than that I'm not sure what it can be
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 20 2008, 12:25 AM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



hmm, possibly the that tone knob got some connections inside unsoldered or something. You should take it to guitar tech, I suggest when you change the strings, take off the strings, take it there unscrewed in the case, so he can imediately check it on the spot, and possibly charge you less.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noangels
post Oct 20 2008, 07:49 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 4-August 08
From: blighty
Member No.: 5.628



If its not that then as Ivan has said the next link in the chain is the pickups-pickup selector switches-tone pot

Your going to have to take it to someone who can run a test on it and find out where your problem lies


--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megadeth1117
post Oct 21 2008, 12:07 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



Ah darn, i hate dealing with those idiots at guitar center, even though I have the two year warranty, they'll find some way to make me pay

thanks guys : )

This post has been edited by megadeth1117: Oct 21 2008, 12:07 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2017 - 03:25 AM