Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pod Farm, New line 6 plugin to use POD tones on DAWs!
Gus
post Oct 31 2008, 12:55 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 999
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Brazil/Denmark
Member No.: 3.920




I just receive an email from line 6.
I am at the work now, so I can't wait till I get home and test this! rolleyes.gif

http://line6.com/podfarm/


--------------------
my "Thank you GMC!" video

If you like it please vote in the competition ;-)

Gus Stairway to Guitar Heaven - my practice agenda

Check out my lesson here Phrygian Dominant Solo lesson


Gear : Ibanez RGT320q (I just love the neck-thru sustain), Washburn EA-20SDL (acoustic 6 string), Standard strat (Mexico), POD X3 Live

Some of my Guitar heroes: Jimmy Page, Slash, Kirk Hammett, Augusto Licks, Joe Satriani, Gus G, David Gilmour, Mark Knopfler...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Oct 31 2008, 01:07 PM
Post #2


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



I downloaded it last night but had issues with it. Had to uninstall but I'm going to try it again. Looked cool!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noangels
post Oct 31 2008, 01:35 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 4-August 08
From: blighty
Member No.: 5.628



The high end ProTools studios have been using Line 6's amp farm cards(since TDM)for a long time,So it should sound good now they have made a software only version relying on no other hardware.It can be used to add a bit extra to a digital track like the SansAmp plug ins.Could be good to mess around and change cab emulations on pre recorded tracks

At work now so cant see the link,will have a good look if I get a chance this weekend smile.gif


--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Oct 31 2008, 08:54 PM
Post #4


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Isn't this just a new version of the Gearbox VST? e.g. a VST that does exactly what the pod does? According the the line 6 email I get it for free so I'll give it a try and see what the differences are, I use the Gearbox VST a lot.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 31 2008, 10:47 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Uhhm, I suppose we with Toneports don't get it ?? sad.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Oct 31 2008, 10:54 PM
Post #6


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Oct 31 2008, 05:47 PM) *
Uhhm, I suppose we with Toneports don't get it ?? sad.gif


It's for the Toneport as well Ivan. I downloaded it last night and played around with a bit and it certainly looks interesting. However, after the install, I could not access gearbox and all my presets so I removed it. Will try again later... smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 31 2008, 10:59 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Oh, well that's very nice, I'll DL it right away then smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Oct 31 2008, 11:30 PM
Post #8


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



I just had a play with it - its basically a new version of Gearbox VST, but it does have the dual amp function that Gearbox doesn't which is pretty cool, and its free to registered Gearbox users.

Theres an issue using it in Reaper - it's not compatible with Reapers 64bit audio engine, but there is a workaround:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=249270

Look at the bottom of the thread - works great. By default Pod Farm doesn't recognize the old Gearbox patches but you can open them explicitly with the file open option - its because Gearbox uses .gpt and Pod Farm uses l6t.

So, all in all, a good upgrade!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 1 2008, 11:05 AM
Post #9


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Oct 31 2008, 11:30 PM) *
I just had a play with it - its basically a new version of Gearbox VST, but it does have the dual amp function that Gearbox doesn't which is pretty cool, and its free to registered Gearbox users.

About the Gearbox VST, so it's not the same as the Gearbox standalone program? I mean, Gearbox has the dual amps while you say the VST doesn't. And isn't it wierd that you pay for the VST while the Farm comes at no cost?

Anywaym great news for me. I need such a VST smile.gif

And as a X3 owner I'm quite happy with Line6 that they have served all additional packs etc without any extra cost. Not what I was used to with Line6.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Nov 1 2008, 12:11 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



As an XT owner I'm unhappy with paying for it sad.gif


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Nov 1 2008, 01:08 PM
Post #11


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



I think you get the basic item free or you pay a nominal amount $49 - but I paid serious Cash for the full Gearbox when it first came out, and I get the Super Duper Pod Farm for free - the one with all the amp models.

So, Gearbox the program was always free and is what you use to make patches etc. Then they introduced Gearbox VST as a cash upgrade over a year ago. I have the Pod XT Live which acts as a dongle for the VST, my XTL doesn't have dual amps, nor did my Gearbox VST, however Pod Farm does, so this is a free upgrade for me smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 1 2008, 02:27 PM
Post #12


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Nov 1 2008, 01:08 PM) *
I think you get the basic item free or you pay a nominal amount $49 - but I paid serious Cash for the full Gearbox when it first came out, and I get the Super Duper Pod Farm for free - the one with all the amp models.

So, Gearbox the program was always free and is what you use to make patches etc. Then they introduced Gearbox VST as a cash upgrade over a year ago. I have the Pod XT Live which acts as a dongle for the VST, my XTL doesn't have dual amps, nor did my Gearbox VST, however Pod Farm does, so this is a free upgrade for me smile.gif

Have to look closer into this. Can't get the standalone application to work and I can't use the VST effects in my DAW. Saya I need to register - but I got the impression it was free for Gearbox users and I got that free with the X3.
Got it installed via the monkey and "activated" in there aswell. But when I try to use it it says "Hardware not found, must be authorized and activated".
And it's impossible to get a licence for the X3 so I suppose that's not the deal here, that a licence is missing.

Will try more later on.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Nov 1 2008, 02:53 PM
Post #13


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



The Gearbox License key works for Pod Farm as well but you need to activate it. To do that I had to deactivate Gearbox, then use the deactivated licence key to activate pod farm - a bit cumbersome but it works.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 1 2008, 04:52 PM
Post #14


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Nov 1 2008, 02:53 PM) *
The Gearbox License key works for Pod Farm as well but you need to activate it. To do that I had to deactivate Gearbox, then use the deactivated licence key to activate pod farm - a bit cumbersome but it works.

I never got a licence key with the Gearbox, it came free for X3. It just worked and I think that was because I had the #id of my POD X3 registred with the monkey.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Nov 1 2008, 08:29 PM
Post #15


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



Hmm - their licensing is murky - that's all I know I am afraid sad.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 12 2008, 02:18 PM
Post #16


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Nov 1 2008, 08:29 PM) *
Hmm - their licensing is murky - that's all I know I am afraid sad.gif

To sum things up. Today I installed the latest monkey and the latest Gear Box v3.70 and all of a sudden the POD farm works both standalone an as plugin.
Mysterious but none the less great. I had 5 minutes to try it out and it's a great plug, possible to record all dry and add everything in the DAW. I always used to record with the final sound for the song but that has it's limitations of course, so this new plug will be fun biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blindwillie
post Nov 14 2008, 02:40 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.533
Joined: 28-March 07
From: Luleå, Sweden
Member No.: 1.434



I bought the Farm late night yesterday but I never got the time to try it. Will do during this weekend.


--------------------

Schecter C1 Hellraiser EMG 81/85, replaced with JB/Jazz (SH4/SH2n) w. coilsplit
Schecter Revenger HB-105, replaced with EMG 81/85
Stratocaster Deluxe Players Noiseless
Ibanez 2550z
Blackstar HT5H, Blackheart BH5H w. BH112, Laney LX35D, Line6 Pod XT, Marshall MS-2
Headphones: Sennheiser RS120

Stay tuned...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 14 2008, 02:42 PM
Post #18


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (blindwillie @ Nov 14 2008, 02:40 PM) *
I bought the Farm late night yesterday but I never got the time to try it. Will do during this weekend.

I hope to get to spend some time with it too this weekend


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Nov 18 2008, 12:58 AM
Post #19


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Installed the Farm last night, properly this time, and I must say, I'm diggin it. The install actually brought over all my tones from gearbox and it still works as well. smile.gif

I really like the fact that you can combine tones. cool.gif Now to learn my away around unsure.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 01:51 AM