Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can Vst Folders Be Moved?
MickeM
post Nov 1 2008, 11:17 AM
Post #1


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I installed POD Farm and got the VST in the incorrect folder. Now I don't find an uninstall option, I was thinking or redoing and doing right, so I wonder if it's possible to just move the VST dll into my ordinary VST folder. Or would that mess up the registry?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Nov 1 2008, 11:25 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Have you tried uninstall from add/remove programs in control panel? If it's not there then it should work if you just copy plugins manually. Read some readme file and make sure that files are properly organized in the folder. Alternatively you can point your recording software to look in that new folder for plugins as well. It should pick it from there and register in the library with no problems.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Siggum
post Nov 1 2008, 11:31 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.228
Joined: 3-January 08
From: Denmark
Member No.: 3.701



I think it should work just to move the vst.dll file to the right directory, i am not 100% sure though but ive done it a few times without problems.

This post has been edited by Siggum: Nov 1 2008, 11:31 AM


--------------------


It dont mean a thing if it aint got that swing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Nov 1 2008, 12:00 PM
Post #4


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



If you are Steinberg user(Nuendo or Cubase)Just move the dll in to Steinberg/vst instruments.I did it many times like that.


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 1 2008, 01:00 PM
Post #5


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Nov 1 2008, 11:25 AM) *
Have you tried uninstall from add/remove programs in control panel? If it's not there then it should work if you just copy plugins manually. Read some readme file and make sure that files are properly organized in the folder. Alternatively you can point your recording software to look in that new folder for plugins as well. It should pick it from there and register in the library with no problems.

POD Farm doesn't show up in the control panel's add/remove programs sad.gif
Yes I could repoint my DAW to several directories, that's true, it's just that I want to keep things tidy. At least I'm trying bu the result of it it's a mess, thinking about the C and F partitions laugh.gif

QUOTE (Siggum @ Nov 1 2008, 11:31 AM) *
I think it should work just to move the vst.dll file to the right directory, i am not 100% sure though but ive done it a few times without problems.

If you've done it and it worked I'll have a go at that too. Taking a chance it's working also for my plugins. smile.gif

QUOTE (Nemanja Filipovic @ Nov 1 2008, 12:00 PM) *
If you are Steinberg user(Nuendo or Cubase)Just move the dll in to Steinberg/vst instruments.I did it many times like that.

I'm aiming for low cost so I'm using Reaper wink.gif
But I guess that if you can do it with Cubase it should work for any application.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Nov 1 2008, 01:02 PM
Post #6


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



From the DAW's perspective, all that matters is the dll file.

However, if there WAS an uninstall option, this would mess it up. Bottom line is that it should work!

EDIT : Pod Farm doesn't work in Reaper as it is, but I posted a workaround in the other Pod Farm Thread!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 2 2008, 03:04 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You can always make a copy and just put it into your VST folder to check out how it works. Than try to rename to original file to see if you will experience problems. If not, that just erase it, and problem solved.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 09:49 AM