Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Micing An Amp., Through POD X3.
Gilmore
post Nov 12 2008, 02:59 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



Hi

My band have been making recording of our songs, and I always record the guitars straight through my POD X3 Live. But i´ve been trying to record the guitars by micing my Marshall JCM2000 and put it through the POD. I´m using SM57 mic, but the results I get are no good. The sound from the amp is great, but it does not come close when it apeears on the recording. The sound is hollow and lacks gain and character, just completely unusable. Could it be something in the POD that is scrambling the sound, or do you know any good settings for the POD to record guitar with mic??


--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Nov 13 2008, 06:15 PM
Post #2


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Hmm you will need to experiment with the mic positioning in relation to the speaker...Try different angles and distances from the speaker...Its really a trial and error process and you will get very very different results in different mic positions...


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Nov 13 2008, 08:49 PM
Post #3


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



i miked my amp and got a spot on result, if I remember well the important thing is to shut off modeling + effects, i.e select - "no amp"


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jose Mena
post Nov 13 2008, 09:17 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.359
Joined: 28-July 08
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 5.593



Why are you trying to use the POD, if you are micing the amp, you should go straight to the preamp. Maybe I should first ask, what is you setup, are you using the POD as a pre-amp, and you connect USB to the computer, or do you have an audio recording interface such as an m-audio card, or m-box?



--------------------
Check out my Video Lessons
Visit my Instructor Board
Visit MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
berko
post Nov 13 2008, 09:43 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.771
Joined: 2-April 08
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 4.782



If you are using the POD u should definitely bypass the amp and cabinet models that are provided there.

As Bogdan said you should experiment with angles. E.g.: my recording friends always "hang" the mike in from the top of the stack so the mike is upside down and literally touches the cloth/net in front of the speaker. This way they get an articulated and compact sound without any reverberation of the ambient.

But I'm not sure whether you have different problems or not. if you could describe your settings and what equipment you are using then other could help you more

smile.gif wink.gif


--------------------
High speed, low drag


Check out my YouTube channel
HERE!


Here you can find my
MYSPACE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Nov 14 2008, 08:38 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



I´ve tried every possible possitions, and I think that´s not the problem. I´m using the POD as a preamp because I don´t have any other equipment to use. Can you recomend any good preamps and other equipment for this?



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Nov 14 2008, 08:52 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



In order for SM57 to pick sound correctly, the sound source has to be very loud.. smile.gif

See THIS page for more info on recording


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 14 2008, 11:14 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Does the POD have Mic input? You need a mic preamp for that job if it doesn't, you can't really put SM57 in guitar input. Alos turn off all the modeling and record as dry as possible. Try to get a healthy signal for later software production.
Other very important factor is the acoustics of the room itsefl. If you wanna good sound without flutter echo and reverberation you should record your amp in acoustically treated room.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 11:27 AM