2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems With The New Player
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Nov 18 2008, 02:30 AM
Post #21


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



^ Im having problems too. Video is choppy, sound is choppy. Even when fully loaded. If changed all my settings, old player works fine.

Is there a way to alternate between the old and new player ? huh.gif


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ParalyzedHorse
post Nov 18 2008, 05:20 AM
Post #22


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 28-October 08
From: USA
Member No.: 6.144



Its works smoothly for me, but a video takes like 5 minutes to load now lol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fkalich
post Nov 18 2008, 06:13 AM
Post #23


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.745
Joined: 12-February 07
From: People's Republic of Lawrence Kansas
Member No.: 1.189



QUOTE (ParalyzedHorse @ Nov 17 2008, 11:20 PM) *
Its works smoothly for me, but a video takes like 5 minutes to load now lol


you are doing pretty well. I really think Kris, you might rethink this.

1) I can't run these videos at all on my lap top, even from a clean boot. CPU usage maxes out. That may be the problem.
2) Even on my bigger computers, it is too slow. I will take the lower resolution coming quicker over this, any day of the week. I can see clear enough.

Here is what I would do.

Put in a radio button for high resolution. Just put it on every lesson page. Keep it simple. Simple is good. Keep the new format, just load the lower resolution videos if the user has selected that. Once selected, remember the current selection for the rest of the session. The low resolution videos will be smaller, you won't want them that big as that would be unclear. Just put a border or something around them to they fill up the pane to the size of the high resolution videos.

Something like that.

This post has been edited by fkalich: Nov 18 2008, 06:18 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Nov 18 2008, 01:13 PM
Post #24


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



QUOTE (fkalich @ Nov 17 2008, 09:13 PM) *
you are doing pretty well. I really think Kris, you might rethink this.

1) I can't run these videos at all on my lap top, even from a clean boot. CPU usage maxes out. That may be the problem.
2) Even on my bigger computers, it is too slow. I will take the lower resolution coming quicker over this, any day of the week. I can see clear enough.

Here is what I would do.

Put in a radio button for high resolution. Just put it on every lesson page. Keep it simple. Simple is good. Keep the new format, just load the lower resolution videos if the user has selected that. Once selected, remember the current selection for the rest of the session. The low resolution videos will be smaller, you won't want them that big as that would be unclear. Just put a border or something around them to they fill up the pane to the size of the high resolution videos.

Something like that.



+1 That sounds like a nice idea fkalich smile.gif


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darfuria
post Nov 18 2008, 02:12 PM
Post #25


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 11-April 08
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4.867



If those of you who are having problems could open the process explorer (ctrl + alt + del > task manager > processes), sort the processes by highest CPU usage (click the CPU column) and post whatever might be high (ignoring the system idle process) then I'll help out with looking into this.


--------------------
Want a website for you or your band? http://www.websiteformyband.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Praetorian
post Nov 18 2008, 02:24 PM
Post #26


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



QUOTE (Darfuria @ Nov 18 2008, 08:12 AM) *
If those of you who are having problems could open the process explorer (ctrl + alt + del > task manager > processes), sort the processes by highest CPU usage (click the CPU column) and post whatever might be high (ignoring the system idle process) then I'll help out with looking into this.


Mine was iexplore - 07. System idle process was 90 though.


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darfuria
post Nov 18 2008, 02:33 PM
Post #27


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 11-April 08
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4.867



QUOTE (Praetorian @ Nov 18 2008, 01:24 PM) *
Mine was iexplore - 07. System idle process was 90 though.


And you found the video choppy, and it wasn't a bandwidth issue (the video had loaded)?

Interesting. Do you find this happens when you're watching any other videos on the computer? (YouTube/downloaded files, etc.)?


--------------------
Want a website for you or your band? http://www.websiteformyband.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Scott Gentzen
post Nov 18 2008, 03:21 PM
Post #28


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 683
Joined: 16-January 07
From: Centreville, VA, USA
Member No.: 1.080



Wasn't going to bring this up myself...

I've had trouble with the new player too. It's not a buffering thing.

I have an older Mac laptop that I do most of my stuff with (powerbook G4). The G4's have trouble with big Flash videos. My experience with the new player in GMC isn't any different than what I get in Vimeo and other HD-resolution flash videos.

If I'm going to watch new videos on GMC, I need to switch to the new Vista laptop which handles it fine. It would be nice to be able to pick a smaller video size so I don't have to switch, but I'll deal with it.


--------------------
Guitars: ESP Semi-Hollow Eclipse, 1984 Ibanez Roadstar RS440, Peavey T-60, Daisy Rock Rock Candy Custom
Amps: Peavey Transformer 112, Epiphone Valve Jr head with custom 2x12 cab
Pedals: Boss TU-2, Budda Bud-Wah, Chuck Collins Harmonic Percolator clone
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Nov 18 2008, 03:29 PM
Post #29


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



QUOTE (Scott Gentzen @ Nov 18 2008, 09:21 AM) *
Wasn't going to bring this up myself...

I've had trouble with the new player too. It's not a buffering thing.

I have an older Mac laptop that I do most of my stuff with (powerbook G4). The G4's have trouble with big Flash videos. My experience with the new player in GMC isn't any different than what I get in Vimeo and other HD-resolution flash videos.

If I'm going to watch new videos on GMC, I need to switch to the new Vista laptop which handles it fine. It would be nice to be able to pick a smaller video size so I don't have to switch, but I'll deal with it.


I have a really new vista laptop, great computer, but it's not handling it. I wonder what the difference is?


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Praetorian
post Nov 18 2008, 03:34 PM
Post #30


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



QUOTE (Darfuria @ Nov 18 2008, 08:33 AM) *
And you found the video choppy, and it wasn't a bandwidth issue (the video had loaded)?

Interesting. Do you find this happens when you're watching any other videos on the computer? (YouTube/downloaded files, etc.)?


No...never have a problem with video files anywhere else. Just the new player here.


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Scott Gentzen
post Nov 18 2008, 03:49 PM
Post #31


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 683
Joined: 16-January 07
From: Centreville, VA, USA
Member No.: 1.080



QUOTE (JVM @ Nov 18 2008, 09:29 AM) *
I have a really new vista laptop, great computer, but it's not handling it. I wonder what the difference is?


Not sure. Mine was a $500 Compaq from last Christmas. Will take a look and see again tonight when I get home.


--------------------
Guitars: ESP Semi-Hollow Eclipse, 1984 Ibanez Roadstar RS440, Peavey T-60, Daisy Rock Rock Candy Custom
Amps: Peavey Transformer 112, Epiphone Valve Jr head with custom 2x12 cab
Pedals: Boss TU-2, Budda Bud-Wah, Chuck Collins Harmonic Percolator clone
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coffeeman
post Nov 18 2008, 03:55 PM
Post #32


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.760
Joined: 15-September 07
From: Bogota,Colombia
Member No.: 2.793



QUOTE (Eat-Sleep-andJam @ Nov 17 2008, 08:30 PM) *
^ Im having problems too. Video is choppy, sound is choppy. Even when fully loaded. If changed all my settings, old player works fine.

Is there a way to alternate between the old and new player ? huh.gif



Im having the same problem.

This post has been edited by coffeeman: Nov 18 2008, 03:56 PM


--------------------
The only thing yo can do, is what you love!

Visit my youtube
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MarcC
post Nov 19 2008, 05:14 PM
Post #33


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 3-June 08
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 5.232



Same problem here. Tried with IE and Firefox, low quality..still choppy. Have never had video problems before.

~Marc


--------------------
Guitars :
Carvin CT-6
Brian May Signature "Red Special"
Fender American Strat HSS S1
Amps :
Mesa Boogie Express 5:50
Current Effects :
Boss TU-2, Boss DD-3, Boss GE-7
Roland GR-20

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DragonX556
post Nov 19 2008, 10:00 PM
Post #34


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 29-April 07
Member No.: 1.723



I did everything on the "help video problem" page and the new player is still choppy for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Nov 19 2008, 10:53 PM
Post #35


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (DragonX556 @ Nov 19 2008, 10:00 PM) *
I did everything on the "help video problem" page and the new player is still choppy for me.


Try right clicking on the players red frame (bellow the play button for example) and choosing quality>low .That can really diminish and/or remove the choppyness problem.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Nov 19 2008, 11:18 PM
Post #36


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.304
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Nov 20 2008, 12:53 AM) *
Try right clicking on the players red frame (bellow the play button for example) and choosing quality>low .That can really diminish and/or remove the choppyness problem.


I tried this again - and checked the cpu usage of firefox and there was a big difference!

I would be very interested in hearing what happens if the people who are still having problems try this. (if there should be a difference we won't ask you to constantly go and click that option in the future, but it will help us find any problems so we can solve them).


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Nov 19 2008, 11:33 PM
Post #37


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Nov 19 2008, 05:18 PM) *
I tried this again - and checked the cpu usage of firefox and there was a big difference!

I would be very interested in hearing what happens if the people who are still having problems try this. (if there should be a difference we won't ask you to constantly go and click that option in the future, but it will help us find any problems so we can solve them).


Lowering the quality gives me about a 15% decrease in CPU usage, but its still not smooth.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Nov 19 2008, 11:37 PM
Post #38


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.304
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (JVM @ Nov 20 2008, 01:33 AM) *
Lowering the quality gives me about a 15% decrease in CPU usage, but its still not smooth.


Ok - but if I get your right it has an effect? (although not as much as we would like it to)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Nov 19 2008, 11:39 PM
Post #39


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Nov 19 2008, 05:37 PM) *
Ok - but if I get your right it has an effect? (although not as much as we would like it to)


Yes. Comparing to the old video player, it would be around 20-35% pc usage, but the new one at best (on low) is around 60%, and can go as high as 90%.

This post has been edited by JVM: Nov 19 2008, 11:40 PM


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 01:20 PM